We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodges

The Blue Wren Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge The Kingfisher Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
242 reviews
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Kingfisher Lodge
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
The Blue Wren Lodge
The Blue Wren
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Kingfisher
Local wildlife near The Lodges
The Pinnacle lookout
Halls Gap
Local wildlife in the gardens of The Lodges
Emu
McKenzies Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 242 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison Y
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 16 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

During an extended driving holiday my partner and I stayed at Blue Wren cottage for 2 nights. Everything was beautiful and very homey, despite visiting in January we still made use of the fireplace as the nights were quite cool. There was plenty of space for both of us to rest and plan our Grampians daytrip adventure. The only regret I have is not being able to stay for longer. If back around Halls Gap again it would be a pleasure to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire set up and ready to go, incredibly comfortable bed
Liked least: the saloon doors on the bathroom
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikowgcf
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pretty well Perfect”
Reviewed 7 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Stayed at the Blue Wren Cottage of The Lodges. Everything was catered for in the unit. Very comfortable and plenty of privacy. Self contained with a rotunda and BBQ next to the cottage. A visit by the local Kangaroos in the late afternoon and early morning is very special. Other wildlife included Sulphur crested Cockatoos, Magpies and of course lots of Blue Wrens. Cottage is very easily walkable to the town and restaurants. T.V. in both the bedroom and the Lounge room, good air conditioning which was needed while we were there. Lots of local walking tracks for those inclined. Cottage was very clean and spacious we are planning on going back in the winter to take advantage of the open fire place and a cozy couple of days. Also food package left for first morning was excellent with a lovely bottle of wine incuded

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern well kept cottage with everything including washing machine and dryer
Liked least: Nothing that comes to mind, maybe one more deck chair for outside sunbaking as there is only one available
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrum downs
Reviewed 29 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PPmember
Adelaide South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

There is not much I can add to the existing glowing reviews, the Kingfisher Lodge represents excellent value with its secluded location (yet within easy walking distance to Halls Gap), the luxurious standard of appointments and attention to detail in every aspect. It represented an ideal opportunity to relax in comfort and take in the surroundings and we would certainly like to return at some stage and perhaps try the adjoining 'Blue Wren' unit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious standard of appointments
Liked least: Narrow carport, difficult to negotiate with a larger car.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geelong
Reviewed 14 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed 6 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing