We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and loved it again! ”

Wild Wombat Winery Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$137.63*
and up
Healesville Sanctuary and Yarra Valley Day Trip from Melbourne
More Info
US$121.44*
and up
Yarra Valley Small-Group Gourmet Food and Wine Tour from Melbourne or Yarra
More Info
US$113.34*
and up
Yarra Valley Winery Tour from Melbourne Including Lunch and Local Guide
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Wine touring company that specialises in boutique tours to the Yarra Valley, Victoria. We are based in the Yarra Valley and have excellent knowledge with passionate guides to take you on a tour to remember.Our cool climate wines are some of the best in the world, so let us share them with you.Full daily public tours that anyone can join are a great way to see the area with a maximum of 11 people, or if you have a group of friends for an occasion we can look after you too, any size. We also offer Healesville Sanctuary Tours where you can get up close and personal with our local wildlife. Visit the Yarra Valley Chocolaterie and Ice Creamery. Or maybe you would like Farm Gate tour, and try all sorts of different fruits etc.
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second tour with Wild Wombat and we loved it again. John was our driver again and we were so pleased to see him.

Last year 4 of us went on a public tour, this year we had a private tour with 15 friends.

We requested smaller wineries and we had an amazing time again. Lunch was at a bigger winery and was delicious. Immerse whilst being a bigger winery was not commercial and the wine was excellent. All other wineries were great.

Fun day out with friends - planning next years adventure now!

Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi Deanna,
How fantastic that your second time around was as good as your first. John does enjoy taking groups around wether they are small or large and does a great job with both. We hope that everybody in your group enjoyed their day as much as you did. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Wild Wombat Winery Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 386 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Last time my husband and I went on a wine tour it was with a larger company and found it very "organised" and sometimes didn't really get to enjoy the winery.. We booked this one with Wild Wombat from a recommendation from the local Tourist Information Centre and we are so happy they recommended it.
Gary was our driver and from the minute he picked us up he had us smiling, he asked what wines we liked and organised our day around that (our favorite was Corniola Wines, Lucy was amazing and so friendly) along the way Gary told us a lot about the area, recited bush ballads and did some singing for us.
We found with Gary, as it was only my hubby and I on the tour, it was so relaxed and if we wanted to stay somewhere a bit longer it wasn't a problem. Lunch was delicious.
Would highly recommend using Wild Wombat and Gary is an added bonus

Thank The_Boss1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hello,
Thank-you for taking the time and writing such a glowing review of your winery tour in July. Apologies for the delay in acknowledging it. We are so glad you enjoyed your day with Gary. The beauty of having a driver to yourself is that the day is all about you. Gary is very entertaining and likes to keep everbody happy. We hope the next time you visit Melbourne you will consider the Yarra Valley as a must return destination.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this tour company highly enough. John was brilliant and extremely knowledgable. All the staff at each winery knew him so it felt like we were really being looked after.
It was great to be able to go to wineries that we wouldn't necessarily have visited.
Lunch at de bortoli was absolutely delicious.
Don't even look at any other tour company - wild wombat is the only one to go for!

Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi Jacqui,
Sorry for the delay in replying to your wonderful review. Thank-you for singing our praises so loud. John is a great host and he really enjoys his day out with all his friends in the vineyards. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip with Wild Wombat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I surprised my best friend with the winery tour Saturday 26 July and what a great day we had. Our driver, Gary, was not only efficient, but very funny, amused us all day with jokes and lots of stories. He was fantastic and made Jaci really enjoy her birthday, all singing to her at lunch. There were some great people on the bus, we were lucky, people from all over, NZ, America, Sth Africa, Ballarat, Melbourne, 9 of us. The wineries were OK, depends on what type of wine. For myself and Jaci, we prefer whites, but there was a main focus on reds where we went. I enjoyed some of the reds. The lunch venue was amazing, Immerse, great food and lovely sparkly wine. Everyone went crazy in the chocolate factory! Highly recommend the tour! Ask for Gary to drive!!! - Jen and Jaci

1  Thank JenandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi Jen and Jaci,
Sorry for the delay in replying. Us wombats do tend to move a bit slow sometimes. We are so glad you had a great birthday celebration with Gary and the rest of the passengers. Unfortunately, a majority of our wineries in the Yarra Valley enjoy making a large variety of red wines and less of the white. We hope it didn't deter you from returning to the Valley in the future.
Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great way to see all wineries. We did all the booking for the tour via email and was a quick and easy way to organise. Picked up us from our accommodation in Healesvile, and was greeted warmly by our tour guide Gary. Was flexible when picking which winery we would go too, to accommodate everyone on tour. Went to a range of large wineries and smaller run wineries with both reds and whites and to top of it off had a beautiful lunch at De Bortoli. In all was a great day with friendly people and too much wine!

Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbur888, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Wombat Winery Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hello Elizabeth,

Thank-you for your review regarding your tour of the Yarra Valley. We are glad you had an enjoyable day out with our 'Singing Driver" Gary who loves his job and enjoys giving people an experience to remember.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Wombat Winery Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wild Wombat Winery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing