We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious location, beautiful people fantastic breakfast very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strathvea Guest House B&B
Ranked #3 of 21 Healesville B&B and Inns
Perpignan, France
1 review
“Delicious location, beautiful people fantastic breakfast very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed at Strathvea during autumn, driving up was a really beautiful experience. The environment was so peaceful with these beautiful astonishing trees and forest and when l arrived l recieved a warm welcome by the owners Toby and Deanne. My room overlooked the beautiful garden that was well maintained and it was clean, quiet and spacious. The breakfast was a delight scambled eggs, delicious mushrooms and beautifully cooked tomatoes. Overall the guesthouse itself was full of charm, calm with a rustic old fashion beauty. I really enjoyed my stay it was a piece of heaven where l felt removed from the realities of the rest of the world. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julz2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
20
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a very pleasant time soaking up the atmosphere of this authentic 1920s guest house. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. The forest setting is a delight and well removed from traffic and city noise. The breakfasts were great and we enjoyed watching the birds feed from our window seat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpreaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathvea, Owner at Strathvea Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure having you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

My friend and I attended a wedding recently in the Healesville area. Being from interstate I booked a room for the night utilising a combination of emails and phone calls. Deanne was FANTASTIC and she assisted me in organising a room for the night.
Originally we had planned on checking in on the wedding day, prior to the ceremony, but this plan fell through. We organised to check into the room after the reception, and Toby took this in his stride without fuss. As is the case, the reception ran long and we didn't arrive until midnight.
Toby greeted us upon arrival, and given the time was friendly and courteous. He showed us the dining room and escorted us to our room. The room was laid out for us, even the heater was on so the room was lovely and warm.
The next morning we went to breakfast and were once again greeted by Toby. Despite us keeping him up late the previous night he was once again friendly and courteous. Just as we were about to order breakfast we received a call and had to leave immediately, only halfway through our coffee!
Toby was understanding and thanked us for our visit.
I regret that we didn't get to explore the gorgeous surroundings or try the locally made jams! Despite only being at Strathvea for 9 hours, and most of that we were sleeping for, the whole experience was amazing.
Both Toby and Deanne were absolutely fantastic, and I would highly recommend the Strathvea B&B to anybody who wishes to experience the quiet tranquil surroundings and simply awesome service.
My next visit will be a lot longer, and I am very much looking forward to it!
Many thanks to Toby and Deanne for a FANTASTIC time!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Beautiful accommodation with character !! It's not the Ritz but it's clean, characterful and is incredibly restful. Service and food were also great. I'd highly recommend a stay and it makes the winery tours more fun!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEPO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at the Strathvea B&B Guest House on a Saturday night as we were meeting friends for dinner at the Toolangi Tavern and wanted to stay somewhere close as we didn't want to drive back to Melbourne. Our host Toby met us when we arrived and was very friendly and helpful and made us most welcome. The rooms were small and cozy and we had a very good night's sleep. The Strathvea is in a lovely bush setting and is so peaceful and relaxing. We had a fantastic 3 course breakfast Sunday morning which was absolutely delicious (is included in the price). An added bonus was be able to watch the native birds feed outside the window as we ate breakfast. I would most definitely recommend the Strathvea B&B Guest House to anyone looking for a quiet & relaxing stay in a lovely bush setting near Toolangi and Healesville.

Room Tip: I recommend the Double Heritage Room as it has an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathvea, Owner at Strathvea Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi Ken, thank you for choosing to stay at Strathvea. It always makes me happy to hear how much you've appreciated the natural setting of the guesthouse. I can sometimes take for granted where I live, and it's great to re-reminded of our amazing wildlife setting. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

had a lovely weekend here with hosts Toby and Deanne - they were fantastically accommodating of our group, made us feel welcome and the breakfast is AMAZING... best mushrooms I have ever had!

Would definitely go back, and would recommend to friends in a heartbeat!!

Also, comes with a friendly peacock :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathvea, Owner at Strathvea Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi Katherine, it was lovely to have your group stay at Strathvea. You inspired me with some of your suggestions re. Group gatherings. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed with friends for 2 nights in late January. We were in a small double bedroom with the smallest bathroom ever. Our friends were in a bedroom with the use of a shared bathroom. While being aware of what we were booking, being on a tight budget, we were suprised to find that the bathroom was in a different building involving a walk across the garden. We were then horrified to find that the shared bathroom was not cleaned the entire weekend despite being multi user and was smelly and unpleasant by the Sunday. We were surprised and disappointed to return to Strathvea at the end of our first full day to find that there was no room service for our ensuite room as well, so beds not made, no clean towels, no more drinking water, etc. Next morning we were also astonished to find that instead of a repeat of the excellent breakfast we had enjoyed on our first morning, half the items were off as if it had been a surprise that people were staying and would expect breakfast. The weekend was the final of the tennis Open, so we had expected to be able to watch it on television, however the signal was so poor and the picture so snowy that we could not see the ball - hopeless.

Room Tip: Avoid the low cost options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathvea, Owner at Strathvea Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
I was saddened to read your review, because such a harsh review can be so damaging to a family run business such as ours. I felt that it was a shame that you couldn't have approached us with some of your expectations so we could explain and help put some of your disgruntled feelings to rest. I have written to you personally with no response. We are a B&B, not a motel, we don't provide room service. What we provide is a 3 course breakfast, the use of the guesthouse and not just your room, unlike a motel. It is a country experience away from city life. We even provide bad tele reception, to encourage conversation, a game of scrabble, or the opportunity to sit and listen to the crackling of the fire or the birds outside. Toby went out of his way to try and get the tennis for you, as the tv is only set up for dvd's. It's funny when you try and accommodate more so, it can become a negative against you. Strathvea Guesthouse provides a charming and enriching experience, it's a shame you could only see negatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
14.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
13.9 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#4 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Cherry Blossom Bed and Breakfast
Cherry Blossom Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 21 in Healesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.9 mi away
Myers Creek Cascades
Myers Creek Cascades
#2 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathvea Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathvea Guest House B&B

Property: Strathvea Guest House B&B
Address: 755 Myers Creek Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strathvea Guest House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strathvea Guesthouse is the perfect place for groups and family gatherings and couples who are looking to getaway and feel rejuvinated. Strathvea is a 1920's guesthouse which provides 7 beautiful ensuite rooms, 6 queen and 1 double. Each of the rooms are decorated with antiques and original artwork, as well as a cooked breakfast made from organic, and locally sourced produce, the use of the guesthouse which has a dining room, lounge, library, and sitting room. No dishes to clean, no cleaning expectations when you leave unlike Self contained cottages. Strathvea Guesthouse allows you to unwind and relax completely. On those chilly winter evenings the fire will be crackling in the lounge, and on those summer evenings, enjoy a glass of Yarra Valley wine on the wide verandah overlooking the English garden with 100 year old oaks and chestnut trees. We are fully licensed and have a wide range of Yarra Valley wines and beers. Strathvea is just over an hour from Melbourne, 10 minutes drive from Healesville, and situated in the majestic Mountain ash and tree fern forest. Strathvea Guesthouse is perfect for couples and group getaways. Conferences can be held for up to 14 single people. We provide Breakfast, Morning tea, Lunch, Afternoon tea and Dinner for group bookings. All meals are home cooked and delicious. Free wifi is provided. We look forward to meeting you when you come and stay at Strathvea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Strathvea Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathvea Guest House B&B Healesville, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing