We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely!”
Review of Halls Gap Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halls Gap Escape
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a beautifully presented accomodation and perfect for 2 couples travelling together as it offers separate living quarters.The view is relaxing and quite amazing with kangaroos grazing close by.Would certainly recommend this place and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sueyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at Halls Gap for a few days, great part of Victoria. Spent the days doing a few bush walks and also relaxing. Great house, great views and had everything we needed and would definitely come back. Will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Am delighted to have found such a lovely place in Halls Gap.

My travelling group had 3 of us, hence there were more than ample space in the house with 3 bedrooms. The place was in good condition and clean and ready for us.

We arrived late in the night, the surrounding area had not much lighting so that made locating the place a little difficult - arriving before dusk would make your life slightly earlier.

No check-in required, key was placed in a key-coded compartment which make things simple.

I assume this is a holiday home for the owner as well, so the place was very homely decorated and cosy. Which was what i like best.

We were provided some DVDs which we watch near the comfort of a fire place on the 2nd floor landing area.

In the morning, we were greeted by the view of Grampians and kangaroos from our balcony which was an added surprised. Fantastic.

Only regret was we only needed a place for the night, as such we were out by 930am the next morning. Would recommend this and would definitely consider staying again when i'm back in Melbourne.

Room Tip: We stayed at unit 3 - if i did not remember wrongly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewCWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were very impressed the moment we stepped inside the door, the house was spacious, the views were amazing (kangaroos all around too) and was immaculate.
Everything has been thought of as the house was well equipped and the gas log fire a nice touch, easier than lighting a fire but the same look and feel! The air cond downstairs looked new and worked really well. Two bathrooms and two living areas was great also.
Loved our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Recommend House A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was fortunate enough to be able to stay in Halls Gap Escape earlier in the year. I only had one night there with 2 friends and we all wished it could have been for a much longer time. We were literally passing through and found the apartment to be very clean, comfortable and perfect for our needs. We would all love to go back there soon and would highly recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Halls Gap is always beautiful. These units too are beautiful, but incredibly let down by their unacceptably being dirty.
We had 2 nights..... 7 & 8 July 2013. The rooms had hair on the floors right through the unit, wilted pieces of vegetable in the fridge so it hadn't been wiped out before our use, the bunk beds are not made prior to your arrival its a do it yourself, the doonas on these bunks i doubt were clean for our use, there were stains on one , and a large clump of hair fell off one of a folded doonas as I was making the beds!!!!! the bedroom upstairs also had a dodgy doona cover and there was chips and fluff under the bed, the downstairs heater didnt work , and when the repair man come he said ohhhh its still not fixed!!! it was a thermostat problem that meant the heater only worked if you left the door under the heater open, which was an external door- not at all practical !!! so it had already been reported, and nothing done about it. we paid full price for the unit so we thought that it should have been clean, busy time of the year or not you should not get a half done rush job on the cleaning.
I contacted the people that I booked with, emailed them and have not heard a thing, so they mustn't care about the state that this room gets booked out in.
My advise is stay here but you will need to clean it before you move in. I do hope your stay in will not be disappointing like ours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie_TravellerSA, Owner at Halls Gap Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Without feedback, we cannot improve our service.

We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. When we spoke to you at the time of your stay we offered to get the cleaner to come around and rectify your concerns, an offer that you declined. In hindsight, we wish that we had insisted that you take up this offer.

We have been operating this house for over 5 years and if you search the web, we have over 50 positive reviews and we have never had a problem with cleaning to this extent. Our cleaner has been informed and as a result of your feedback, we have made immediate arrangements to replace our cleaner.

As for the air-conditioner, in an attempt to resolve the situation as quickly as possible for you, we arranged for a local handyman to come out and trouble shoot the problem. Without being there we cannot deny what was said in exchange with you, however when we spoke with him after his visit he said that he was able to get the heat to work by adjusting the direction of the vents. He said that they were directed into the curtain and not the room, causing the heat to cut out. We assumed that this had resolved the problem and that everything was ok as we heard nothing from you to the contrary during the remainder of your stay. Based on your review, we will arrange for a licensed air-conditioning repairer to inspect the heater.
None the less, the house is well equipped with 2 reverse cycle AC’s, a Gas Log Fire and a portable oil heater so we trust that you were adequately warm.

Regards
Halls Gap Escape

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.0 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
2.7 mi away
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
#4 of 42 in Halls Gap
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#9 of 42 in Halls Gap
161 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Fyans Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halls Gap Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Escape

Address: U 6 15-17 Clematis Dr, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range: £94 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halls Gap Escape 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Bedroom & 2 bathroom modern townhouse in Halls Gap with Free Wi-Fi. Great mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Halls Gap Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Escape Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing