We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”
Review of Gariwerd Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gariwerd Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited the Grampians for the weekend and chose the Gariwerd Motel as it was cheap and we read good reviews. Rooms were spacious, immaculate and cosy. heated blankets, Nice hot shower and all the basics you need. Great location if you are looking for a weekend in the Grampians, within walking distance of a few restaurants, cafés and pubs. I'd recommend if you're looking for basic accommodation at a reasonable price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    226
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
208
293
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melton South, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We couldn't have been made more welcome to this spotlessly clean and comfortable Motel. Great hosts, guest kitchen, bbq's. Every thing you need is there. Thank you Peter and Kim for making our weekend away more enjoyable, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, extremely clean room. Efficient heater & had a great night sleep in the comfortable bed. Owners even offered to drive us to the pub for dinner if we wanted to have a few drinks. Great stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a 2 night stay in a very clean room during the Grampians Grape Escape May 2013 & 2014, the bed was a tad hard for my liking, but better than a sagging mattress. Plenty of space. Hosts Peter and Kim were very helpful. Motel is situated a short walk to the shops. Highly recommend you take advantage of this Motel when next at Halls Gap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

In March 2014 we had a large group of 47 travelling from Canada through Australia and NZ and after we did the Great Ocean Road we stopped in this beautiful town called Halls Gap. After reviewing all the hotels in this town and speaking with some of the people we decided on Gariwerd Motel run by Peter and Kim who own this motel. There was nothing our group wanted for that they did not do for us. Most important to us were the clean rooms and we did not have one single complaint. The are doing their best to totally redo this motel. Even the budget rooms were fine and again no complaints from any of these rooms. This property is excellent value for the money. Upon arrival we unpacked from the bus and we were going to go into town and no one wanted to leave. A few did venture into town after dinner and we drove through on our way out of town. Next time we will spend more time as it is a nice quaint little town and our people said everyone was very friendly. We had an amazing party and fun time...and it was St. Patty's Day to boot.

The BBQ they did for us was great and we had lots of food and tried "Roo" for the first time. We also saw many Kangaroos in the back of the property. We could walk right up to them. In the morning we had one of the best home cooked breakfasts we could ask for. We were nervous at booking at first because our group was staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Adelaide and Sofitel Hotels in Sydney and Auckland and doing a 12 day Celebrity Cruise through NZ. All of our fears were gone in no time as soon as we arrived. In the morning our clients were asking if they could stay one more night and enjoy the homey atmosphere but we could not as we had a schedule to keep. We will be staying more than one night the next time through town.

Peter and Kim keep treating clients like you treated The Bob Family Group and have clean rooms then you will never have to worry about selling out every night. Good new travels fast. From all of the gang in Canada we give you all a big shout out including your son Max for giving up his favorite room and to Sam for helping cook dinner and let him know we appreciated his generous offer to help with all our luggage.

Room Tip: Try and stay at least a couple or three days in this town and enjoy Australia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatBob56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Halls Gap is very crowed on the weekends, so we were lucky to find a room. The family running the motel was very friendly and helped us planing our hikes. The room was big and clean. It takes you about 10 min walking to the town center. If you wanna see some kangaroos, go to the cricket field right beside the motel at the late evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian-20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Roy, , United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here one night during our Oz trip, rooms were clean and comfortable, shower was great. The owner made us feel extremely welcome and the breakfast was excellent and very good value. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.6 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.6 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gariwerd Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gariwerd Motel

Property: Gariwerd Motel
Address: 28 - 36 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gariwerd Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gariwerd Motel is perfectly located exactly where you want to be: in the heart of Halls Gap in the heart of the Grampians, 5 mins drive from the Wonderland Carpark (the start of the walk to the Pinnacles). We have KANGAROOS! Lots of them. They just hang around the place, looking relaxed. You can take selfies with them. We also have very fast FREE WIFI in all areas of the motel! I know, everyone says they've got free WiFi, but that usually means free WiFi if you are standing on one leg in reception with a Pringles can on your head, not AWESOME FULL STRENGTH FREE WIFI EVERYWHERE YOU GO! Still not convinced to come stay with us? Well then there's not much else to say other than go read the reviews, which of course you've already done, because no one comes here and reads the official description first. You read the reviews, then the official description. Actually I'm pretty sure no one even reads the official description. I know I don't. If you are reading this, please contact us and tell us that you read it so we know writing this wasn't a complete waste of time. And you can book your stay with us while you are at it, because let's face it, you're pretty sure you want to stay with us now just because this little blurb has made you laugh a bit, and if that's any indication of what your stay will be like (it is), then you and I both know you should pick up the phone now. Go on, what are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gariwerd Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gariwerd Motel Halls Gap, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing