We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay in a Journey Melbourne to Victor Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The best stay in a Journey Melbourne to Victor Harbour”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Late December 2012: On trip on the great ocean road we decided to go in land and try the Grampians. We could not have chosen a better place then the Grampians Motel. The motel is away from the main road and has nice BBQ facilities that we used happily. Also, every day at ~5.00 pm the grassland in front of the hotel would fill with Kangaroos. From mothers with their kids to bigger males or teenagers playing with each other. We stayed in a room with jacuzzi that we used everyday. What a memory. If we go back we won't hesitate in staying the same place. On the no side: The wifi/internet was weak in the room but fast close to the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    251
    71
    17
    19
See reviews for
202
402
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Thank you Chris & Jeff for keeping on making this the best place to stay in Halls Gap. A New Children's playground, an Outside Kitchen and a Gazebo. I love seeing the emus and kangaroos grazing in their natural habitat. What else can I say? It is just fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineJ164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

The setting of the motel is simply beautiful, it is surrounded by the mountains of the Grampians with many kangaroos jumping happily around the park for an up close experience with the wild. The motel has a pool, a bar/restaurant and free Wi-Fi for patrons to enjoy…the restaurant even provided gluten free meals at reasonable prices (although I didn’t eat there as our meals were provided by the tour group). They also have a communal kitchen for tours of people to make their own meals, including BBQ’s which is set in a really nice out house building. We stayed in a row of rooms made up for families as we stayed on a tour bus with travellers and we had to share the room. There were four of us in a room made up for a family of five including a really comfy double bed. The room had tea/coffee facilities and a refrigerator. It had a table and chairs and a TV set. The bathroom was big, the shower hot and they provided complimentary shower gel. I had a really good night sleep the surroundings were peaceful. The only issue is that the Wi-Fi really didn’t work and they probably needed to increase the number of routers to ensure the complex had full signal strength. I really recommend this motel and I would stay there for a trip to enjoy the beautiful Grampians National Park.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya10091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Chris and Jeff, who run the motel, are perfect hosts. Excellent restaurant and breathtaking location. Resident giant Kangaroo and his mob, Emu`s etc. Excellent birding.
The whole area has stunning scenery
I would definately return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed 1 night at The Grampians Motel in the deluxe spa room.30/01/2013
Chris & Jeff the hosts are the most pleasent couple i have come across and made us very welcome on our arrival.The Motel is set back from the main highway and the views are breathtaking, enhanced by the wildlife (Deer,Kangaroos and Birdlife that roam free on the property.We had Dinner and Breakfast in the Restaurant and would recommend it highly.This Motel is perfectly located just a short drive from Halls Gap.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I went with my family and stayed at the cottage, I think its called as Bell field studio or something. But its self sufficient. It had everything including an outdoor BBQ.

Early morning we have Kangaroos and wild rabbits at your door step doing their duty. Excellent place. We have decided to go back next month as well.

The cottage could easily accomodate two families. Total of 6 could stay there and easily be enough for 6 adults.

One trouble though was that there is only one Air conditioner in the hall and is not enough during summer. They should consider adding one more or upgrading it to a heavier one...

But over all a pleasant stay...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Perumal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We really appreciated the friendly staff and the quiet location of the Grampians Motel. We booked the Bellfield Studio and enjoyed the clear view of the sky at night (sipping a glass of local wine). Similarly to other reviews, we have to recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aflfl_Aflfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.4 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.7 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
654 reviews
1.5 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant

Property: The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with kangaroos, deer and emu roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Bar & Restaurant offering very delicious meals and wines morning and night.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back with a glass of local wine and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant Halls Gap, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing