We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful, nature, comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages
melbourne
2 reviews
“peaceful, nature, comfort”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This was our return visit to Outlook Hill and this time we were fortunate to stay four nights over Easter in one of the beautiful cottages. The bifold doors open onto the view and suddenly you are part of the peaceful rolling hills and bush. Sunset views, hot air balloons drifting by at dawn, mist in the morning. Spend an afternoon reading the paper or a good novel on the verandah or inside on the comfortable lounge. We could cook indoors or dine in one of the many fine restaurants of Healesville. There is an abundance of parks and waterways to walk or visit just a short drive away. We were warmed by the cosy log fire and the hot spa. Thank you to our welcoming and obliging hosts

Room Tip: We stayed in the self contained cottages twice and find them well appointed and comfortable. all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripforalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    11
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights over the Easter Weekend in the Pinot cottage. It was fabulous, great views, extremely comfortable accommodation and excellent, attentive and friendly Owners. This is our second visit and for a quiet relaxing time in the beautiful Yarra Valley but not too far from Melbourne and a couple of minutes to Healesville we will certainly return. Our hosts provided ample and varied continental breakfast supplies and made sure during our stay that we were well provisioned. We are fairly discerning in our accommodation and service requirements and we were very happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301PeterN301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have just returned from Outlook Hills where we stayed in the Terrace studio last night. I read the previous reviews before booking and have to say I was hesitant about booking but had very little option as nothing else appeared available for one night. However we had a fabulous time and I was very happy with all the amenities. The room was very clean, light and airy and the views were magnificent. With reference to a previous guest - whilst there are provisions to do the dishes, I don't think this is an expectation and I didn't do them. I think if you use the dishes at night you may have to do them so they are clean for your breakfast. My husband was also disapointed at the lack of bacon & eggs but I had been told when I booked it was a continental breakfast and found the available choices more than adequate. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and I would certainly recommend in to family or friends. The dogs are delightful too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindyboo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We came in from Melbourne, and it was wonderful to escape the city for a relaxing night. We stayed in the terrace studio. It was quiet and immaculate, had a new bathroom and a wonderful shower, and we enjoyed the wonderful views overlooking the vineyard and Yarra Valley. Centrally located to all of the wineries, too. The owners were very pleasant, and their dogs were super friendly and came to visit us at the cottage. There was fresh bread awaiting us in the room, with orange juice and milk in the refrigerator, as well. We would most definitely recommend it and will stay here again!

Room Tip: There are five rooms. Three are separate and require a 2 night stay. The other two are good for a on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The terrace studio was too expensive, the web page gave the impression that it was seperated, yet it's attached to the house and you can hear the owners tv. it stank on mould and was covered in dust. Overcrowded with empty furniture, like a storeroom. We were expected to wash our dishes, yet the only place to wash them is in the bathroom sink( that's unhygienic and disgusting) Dirty sofa and pillows and the milk carton for breakfast was already open. The rusty garden furniture was not an appealing option for watching the sunset. The location and view were great!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytravel201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
509peter, Manager at Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Outlook Hill is very troubled by this review. Please understand that we cannot fix problems if the guests do not let us know at the time. Our only possible understanding of this review looking back through our records is that it was not fully cleaned before the guest checked in - perhaps they checked in early. If we had known about the state of the Studio at the time without hesitation we would have offered an upgrade to another suite or cottage if available and certainly attended to the problems.
As you can see from other reviews of the Studio it has to date been an absolute pleasure and lived up to our guests expectations of cleanliness and amenities.
We are very humbled by this review as well as not fully understanding how this could have happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The view is still superb but things have changed at Outlook Hill. We stayed in the same spa cottage but right from the start we were concerned. The decor is no longer the light, bright comfortable furniture of the past, or even of the website, but rather heavy,dark, faux Tuscan. Its clean, well appointed but tired and that attention to detail is missing
Lighting is a problem at night, not enough to read by, as acknowleged by the shadeless standards lamp in the main room. Matters weren't helped by globes not working in the bedroom and bathroom, and you only discover this too late to remedy matters.There were also sheets wrinkled from the drier and no plugs for the basin and very poor pillows.
Very disappointing were the "generous breakfast provisions". Where were the eggs, bacon and the nice loaf of bread from early visits? Packets of Weetbix, Cornflakes and Sultana Bran that have been there for who knows how long, are not what you would hope for.
We won't return and will no longer recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
509peter, Manager at Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Outlook Hill does undergo changes at times with repainting, refurnishing and reinventing ways to improve on service, style and comfort for their guests. This is purposefully done for new guests and also refreshing for returning guests. Unfortunately it seems it did not work for this reviewer.
In addition there have been changes to laws on Food, Health and Safety for B and B's/Accommodation providers that prevent us now providing the bacon, farm eggs and sausages.
It is disappointing for us as well. However we do say on our website and other accommodation sites that we are providing continental provisions. Our guests so far have been more than pleased with the selection and have been very understanding of this change.

One of our cleaning precautions is to check the lights however when one bulb blows it is not unusual for another to go at the same time. It is easily fixed with spares in the cottage cupboards or a quick mb call for us to remedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend away to celebrate his 50th birthday. We stayed in the premium spa cottage: beautiful views and so peaceful. We loved sitting on the deck to soak it all in morning and evening. The cottage itself is nicely appointed but looking a little tired in the bathroom - very outdated tapware and signs of rust and degrading of all wet areas. Not the bathroom I expected for an upmarket getaway. Bed linen beautifully done but curtains look cheap and very thin - difficult to sleep in. Lots of dust behind furniture and cobwebs on the rafters so attention to detail somewhat lacking.
Perhaps the biggest disappointment were the breakfast provisions. Yes, they were "generous" continental provisions as advertised but hay this is the Yarra Valley - looked more like motel style breakfast. Generous in quantity but not in quality. Some fresh local produce would not go astray at this price
. It was a nice touch to have the newspaper dropped at the doorstep, we loved the company of the friendly dogs who escorted us on our stroll to the dam and we enjoyed the open fire with ample wood provided
All in all we enjoyed our stay but would probably not return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
9.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
334 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
271 reviews
3.1 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages

Property: Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages
Address: 97 School Lane, Healesville, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Vineyard cottages and 2 suites on vineyard farm property overlooking central yarra valley -private and peaceful ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages Healesville, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing