We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian in the country”

Paramparaa Indian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 51 Restaurants in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Good honest northern Indian food, and easily the best you'll find outside of Melbourne. The quality of the food is up with many good Indian restaurants in Melbourne. The naan is fresh out of the oven and highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BagelGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best regional Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My brother organised this restaurant based on previous reviews. An Indian Restaurant in Healesville - who would have thought but.....the range of foods authentic, the service impeccable and the Kingfisher cold. A great meal at a great price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton
2 reviews
“Wicked Indian in Healesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We popped in over a long weekend and were blown away by the calibre of service and food here at Paramparaa - the waiter's were attentive yet almost invisible; and the food was excellent!
Curries were authentic and plentiful; great raita and pappadums and overall exceptional value - if in doubt check it out - really worth the time!
Will certainly be back when in Healesville!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

After a day of wine tasting, we wanted something spicy to eat. Healesville only seems to have one Indian restaurant, and we were a little skeptical on how good the food might be. We are original from South Asia, so like a bit of chilli in our food.

We were not disappointed. Saturday night was quite busy at the restaurant, but the staff were very attentive and our food arrived very quickly. We requested the lamb biriyani to be "extra spicy" and it was just to our liking. The lamb was very well cooked, very tender.

We ordered a tandoori platter entree to share and we both struggled to finish it. The value for money at this place can't be questioned! Under $50 for the two of us, including drinks! Will be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manotick
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food...a gem in the Yarra Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We were looking for something other than the usual fare after a day of wine tasting...and the Paramparaa filled the bill. To say we were surprised to find such a restaurant in a small town in the Yarra Valley is an understatement. The menu offers typical Indian fare - buttered chicken, various tandoori dishes, and the like. The surprise comes with the quality. My wife thought that the food was nicely spiced as did I - and we rarely agree on that score - so it must have been nearly perfect! The night we were there was very busy with a large and loud crowd of locals who added to the atmosphere of a busy Indian restaurant that could have been in Bangalore - but for the accents! Service was a bit slow, but friendly and considering the crowd, acceptable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paramparaa Indian Restaurant also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Paramparaa Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing