We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable uncomfortable uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argyles Yarra Valley
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable uncomfortable uncomfortable”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in the Rose cottage for two nights.

The location is great, we know the area well and its not a long way to travel and be out of the city.

The cottage is on a secluded farm area with vineyard however the cottage is not alone as implied and shares a main wall with "the dairy" beside. Cottage has small front paved area with outdoor table and chairs for a relaxing view over breakfast, dinner or just drinks however, a stones throw to your right and you've got neighbours.

The cottage is certainly old and "charming" with dated pieces of furniture and decor to match. Unfortunately the couch is not at all comfortable so we couldn't exactly sink in and relax in front of the open fire.

Kitchenette is VERY minimal, luckily we could cook in electric frypan. The roll-out electric stove does not work properly and no breakfast provisions are included in the rate.

Cottage was fairly clean and tidy however light bulbs were missing and cobwebs throughout.

THE BIGGEST PROBLEM was the bed. I'm a light sleeper which wasn't an issue in the extremely quiet area and I don't think of myself as TOO fussy however the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on. The mattress was as hard as a concrete slab. And we both woke with aches and pains throughout. The concrete floor would have been better. The sheets were extremely stiff and felt like hospital sheets. Not at all soft or comfortable. And there were no additional pillows or blankets to aid.

The bathroom is very large and has a very cute corner spa however the hot water system does not last to actually fill even half this. We ran a bath on our last morning and used all the hot water for the people staying beside us - would not have been impressed if this was the other way around!

Given the over priced rate compared with other properties we have frequented, we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarravalleyregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a lovely relaxing stay in the Dairy Room cottage at Argyles. It was full old world charm, felt like you were miles away from the town but really only a short drive. The kitchen, furniture and stereo equipment was dated but given its location and the fact that it is an old converted 'milking room', it was expected and part of the charm. The shower is amazing, you feel like you're outside but not...fantastic. You definitely felt like you were in the country and relaxed especially with the cow grazing in the field right in front of the cottage and the vines to the left. The downside was the cobwebs and small spiders (daddy longlegs) that were in the sleeping areas but that's what you get in the country. For those squeamish about any type of spiders would find it a little stressful but nothing a can of spray (supplied) can't fix. The bed was comfortable, the sheets were fresh, and the customer service provided by Shane was second to none. The other highlight was the facial at the day spa in the main house.....so good! Loved the weekend, thanks Shane.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Pepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in the Tuscan Cottage. It was a stange mix of good and bad. It had been well cleaned and beautiful roses had been used to decorate it. There were a few cobwebs but they could have popped up after cleaning - every room had a door to the outside and it was surrounded by green. We saw 3 spiders inside during our short stay.

The kitchen was reasonably well set up and there were Argyles wines on offer (which is good for the time-poor but probably best with a tasting first). There were some lovely sections to the cottage and the ability to light a fire. Overall, it was just very rustic and I'm curious as to the history of the cottage as it appeared to be made up of several independent rooms.

I wouldn't stay in this cottage again but may be tempted to try another.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelineBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our 2 night stay in the Toolebewong cottage was delightful and a relaxing getaway.
We found the cottage very clean and tidy with plenty of rural cottage charm. We especially enjoyed the large spa bath in the second bathroom. We had a very relaxing evening in the courtyard sipping champagne and eating cheese while the sun set. The location was perfect for our family with two toddlers who enjoyed roaming the gardens and pathways. There were lots of attractions close by and the rural setting was a welcome retreat from the City smog and lights.

Room Tip: All rooms were serviceable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimG20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in The Rose cottage for two nights, the cottage is located out of town near the Healesville sanctuary. Proximity to the sanctuary and privacy were what attracted us. We weren't disappointed and the owners were not only interested to know our thoughts but keen to do what ever they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The fit out, whilst authentic, simple and understated, is functional and cosy. Due to the fickle victorian weather, we got to use the lovely open fire place :)

Out an early evening walk we wandered past the goats pen and were delighted in his (or her) friendliness and interest in getting a scratch and a pat from us.

As wildlife lovers we enjoyed seeing the eagles soaring high above us on both days, as well as the many Ibis and other bird life in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Exactly what we were looking for - a rustic comfortable cottage full of charm. We stayed in the Dairy and loved the step back in to history in a picturesque rural vineyard setting with mountains off in the distance. The Cottage was cosily and tastefully furnished. Outstanding was the stone bathroom with its unique earthy flair. Are returning, this time trying out the Rose Cottage. Can't wait!

Kim

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I will preface my review by saying I have never been so compelled to write a review on a place before.. and what you read below is my honest opinion of a terrible stay.

My new husband and I arrived for a quiet holiday in what is described by the owners as a charming antique cottage (seperate to the main property) on a farm with animals, where they provide excellent service and day spas etc etc, of course, as expected from the website, which raves on about how beautiful it is, and how they use Aveda products and have a farm with a goat etc etc... and arrived to a creepy, dark and dirty shed like thing (and thought oh my god is this our room?!? Unfortunately, yes, it was....) which was set back behind two other properties (which I assume are the other places you can stay at) behind another creepy shed which has an "Office" sign on it, and looks like something out of a horror movie.

Upon entering our glorified shed for the evening, we found a hard bed, a small table, a TV, stereo and a tiny kitchen. There was a second single bed, for those who bring a third person or child, but really, this wasn't a cottage, it was one room, which from the outside was actually a shed, and inside was an attempt at making it look like a room. Pretty disappointing to begin with....

We then heard a weird banging noise along with a shaking wall in the bathroom area, so went outside to explore and found a goat, a poor matted haired goat with dags and poo stuck to him, who looked like he was going mad from boredom. I love goats so I was distressed to see this beautiful creature in such bad shape. His water was old, he had no food or grass, and he was obviously incredibly bored. He was ramming the side of the shed/room constantly and he was roaming around on broken glass and other mess. Poor thing.

Back to our shed for the night... so we go inside to wash our hands after trying to pat Mr Goat.. and the bathroom... oh my god. Horrible. I am not a fussy person but it was dirty, the shower had mud on the floor, the amenities were disgusting and clearly havent been topped up for ages... the soap was NOT Aveda, it was an old supermarket push pump thing that was so old it had discoloured and gone clumpy... The shampoo and soap were watered down and clearly refilled with water, not product.. so they were mixed in and looked old also.

Oh yes, then the 'spa'... haha, it was a tiny pink bath that was small enough for a child maybe, and looked like something my nanna would have had back in the day, and there was no way this was a spa of any sort, or I was getting in it, because it was dusty and dirty!

What a joke. This place is not luxury or even close to being quaint or charming. It is filthy, creepy and horrible, and I honestly feel like I would have been better giving my money to an animal welfare group to come and rehome the poor goat, than visiting this place.

I actually thought about that poor goat various times after our trip and considered calling animal welfare and telling them about him.

I would avoid this place at all costs. Not worth it. AT ALL.

I shudder to think of what the day spa is like.... or the food. Yikes.

To the owners, there is a difference, a HUGE difference between being 'environmentally friendly' and being down right dirty and lazy. You don't take care of the little things, which are so important, and the goat... again, that is animal cruelty.

I wish I had taken photos of how terrible this place was so you could see a realistic view of the amenities and the room, oh and the goat and what he was living in (which I actually do have a photo of on my phone FYI) as the website for this place is SO off mark.

Not to mention the weird noises heard all around the property, and the fact that at any moment you feel like you are about to be attacked or you are being watched. Not romantic at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelbug3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyles_Management, Owner at Argyles Yarra Valley, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Travelbug3737
We are absolutely astounded by your comments and having been in operation for ten years, have never felt so totally unfairly misrepresented. We now have around 3000 guests stay with us each year from all over the world and have a high revisit rate, with a number of guests actually returning for multiple visits over many years. If a guest has an issue we always encourage them to speak with us during their stay to make their concerns known and to give us opportunity to implement strategies to ensure they have a wonderful stay.
Like you, we feel compelled to respond, however until we have the opportunity to explore with you ‘what your expectations were?’ We are choosing not to respond to the myriad of comments and at times false accusations. We look forward to speaking. Please call.
Having said this, we always value customer feedback. As business owners we appreciate constructive comments to assist us in improving our services. We take pride in ensuring that guests have a wonderful stay with us in clean facilities. We have read your review in detail and thought at length about how to respond. It appears that you felt you had booked into our ‘luxury accommodation’ suites, however you had in fact booked one of the ‘Rustic self-contained cottages’ which was ‘The Dairy’, dating back to the early 1900’s. While rustic, this studio has in fact won a consumer driven accommodation award with a well known booking service.
We dispute a number of your comments, particularly the inference that ‘Bell’ our wonderful Angora goat, is not well looked after. At the time of your stay she was of course shedding her winter coat and eating out the vegetable garden in preparation for spring planting. We would ask that you make contact with us so we can discuss your concerns in more detail. Janette & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Healesville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healesville hotels
1.0 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
397 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#1 of 3 in Healesville
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Healesville House
Healesville House
#12 of 16 in Healesville
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Park Cottages
Sanctuary Park Cottages
#3 of 16 in Healesville
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Healesville Apartments
Healesville Apartments
#4 of 16 in Healesville
105 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Healesville
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyles Yarra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyles Yarra Valley

Property: Argyles Yarra Valley
Address: 36 Old Fernshaw Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Argyles Yarra Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argyles Yarra Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyles Yarra Valley Healesville, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing