We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kangaroo Ridge - still one of the best in the valley”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kangaroo Ridge Retreat
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kangaroo Ridge - still one of the best in the valley”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

It had been years since we had been to Kangaroo ridge and driving up the road to the top of the hill felt like nothing had changed. Olga and John were friendly and wonderful and the setting was just a beautiful and peaceful as we remembered. We stayed three nights but wished it could have been a week as the environment is so quiet and restful.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 168AndrewB168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed over a hot summer weekend. Breakfast provisions were thoughtful and generous. Cheese platter was delightfully garnished with antipasto. The BBQ hamper which cost $50 has got wholesome steaks and sausages, mushrooms and a delicious salad with Olga's homemade (I believe so cos it's very yummy) dressing!! There's no need to dine out at all, truly self-contained. The verandah is east facing, so we got lots of sunshine over the warm summer day. If not for the air conditioning and a light breeze in the evening, we would have been fried. :)
Suggest hosts to consider solar films on the glass doors, may keep the cabin cooler and reduce energy consumption too.

Room Tip: Both cabins is well separated. Either one has great views of the valley and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Paella2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Incredibly well sorted from the George Foreman grill on the deck to the reverse cycle air conditioner, wood stove, flat screen tv with integral DVD player, beautiful views, simple but fabulous architecture.
The BBQ we pre ordered was simple and perfect, breakfast was delicious. This weekend was not wanting in anyway. Even the 2 cottages were completely secluded from each other and the house by bush and trees which you would not know from the photos. Would I stay there again ? In a minute.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We found this accommodation to be very well appointed and surpassed only by the relaxing environment and wonderfull views. Sky full of stars at night followed by a magnificent sunrise over the Yarra Valley hills. Would be even better during the winter with a storm coming down the valley. Very private and secluded retreat. Shared an excellent meal in Healesville only a few minutes drive away. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsey62, Owner at Kangaroo Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

On the last minute we decided to escape for a night I called to find out if one of the villas was available which was to my delight and that we could check in at any time I was informed that our provisions will be in the cabin for our arrival. We arrived at cabin 2, around 2.30pm and was not impressed that the provision where not supplied as we wanted to relax and not be bothered. So we waited for a couple of hours and no show so I made a call to the host to find out where our provisions where as we wanted to have a spa without be interrupted, I was informed that she was not around for another hour and a half which we found unprofessional! This was just the beginning. We had a fridge that was not working and water was dripping out of it there where no lights working in the bathroom, once the host arrived with our provisions we informed her that the fridge was not working and no lights in the bathroom she was unable to rectify the problem. We where given a car fridge and torch to use to go to the bathroom - Not happy! Our nightly rate was reduced due to the problems. The villa requires patch up work inside and a good paint the villa had the basics, the bed squeked every time you moved - the views where the only thing we found great relating to our stay - very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Memorable-Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsey62, Owner at Kangaroo Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
At Kangaroo Ridge Retreat we take great care in the cleanliness and overall presentation of our accommodation. The cabins are freshly provisioned just prior to the guests checking in.

On this occasion we were not on the property as no guests were staying with us, one cabin had been cleaned earlier in the day. We received a telephone enquiry during the afternoon to stay that night. The couple were keen to check in early and so we agreed explaining that provisions would be delivered when we returned home later that afternoon.

Some time later the guests pointed out that the fridge was not working and one of the lights in the bathroom was faulty. We attempted to fix both the fridge and the light fitting but were unsuccessful. We concluded that there must have been a power surge in the past couple of days. We apologized, gave the guests a discount and provided them with a large capacity 240 volt car fridge and a battery lantern to supplement the lighting in the bathroom. The following day we purchased a new fridge and replaced the light fitting. An electrician also checked the wiring for faults. We have had no further problems.

We were disappointed that the guests felt it necessary to be so critical of their stay with us. We recognize that their experience was not satisfactory but under the circumstances we responded as best as we could.

Thousands of people have stayed with us over the past 13 years and many return on a regular basis, the guest books are full of lovely comments which makes us proud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taffy Down Under
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We loved this place! It was hard to tear ourselves away to explore the wineries of the Yarra Valley.

The setting was peaceful and spectacular. The cabin was beautifully appointed and well equipped. The wood burning stove was already laid and ready for a match, with a plentiful supply of logs to last the weekend (as well as firelighters for the second evening when we had to do it ourselves).

The provisions were a great touch and you get a comprehensive list beforehand of exactly what is provided so you can plan accordingly. One small point is that the 'cheese platter' provided is a slice of brie, a few olives and sun dried tomatoes and not the selection of different whole cheeses I was expecting!!

Overall, rustic luxe at its best.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0ffiC0ffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed here for the last weekend of our 4 weeks honeymoon in Australia and it was just perfect. The view over the Yarra Valley is beautyful! The place is very clean and well decorated. There is even a fireplace which we did not need at 40 degrees but this surely would be great during the cold season. You are basically alone up there and having a barbecue on the porch is lovely. Oh, and the bathroom is great as there is a view over the valley even from the spa. All in all - a very romantic place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
10.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
528 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
326 reviews
3.3 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BIG4 Yarra Valley Holiday Park
BIG4 Yarra Valley Holiday Park
#10 of 15 in Healesville
98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages
5.5 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Healesville
Gateway Lifestyle Healesville
#11 of 15 in Healesville
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Ridge Retreat

Property: Kangaroo Ridge Retreat
Address: 38 Turners Lane, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Healesville
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Ridge Retreat Healesville, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing