We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over cooked (try burned) chicken in the bistro”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Healesville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Healesville Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Healesville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over cooked (try burned) chicken in the bistro”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Largely enjoyable experience ruined by the dodgy chef sending our a burned chicken parma

Charcutrie and calamari were quite good

Staff rushed us on delivery of the main - must have been short staffed in the kitchen

Will be eating elsewhere next time

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boards_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    38
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
17
41
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We've been to the pub at the Healvesville Hotel for dinner three times now, the last time in April. We always find the food a big cut above the normal pub food in the suburbs! I was surprised to read another review from a vegetarian who was frustrated with the food here, as I always find at least one really good vegetarian option of the menu. My kids too are Vegetarian, or rather Vegetarians who also eat fish - they really enjoyed the fresh fish and chip option and they can be quite fussy, even with fish & chips - it still has to be good. I absolutely enjoyed the lentil pie I ordered - really tasty. Being a small pub, with timber furnishings and an open fire it has a great ambience, and a some really nice wines to choose from too. If this was closer to home we'd be regulars!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaMcGroarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Having read the previous reviews of the Healesville Hotel Dining Room, I was a little dubious when I booked about what to expect. Having eaten there last Sunday I am very glad that I went as both the food and service was excellent.
Service was prompt and attentive, as well as very friendly (our waitress was very welcoming and was very pleasant to my elderly grandmother).
The food was delicious, if you go the ham hock and pork belly terrine is a must. We even asked if they did take away, so we could take some with us (unfortunately they don't).
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5weekTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at htis hotel just after Christmas in 2010. Our room was large but very simply furnished. Lucky it wasn't to hot as there was no airconditioning or fridge for drinks. We had to share one of two bathrooms which was a bit of a walk down the hallway. So bring your dressing gown and a pair of slippers.There was a lot of noise from the street at night. Some might find the country charm delightful but we found this hotel to be uncomfortable and lacking in modern amenities. It was also quite expensive for what is basically a very simple old room in a country hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Was working close by and liked the idea of giving the dining room another chance and not having to go out in the cold to get there. The rooms are simple, very large and great proportions as an old building and shared bathrooms are fine when you are up early but the noise in the room was really bad. Noisy bar, well you expect that, but the cleaners I assume vacuuming and moving furniture at 6am feels like they are standing on the bed.

You do get what you pay for but this was still expensive in my view

I would eat somewhere else too, as this place may have had a hat five years ago, but I wouldn't give it one now.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 then 3 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Dont stay here if you wan't to sleep. I stayed on a Sunday night a couple years ago. Staff members stayed up drinking and talking loudly until 2.30am, directly underneath my room. I had to get up for work at 5.30. Not happy. There are better alternatives

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Healesville hotels

melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

It is a good pub restaurant and popular - good beers and wine list and $35 main course approx. Always has rated well over the past years and continues to be a quality meal . Well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DobbieHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
0.8 mi away
Healesville Motor Inn
Healesville Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Healesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
12.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Healesville
The Grand Hotel Healesville
#6 of 21 in Healesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#1 of 3 in Healesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
6.5 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healesville Hotel

Property: Healesville Hotel
Address: 256 Maroondah Hwy, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Healesville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm with new world style, this classic country hotel is at the heart of the Yarra Valley.With it's outstanding food and wine the hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Healesville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healesville Hotel Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing