We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argyles Yarra Valley
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Loved it, the room was gorgeous and we were upgraded! check out @ 11 is good, breakfast was yummy and included, proper cafe breakfast, spa in the room was really fun! ensuite nice and the garden and view combined with the furnishings really made the place a great stay

Room Tip: cant remember our rooms name, but it was the top suite, started with "F"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed in the Tuscan cottage. The accommodation was OK, it was clean and they left us a complimentary bottle of sparkling malbec and chocolates for our honeymoon. It was a little run down and did lack some attention to detail. The gardens were un kept, the door leading outside to a seating area was broken and stick taped shut. They was a spa bath but no bubbles or bath bombs to use in the bath and the soap and shampoo was in a dispenser they kind of one you would find at a public pool.
With do many wonderful places to stay in the Yarra valley i would probably not choose to stay here again, unless they gave it lots of TLC and give it the touches that you would expect staying in a cottage in the Yarra Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMcClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband booked this place without consulting trip advisor but, always the optimist I thought I'd give it the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately, it just wasn't up to scratch. It isn't 3.5 star accommodation, more 2 star which would be fine if the rate was $70 - $80 per night but at $192 per night on Fri - Sun it was very disappointing.

When we first arrived the place smelt really old and musty, everything looked pretty worn and tired and I'm glad we didn't stay in winter as it would have been freezing. The sliding door to a small outside patio was taped up with grey packing tape with 'do not open' written on it. The outdoor furniture was old, broken and covered in cobwebs. It was quite frustrating as there is so much potential for the place to be fantastic, it needs to be completely renovated - the location was really the only positive for me. If they could get the cottages up to the standard of the Wombat Hills cottages in Mansfield I would come back again and again.

Given our disappointment we also weren't interested in visiting the same owner's cafe or shop in town. Again, lovely location but not worth $190 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed in Rose Cottage, which is the smaller of the three. Couldn't shake the feeling that there was a lot of creative exaggeration in the web and brochure blurb. As others have mentioned, it's certainly not luxurious, nor is it particularly private (with the cottages butted up against each other, your next door neighbour's veranda is right next door!) The BBQ and cottage garden are actually shared with other visitors and not, as implied by the brochure, yours alone. Finally, we were more than a bit annoyed to find that AFTER paying our money for a 3 night stay on a wet and windy weekend, we arrived to find a note telling us we couldn't use the fire as it was 'being repaired' - Given the emphasis on the 'cosy fire' in all their blurb, perhaps more ethical to tell punters BEFORE you take their money???
Overall, nothing special....

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merwoodtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Definitely rustic. Not luxurious at all. Dont expect a real farm. It's only a lonely chained goat greeting us and 6 chickens on a muddy area on the back. Oh, you can see cows in far far away though. There are couples lemon trees and oranges trees.

There is a fireplace in the front living room. A heater in the kitchen area and one bedroom only. The other 2 rooms dont have any heater.
You might wanna buy the fire starter in the grocery store as they are quite unwilling to give you more than whatever left there.

Location is quite nice.

Would i come back? I dont think so.

I saw a very nice villa called susan in the valley or something. But they dont accept kids.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jump3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at the cottage; a three bedroom cottage in the middle of vineyards and pasture land.

Very clean on arrival. Excellent facilities including spa bath, well equipped kitchen digital tv wood burning stove (!!)

Very close to the town of Healesville and the Zoo. Handy for supermarkets and restaurants.

Staff were very eager to help with any issues, although the main hotel is several kilometres away from the cottages.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Whilst the location is beautiful and the initial feel is that of a charming little cottage perfect for a weekend getaway, our overall experience wasn't a good one. We were disappointed to have no hot water or cooking facilities on the second night of our stay due to there being no gas provisions to our cottage. The customer service number we were provided to call in such an event wasn't answered nor was there a call back and when we finally managed to get a hold of someone the next day, it was time to check out. The customer service experience following this event was very dismal. Also worth noting that The Dairy is located in very close proximity to the cottage next door so privacy isn't guaranteed. Overall, a disappointing experience so much so that we wouldn't recommend staying at The Dairy and certainly won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmrya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healesville hotels
2 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#2 of 3 in Healesville
158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Healesville Motor Inn
Healesville Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Healesville
5 reviews
2.5 mi away
BIG4 Yarra Valley Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Healesville
Gateway Lifestyle Healesville
#11 of 16 in Healesville
13 reviews
3 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Healesville
97 reviews
3 mi away
Sanctuary Park Cottages
Sanctuary Park Cottages
#4 of 16 in Healesville
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyles Yarra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyles Yarra Valley

Address: 36 Old Fernshaw Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Healesville
Price Range: £78 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyles Yarra Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argyles Yarra Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyles Yarra Valley Healesville, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing