We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic country retreat close to Healesville Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argyles Yarra Valley
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Rustic country retreat close to Healesville Sanctuary”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at the cottage; a three bedroom cottage in the middle of vineyards and pasture land.

Very clean on arrival. Excellent facilities including spa bath, well equipped kitchen digital tv wood burning stove (!!)

Very close to the town of Healesville and the Zoo. Handy for supermarkets and restaurants.

Staff were very eager to help with any issues, although the main hotel is several kilometres away from the cottages.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Whilst the location is beautiful and the initial feel is that of a charming little cottage perfect for a weekend getaway, our overall experience wasn't a good one. We were disappointed to have no hot water or cooking facilities on the second night of our stay due to there being no gas provisions to our cottage. The customer service number we were provided to call in such an event wasn't answered nor was there a call back and when we finally managed to get a hold of someone the next day, it was time to check out. The customer service experience following this event was very dismal. Also worth noting that The Dairy is located in very close proximity to the cottage next door so privacy isn't guaranteed. Overall, a disappointing experience so much so that we wouldn't recommend staying at The Dairy and certainly won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmrya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Healesville hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Dairy whilst attending a wedding in the Yarra. The hosts were extremely welcoming with great tips on the fish and chips in Healesville - delicious!

The Dairy is very pretty and the location is just beautiful, however, i would warn that the facilities are definitley more rustic that advertised and certainly not up to the "luxury" tag. Small issues with lack of hot water and tv which did not really work (though not a huge problem for our stay). We also couldn't seem to get the fire going, though unsure if this was a problem with the flu or not, this resulted in smoke billowing into the room. Luckily the heater was very efficient.

All in all, i would say that the Dairy is nice for a weekend getaway in the country, just don't expect any modcons or plush interiors. This was more like camping in-doors, which perhaps makes it a little overpriced. It actually wouldn't take too much to turn this into the luxurious retreat it is billed as.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIrelandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We were very impressed with the cottage (rose cottage), it had a beautiful country garden feel. We loved it's spot on a hill amongst the farm and boutique vineyard. The bed was very comfy and we had a great sleep. The bathroom was especially beautiful. As another had mentioned, the hot water was an issue. Also, it appeared that the owner's car was parked in one of the only parks available for the adjacent cottages, forcing the guests to park behind one another. You had to reverse up onto the grass to get around, but as the grass was wet I became bogged. Managed to luckily rock the car out in neutral, so didn't have to get my partner to help, but we certainly would not have been impressed if we were stuck due to the owners taking guest parking. The cleaning lady was lovely and gave us wonderful advice. Will be back if we come through the area again, but would hope they saw to the aforementioned issues.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emjembrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed in the cottage called the Dairy so our review can only be read if you are considering this property. We booked online and the receipt that we printed out had the contact number to call the propoerty on it. We called on the day of check to confirm the location of the property but the number was disconnected. Not a good start. Found the cottage which is very cute and cosy. Went to put the kids in the shower but no hot water. I called the contact mobile and was advised that we had to wait 20 minutes as the adjacent lodge shared the hotwater service and may have just filled the spa and drained the hot water. Wanted to watch the TV with the kids but couldn't get a picture.

The water was cold again in the morning.

The lodge is quite cute and would be good but needs a new hot water service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healesville hotels
1.0 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Healesville House
Healesville House
#12 of 15 in Healesville
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Healesville Apartments
Healesville Apartments
#3 of 15 in Healesville
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#2 of 3 in Healesville
150 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Park Cottages
Sanctuary Park Cottages
#4 of 15 in Healesville
158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Farm Vineyard
Valley Farm Vineyard
#6 of 15 in Healesville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyles Yarra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyles Yarra Valley

Property: Argyles Yarra Valley
Address: 36 Old Fernshaw Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyles Yarra Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argyles Yarra Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyles Yarra Valley Healesville, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing