We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Great location...well priced and run professional.
Go for it.
Good to see somone still cares.
Try to get room at back with mountain view.
Lots of wildlife around too and close to restaurants etc..also free wifi

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinergy436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Kookaburra Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We wanted a relatively cheap room for 2 nights (Sat & Sun nights) at the end of school holidays...I decided to pick this place based on the great reviews plus its walking distance to the shops/some restaurants, we paid $99/night. I rang direct to book & the lovely lady (Alison) helped me out with a room at the back of the lodge. The room was large enough for two, bed was comfy & everything was clean. Fridge was provided with milk, even though on the second morning we actually had to ask for milk as the cleaners forgot to stock, but this wasn't an issue. Best part of the motel was location, its close to amendities but still far enough to experience the peaceful surroundings. I especially liked the Kangaroos that hop around in the morning & around dusk. There were cows in the field & feeding the kookaburras & cookatoos in the morning was an experience. I will definately book here again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back....they overlook a peaceful field from your patio. We stayed in Room 9.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneGozoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This motel was in a great location and the price was reasonable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The back door opened to a small outdoor seating area and the paddock at the back had wildlife. The view up to the mountains was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Very friendly, helpful manager at reception helped us choose excellent breakfast place and helped us plan an enjoyable day around the Hall's Gap area. Great to wake up the next morning looking out at the mountains with a field of wildlife before you. Rooms were clean. Only thing is it was a little cold in room the next morning, I think there may have been an option for heating but we didn't find it. Good arrangements for late check-in and parking on site. Nice quiet area too. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

What a beautiful area, wished we could've stayed longer in this area. Kangaroos everywhere, even at our back door. We were made very welcome, the room was spacious, clean and homey. Halls Gap is a very quaint place, a little out of the way, but glad we made the trip. There is Mackenzie Falls and several hikes we could've done if we had more time.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back overlooking the field if you can
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed here with a group of 20 bikers , lovely hotel , quiet , comfortable , well priced.
Located just at the back of the main street and you can easily walk restaurants and shops.
Kangaroos everywhere and emus can be found not far out of town as well.
Halls Gap is a delightful town in a gorgeous location and well worth a few days to enjoy the wonderful walks in the national park. The Pinnacle walk is a must do!

Room Tip: ask for one at the back and watch kangaroos from your room
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

On Tripadvisor guests' advice we took a room at the back, overlooking a paddock, and had our evening sundowner with a splendid view of kangaroos and birds. The location is central, close to a choice of restaurants and visitor information. The motel is small, not exceptionally fitted but clean, well run and presented, and the hosts are helpful and friendly. The guest laundrey was useful. The bathroom was clean and functional but controlling the shower was a challenge, and bathroom toileteries were basic - (not the softest tissue we've experienced!) but the congeniality and location made up for this.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back overlooking the paddock and watch the kangaroos and birds at sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cellarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
0.2 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Halls Gap Motel
Halls Gap Motel
#5 of 9 in Halls Gap
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Motor Lodge

Address: 26 Heath St, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range: £64 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookaburra Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 Units centrally located in Halls Gap. Off the main road in a quiet location. An easy walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. Spectacular views of the surrounding Grampians National Park. Wildlife at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kookaburra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Hotel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motel Halls Gap
Kookaburra Motor Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing