We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended - lovely place, lovely people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathvea Guest House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strathvea Guest House B&B
Ranked #4 of 21 Healesville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - lovely place, lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

had a lovely weekend here with hosts Toby and Deanne - they were fantastically accommodating of our group, made us feel welcome and the breakfast is AMAZING... best mushrooms I have ever had!

Would definitely go back, and would recommend to friends in a heartbeat!!

Also, comes with a friendly peacock :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathvea, Owner at Strathvea Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi Katherine, it was lovely to have your group stay at Strathvea. You inspired me with some of your suggestions re. Group gatherings. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
19
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed with friends for 2 nights in late January. We were in a small double bedroom with the smallest bathroom ever. Our friends were in a bedroom with the use of a shared bathroom. While being aware of what we were booking, being on a tight budget, we were suprised to find that the bathroom was in a different building involving a walk across the garden. We were then horrified to find that the shared bathroom was not cleaned the entire weekend despite being multi user and was smelly and unpleasant by the Sunday. We were surprised and disappointed to return to Strathvea at the end of our first full day to find that there was no room service for our ensuite room as well, so beds not made, no clean towels, no more drinking water, etc. Next morning we were also astonished to find that instead of a repeat of the excellent breakfast we had enjoyed on our first morning, half the items were off as if it had been a surprise that people were staying and would expect breakfast. The weekend was the final of the tennis Open, so we had expected to be able to watch it on television, however the signal was so poor and the picture so snowy that we could not see the ball - hopeless.

Room Tip: Avoid the low cost options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathvea, Owner at Strathvea Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
I was saddened to read your review, because such a harsh review can be so damaging to a family run business such as ours. I felt that it was a shame that you couldn't have approached us with some of your expectations so we could explain and help put some of your disgruntled feelings to rest. I have written to you personally with no response. We are a B&B, not a motel, we don't provide room service. What we provide is a 3 course breakfast, the use of the guesthouse and not just your room, unlike a motel. It is a country experience away from city life. We even provide bad tele reception, to encourage conversation, a game of scrabble, or the opportunity to sit and listen to the crackling of the fire or the birds outside. Toby went out of his way to try and get the tennis for you, as the tv is only set up for dvd's. It's funny when you try and accommodate more so, it can become a negative against you. Strathvea Guesthouse provides a charming and enriching experience, it's a shame you could only see negatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I really enjoyed our one night stay. We took our inlaws who were very impresses. Beautiful setting in the forest amongst tall trees teeming with birds. Awoke to kookaburras laughing.

The decor is from the 1930s/20s, not usually what I like but found it very charming and interesting. But perhaps not for those that like very modern accommodation. Beautiful terrace for an atmospheric evening drink!!

Stayed in the strathvea queen room which was one of the more expensive but I think worth it because of space and adjoining modern bathroom. Very clean and very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was delicious and hosts were first class- very very helpful and friendly. I left something behind and they phoned within the hour of us leaving to let us know so we could come back!

Brilliant atmospheric stay and a great base for healesville.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kb9472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

The setting is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and the owners are lovely. Id recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominic1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My girlfriend and I had only been together about 4 months and decided to take a long weekend out of Melbourne. After a lovely day at the Dairy, a few wineries and lunch in Healsville we got back to Strathvae where we recieved a warm welcome and were shown to our lovely room in the main house. It felt like we had been invited round to stay by close friends. With the fire crackling we chatted with a few other guests, enjoyed a cheese board and wine provided by our hosts and later got a great nights sleep. In the morning mist from the forrest rolled across the grounds with beaming rays of sunlight cutting through and creating the most amazing shadows trees and garden ornaments. Being avid photogrpahers Lilli and I both spent a couple of hours snapping away. We had such a great time and would recommend it to anyone. A great base for a wineries tour, or romantic retreat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonflyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have stayed here twice & we absolutely loved it both the times!!! Would definitely recommend it! Its suitable for family as well as couples.If you want to relax in peace then this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were part of a group of 20, celebrating a Friends 40th Birthday in the Yarra Valley.

The accom chosen for our group was Strathvea - in the hills just above Healesville - Yarra Valley. We arrived late afternoon on the Saturday. Toby and Deanne were there to welcome us all into their beautiful 1920's guest house. We were gently shown around the property by Toby, then personally shown our rooms. There are a range of rooms avail here - We had a Heritage Queen room with Pvt ensuite. A nice generous sized room with plenty of space and nice little personal touches. Others in our group also had a mix of these rooms and the Strathvea Doubles.

We were provided with a beautiful dinner that evening (own cost) for our friends 40th, We were also able to enjoy our own "Yarra Valley" wines that evening - or choose from the house wine list.

Beakfast the next day was a hearty 2 courses, cooked perfectly to order.

We loved Strathvea, and would highly recommend this venue for a special celebration for up to 20 or so people. A great place for a couple of gentle days.

Room Tip: Go for the Heritage Queen rooms with private ensuite - very nice - Private views to the bushland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
14.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Myers Creek Cascades
Myers Creek Cascades
#2 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cherry Blossom Bed and Breakfast
Cherry Blossom Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 21 in Healesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathvea Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathvea Guest House B&B

Property: Strathvea Guest House B&B
Address: 755 Myers Creek Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathvea Guest House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strathvea Guesthouse is the perfect place for groups and family gatherings and couples who are looking to getaway and feel rejuvinated. Strathvea is a 1920's guesthouse which provides 7 beautiful ensuite rooms, 6 queen and 1 double. Each of the rooms are decorated with antiques and original artwork, as well as a cooked breakfast made from organic, and locally sourced produce, the use of the guesthouse which has a dining room, lounge, library, and sitting room. No dishes to clean, no cleaning expectations when you leave unlike Self contained cottages. Strathvea Guesthouse allows you to unwind and relax completely. On those chilly winter evenings the fire will be crackling in the lounge, and on those summer evenings, enjoy a glass of Yarra Valley wine on the wide verandah overlooking the English garden with 100 year old oaks and chestnut trees. We are fully licensed and have a wide range of Yarra Valley wines and beers. Strathvea is just over an hour from Melbourne, 10 minutes drive from Healesville, and situated in the majestic Mountain ash and tree fern forest. Strathvea Guesthouse is perfect for couples and group getaways. Conferences can be held for up to 14 single people. We provide Breakfast, Morning tea, Lunch, Afternoon tea and Dinner for group bookings. All meals are home cooked and delicious. Free wifi is provided. We look forward to meeting you when you come and stay at Strathvea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Strathvea Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathvea Guest House B&B Healesville, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing