We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally, a good curry in Australia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paramparaa Indian Restaurant

Paramparaa Indian Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Finally, a good curry in Australia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

As a Brit, I know curry - and what it served in most 'Indians' in Australia is an embarrassment to the name - the use of pepper to increase 'spice', for example - just creates a mess. HOWEVER, this restaurant was a breath of fresh air.

The food was fresh, vibrant, and for the most part, was what it was supposed to be - i.e. a pakora WAS a pakora, amazing! Highly recommend this restaurant to any Brits or even Aussies looking for a real curry, as opposed to the usual dross. PS: Bear in mind that as these are 'authentic' curries, the spice levels are real - i.e. dont get what you normally have, as its likely to blow your head off.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Really good lovely food very tasty but not cheap but worth a visit lovely food good wine and friendly staff

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adhoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Indian Food or Australian ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Decent Decor
Professional and Friendly Service

Sufficient parking

Serves drinking water

Rating of the food :

Starters- Well cooked and perfect flavors - 8/10
Lentil Soup - thick and Hot - 8/10
Garlic Naan and Paratha - Good - 7/10
Daal Makhani - Nothing like it should be -1/10
Veg Makhani - Needs a bit of salt - 4/10
Jeera Rice - Not fully Cooked - 6/10

The restaurant owners were very friendly and i had a talk with them

They asked me how the food was and i had to tell them the truth , not exactly what they may have liked to hear

They explained that the cuisine was tweaked to suit the local palate. So was the cuisine Indian or Austindian ....... maybe the restaurant makes the right decision , since we were the only Indians in the restaurant on the Saturday evening , .......This is always a debatable , but who are we to judge

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeNRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Awesome Indian at pretty good prices to. Take away can take a long time but I guess that's a good sign. Highly recommend...

Helpful?
Thank Rod3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious and the Price is Right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

After 3 days in Healesville, experiencing expensive (although delicious) meals everywhere, it was lovely to enjoy a meal from Paramparaa. I have to be honest, I also was a little skeptical about what to expect from an Indian restaurant in the middle of wine country, but we had a wonderful meal of Tikka Chicken, Garlic & Chili Prawns, Naan bread, Coconut Rice and Raita for $45 for 2 people. Service was quick, staff were polite and welcoming, we got a takeaway (30 min prep) before the locals descended on the place for Saturday night. You always know it's good if the place is packed with locals. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KNewmanTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paramparaa Indian Restaurant also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Paramparaa Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing