We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”

Wild Wombat Winery Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$128.17*
and up
Healesville Sanctuary and Yarra Valley Day Trip from Melbourne
More Info
US$104.14*
and up
Yarra Valley Winery Tour from Melbourne Including Lunch and Local Guide
More Info
US$112.15*
and up
Yarra Valley Small-Group Gourmet Food and Wine Tour from Melbourne or Yarra
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Wine touring company that specialises in boutique tours to the Yarra Valley, Victoria. We are based in the Yarra Valley and have excellent knowledge with passionate guides to take you on a tour to remember.Our cool climate wines are some of the best in the world, so let us share them with you.Full daily public tours that anyone can join are a great way to see the area with a maximum of 11 people, or if you have a group of friends for an occasion we can look after you too, any size. We also offer Healesville Sanctuary Tours where you can get up close and personal with our local wildlife. Visit the Yarra Valley Chocolaterie and Ice Creamery. Or maybe you would like Farm Gate tour, and try all sorts of different fruits etc.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this tour company highly enough. John was brilliant and extremely knowledgable. All the staff at each winery knew him so it felt like we were really being looked after.
It was great to be able to go to wineries that we wouldn't necessarily have visited.
Lunch at de bortoli was absolutely delicious.
Don't even look at any other tour company - wild wombat is the only one to go for!

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Hi Jacqui,
Sorry for the delay in replying to your wonderful review. Thank-you for singing our praises so loud. John is a great host and he really enjoys his day out with all his friends in the vineyards. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip with Wild Wombat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    51
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day, fabulous host”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I surprised my best friend with the winery tour Saturday 26 July and what a great day we had. Our driver, Gary, was not only efficient, but very funny, amused us all day with jokes and lots of stories. He was fantastic and made Jaci really enjoy her birthday, all singing to her at lunch. There were some great people on the bus, we were lucky, people from all over, NZ, America, Sth Africa, Ballarat, Melbourne, 9 of us. The wineries were OK, depends on what type of wine. For myself and Jaci, we prefer whites, but there was a main focus on reds where we went. I enjoyed some of the reds. The lunch venue was amazing, Immerse, great food and lovely sparkly wine. Everyone went crazy in the chocolate factory! Highly recommend the tour! Ask for Gary to drive!!! - Jen and Jaci

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JenandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Hi Jen and Jaci,
Sorry for the delay in replying. Us wombats do tend to move a bit slow sometimes. We are so glad you had a great birthday celebration with Gary and the rest of the passengers. Unfortunately, a majority of our wineries in the Yarra Valley enjoy making a large variety of red wines and less of the white. We hope it didn't deter you from returning to the Valley in the future.
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic day out!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great way to see all wineries. We did all the booking for the tour via email and was a quick and easy way to organise. Picked up us from our accommodation in Healesvile, and was greeted warmly by our tour guide Gary. Was flexible when picking which winery we would go too, to accommodate everyone on tour. Went to a range of large wineries and smaller run wineries with both reds and whites and to top of it off had a beautiful lunch at De Bortoli. In all was a great day with friendly people and too much wine!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Elizabeth,

Thank-you for your review regarding your tour of the Yarra Valley. We are glad you had an enjoyable day out with our 'Singing Driver" Gary who loves his job and enjoys giving people an experience to remember.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
620 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“The only way to do the wineries”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We had a superb day with John as we toured the valley, it was nicely paced and we felt like a local, being introduced to many of the wineries owners. I liked the fact that John designed the tour as we went getting to know the wines we liked and what we were interested in. A beaut lunch and dropped back at our hotel in Melbourne, all made for a truly memorable day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Judy,

Thank you for leaving your review of your day out in the Yarra Valley. John is excellent at his job and enjoys showing guests our beautiful surrounds. We are glad you enjoyed the variety of wineries you visited on the day.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great day out”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I live in Melbourne, and had a friend from the UK staying for a few days. I hadn't done any wine tours yet, and so arranged for a group of us to go. The contact with Wild Wombat was great from the beginning with quite responses to email and always answering questions.
The tour itself was great, with the driver providing a bit of knowledge and deciding on the day which wineries to go to, based on our preferences.
Coombe Farm in particular was a great winery to visit.
Would highly recommend using this company as a great way to experience the wineries of the Yarra Valley. If I decide to do another tour at some point with other friends, I'll definitely be using them again.
Definitely worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Lesley,

Thank-you for your review regarding your tour to the beautiful Yarra Valley. We are glad you enjoyed your day out with us and our guides that are exceptional at their job, We look forward to offering ;you the same service on your return.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Wombat Winery Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wild Wombat Winery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing