We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Prime spot in the grampians”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
247 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 247 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul S
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prime spot in the grampians”
Reviewed 29 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Stayed 3 nights and would have stayed more but the Blue Wren lodge was already booked by some other luck person. This is a fantastic property in Halls Gap, walking distance to shops and restaurants, comfortable, quiet and surrounded by trees and the hills. So many animals and birds came to visit - kangaroos, magpies and more. Most surprising though were the deer that turned up in the garden.

The lodge has great heating, fabulous spa and comfortable bed. The full kitchen is well set up and tea, coffee, cooking oils and condiments are provided. There is a BBQ in the gazebo which we used - just keep an eye on the magpie so he doesn't steal the sausages. There was a welcome basket of breakfast provisions, sparkling wine and soft drinks and chocolate biscuits! The laundry was also good to have after travelling for a while. We couldn't fault anything - we will be back next time we travel this way. Congratulations to the owners - you have done a great job with the lodges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola S
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect location and amenities for families or couples.”
Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed at "The Kingfisher" Lodge in Hall's Gap, Victoria - about 3.5 hours drive from Melbourne. We originally requested "The Blue Wren" as it had 2 bedrooms (it was booked), but we loved the Kingfisher and it accommodated us and our 2 children (ages 7 and 3) perfectly. Peter provided extra bedding and towels - (heaps of it!) and the sofa pulled out to a good sized double bed. Space was definitely not a problem!

We cooked every night in the full sized kitchen, had a full laundry with washer and dryer and with a toilet upstairs and down, it was just perfect for the 4 of us. All toiletries were provided and there was a very generous basket of goodies awaiting our arrival, including some yummy champagne and enough cereal and TimTams to keep the kids going for the entire week! We also enjoyed using a voucher for fresh bread and milk from the local bakery located a 5 minute walk away along a pretty track.

Our bedroom was glorious, with a king sized bed and views of mountains, kangaroos and cockatoos and a darling rosella who liked to perch on the balcony and peep in at us. We had a full spa bath and large shower plus separate toilet upstairs. We had kangaroo visitors every day which delighted the children no end.

Overall, we genuinely loved the experience, it was very clean, had more than we needed - everything we could think of was available, and it is ideally located close to the main street of Hall's Gap and also to some amazing hikes/ walks through the Grampians. For the kids there is a large adventure playground 5 minutes walk away from the property, Hall's Gap zoo a short drive away and a host of other great activities and historic areas to explore.

We intend to book again for our next holiday. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had everything we needed, little extras were lovely.
Liked least: Having to cook! :0)
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar
Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed 24 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: quiet and relaxing
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland
Reviewed 19 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2011
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Inverloch
Reviewed 19 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2011
We are pleased that everything met your needs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing