We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely Disappointed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Firstly...unfriendly reception...didn't even look at us when we arrived, this woman was abrupt, wouldn't know what a smile was, we were shocked that she did say enjoy your stay (without looking up once, that is)
The deluxe cabin...DELUXE!!! seriously!!!..and very overpriced for this condition of a dreadful, dirty cabin.
The bathroom floor had pubic hair all over!!! behind the toilet was disgraceful, we wiped down sink area it showed black marks from obviously mildew or gunk stuck around perimeter of basin...as did shower area. There was no shampoo or body wash...about a 1/4 toilet roll and no spare ones...outside nothing was usable..oh and BBQ...well don't think about it..it's all rusty and broken down... we wanted to flee....for God's sake when was this place cleaned last??? or revamped???
The TV is so small you have to move the couch to see it...don't start me on the couch..we....tried to move it..it's full of protruding staples or pins or something in the arms..pricked us..gave up incase anything else would stab us or rusty nails etc! Fabric old and disgusting, covered it up with sheet incase anything was living in it..we were so paranoid I have never felt so uncomfortable in Australian accommodation before.
GET a GRIP...owners of this place.What are you thinking??? never ever again! Halls Gap is so beautiful with lovely accommodation everywhere...we had to pick this one!! :(
We can't believe other reviews would rate this place anymore than one star??? astonished!

Room Tip: Go to another accommodation place!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TAdvise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravanParkEscapes, Manager at Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Sorry to hear about the issue with your stay. The business has since changed ownership in February 2016 and is now known as Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park. Since taking over we have done many improvements to the staff including replacing furniture, completely new staff, new kitchen supplies and much more.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Halls Gap so you can see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

My extended family stayed at this park two years running in November 2012 and 2013. The place seems to run itself as I can't see that much maintenance goes on here ever. Things such as a broken cabin screen door or damaged patio furniture was still in the same condition from one year to the next. In fact all the patio chairs were so dirty there was no way they could be used. We rented 4 cabins and the television only worked in one of the four.The barbecue area had so many cobwebs it was like something from a horror movie. The barbecues themelves were also dirty and didn't produce much heat and swallowed a small fortune in gold coins. To top it off, at one stage the sprinkler turned on and was directed at the barbecue area and wet the chairs, table, food and us. There is a pool at the park but when the kids wanted to go for a swim it was so dirty that we found the scoop and scooped out the leaves ourselves. It's a pity as the location and scenery are spectacular and this could be a great park but it seems the owners don't care to make any effort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Phil73B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaravanParkEscapes, Manager at Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Sorry to hear about the issue with your stay. The business has since changed ownership in February 2016 and is now known as Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park. Since taking over we have done many improvements to the staff including replacing furniture, completely new staff, new kitchen supplies and much more.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Halls Gap so you can see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter long weekend. Even though it was crazy busy, the staff were the most helpful I have ever experienced and went out of their way for us. After reading a bad review I was worried about their bathroom facilities, but even through the busiest time of year it was kept clean & the hot water powered on without fail. The walk into town was just gorgeous, and the views from our campsite were beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Adelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The place was excellent it was clean tidy we stayed in a spa cabin for 3 nights and loved it at night all the native wild life comes very close to cabin. the bed was very comphatable kitchen in cabin veryclean and staff very helpfull.
I was a bit nervious about staying there as there is that bad review below with pictures . I found the bad review is a load of rubbish Value for money and most important we could take our dog into the cabin he also had a great time
If you want a great but cheap week end away with your dog this is the place for you

Room Tip: spa cabin is the way to go very romantic but also private
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at this park with another family, we did leave our booking until a few weeks before the Easter break and all could get was on unpowered sites out the back on a bush setting, which was okay as we are reasonably self sufficient in our caravan, we where told just choose one of the caravan concrete slabs out the back as we would arrive in the late evening and if we did not like the site in the daylight just move to an area which you would prefer,strange though we could not find a single concrete slab. The bush setting was lovely there where hundreds of campers out the back all camping unpowered. There was several portable toilets placed around the bush land for the campers. The actual toilet/ shower blocks where very old and not clean or cleaned often enough given the volumes of people using the park. The overall grounds and facilities are very run down and poorly maintained. The camp kitchen is an absolute disgrace which is a shame because given some maintenance and cleaning up this could be a great area for all campers to use. The sink water from the kitchen has a piece of poly pipe just laying on the ground and runs into the walk way and other campers sites. The seating area are filthy and very uninviting. There was a huge fire pit up the back in the camp kitchen which would have been nice if the park owners lit this every nite for use but it sat unused in a cold and damp room.
The park needs a big clean up this park could could be so much better given there are many accommodation places to choose from, the owners do need to improve not only the grounds, amenities and overall service.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about staying, but the whole experience from the first phone call was great.

We stayed in the deluxe cabin and it was clean, light, roomy and very comfortable. we woke up to Kangaroos and emus just in front of our balcony the morning and the staff were very welcoming.

I would definitely recommend this park to friends in the future.

Room Tip: Deluxe cabins are the way to go as they are on the outer side of the park and the balcony has an uni...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a glorious weekend; the ultimate bush-setting stay and a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. We found our deluxe cabin had an ideal spacious design and was comfortable and very clean: stove, crockery, microwave, bathroom etc. Loved the many dispensers in shower and above sink, very convenient. Pool was a delight and we loved being able pamper our dog as he was very welcome at this pet friendly Park. Anticipating a return stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
0.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.4 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lake Fyans Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Grampians View Cottages & Units
0.8 mi away
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park

Address: 2223 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: £56 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park is a Dog friendly caravan park that also has a limited number of dog friendly cabins. We have a huge Open Range unpowered camping area for those guests who want some space or large powered sites to suit caravans or tents. Facilities include Camp kitchen, TV room, Laundry,Swimming pool, Jumping pillow, BBQ area and free WiFi. Our cabins include Spa Cabins, Family Spa Cabins, Twin Deluxe cabins, Family Cabins and Budget Cabins. We have a variety of activities for children including our swimming pool, jumping pillow, playground, basketball hoop and pedal kart hire. For guests travelling with dogs we have a new off the leash fully fenced play area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing