We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Review of D'Altons Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
D'Altons Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It was the first time in three years our whole family were together and decided to spend it at D'Altons Resort. We couldn't have picked a better spot!

The rooms were very clean, the kitchen and bathrooms had all amenties provided and there was even an ample supply of firewood left by the front door.

The children in our group were entertained by the kangaroos and plenty of space to run around as well as a playground to play in. If it were warmer, would have been able to laze by the pool - instead we took advantage of the bbq in this area.

The hosts were wonderful - couldn't be more helpful and friendly.

My tip: take an early morning run off the paved track along the trails you'll be running side by side with kangaroos and emus. Fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    49
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
99
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

If you seek a place where you can have the feel of actually living at the foot of the Grampians, we highly recommend Dalton's Resort. Each resident has an individual cabin with a full kitchen, nice large kitchen, and a very big living space/bedroom. Ours came with a massive jacuzi spa instead of a bathtub. The greatest gift is the wildlife. Imagine being a non-Australian and waking up in the morning to a herd of kangaroo eating outside your front window with exotic birds fluttering about. It was like having a private viewing room inside of a zoo. The property is very well maintained and off the main road, so that you have an intense sense of privacy. You can imagine what it feels like to live there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Told me it was my daughter's fault she fell through the end of the bed(On the top bunk) as they said "she was playing around". What did happen was she moved down the end of the bed to play with the iPad and due to to the slats not being screwed down, they must have moved them when they made the bed!!!

Didnt care that the hair dryer caught on fire in my hand. Since they limit the amount of hot water, after 2 showers we had no hot water till the next day.

They complained we used too much wood in the fire places as it was about 2 degrees in the nights.

Toaster kept blowing the fuse of the unit which leads me to think of faulty wiring.

Stay clear of this place, owner doesn't care about you, just his money and you might get electrocuted or your child might get seriously injured due to poor maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MalleeAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We recently stayed in D'Altons, in the June long weekend. What a spectacular place. The Grampians backdrop is amazing, and the cabins are gorgeous.
The setout is great, with cabins spread out, so unlike a caravan park, you would hardly even know you had neighbours.
The kangaroos bounding by, eating just behind our cabin, provided an experience the kids had never had before.
We have already booked our next stay. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed in family cottage with some friends. Accomodation fine and pretty spacious but could do with modernisation, especially the appliances in the kitchen. Lovely to have a wood burner and nice that we were supplied with plenty of wood. Great hot shower also after a day's walking. Our friends stayed in the couples studio which looked lovely, and modern.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed at a studio cottage for 2 nights. It was spotlessly clean, well furnished and very cosy. There are kangaroos that come very close to the cottages, what a great sight, no need to go searching for them. The cottages are in a very good location, a stroll away from the information centre/cafes. I would stay again if I went back to Halls gap.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

On the round tour around Victoria, this was a really a highlight. The place is well positioned in the Grampians and if your off for a walk you can compete with the Kangaroos. Everything was very well appointed and it was just a pity that we were only "rushing through".

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.3 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Altons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Altons Resort

Property: D'Altons Resort
Address: 8 Glen St, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Altons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquility and serenity of the Grampians will never be more enjoyable than at D'Altons. The resort is located only 400 metres from the shops; and an easy stroll to many excellent restaurants. You'll have the pleasure of luxury cottage accommodation in the surrounds of the Grampians National Park, and the convenience of Halls Gap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your D'Altons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Altons Hotel
D'Altons Resort Halls Gap, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing