We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curate's Egg Revisited ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RACV Healesville Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I'll start by saying I am a long term member of the RACV Club - and have been for many years. We've stayed at the Melbourne Club and Inverloch. Both excellent.

We've often wanted to stop in Healesville - on our way from Drouin to Milawa. A lovely spot - good tourist places to see and a great golf course.

Unfortunately it was wet for our stay but this wasn't a major issue. It did mean we needed a taxi to get to the town - instead of walking. However we found out that the taxi "service" is rather lax. We were told we should have allowed at least 40 minutes for our taxi to arrive. When we finally rang to check where it was we were told we'd been picked up 20 minutes ago. Strange that we were still sitting in the lobby ! After another 20 minutes a Cab turned up - but decided to take the better fare - ie a longer trip. We ended up taking our own car. So - do not reply on taxis in Healesville.

We had a lovely night in the village - the "Innocent Bystander" was a delight - as was the White Rabbit brewery. In fact, Healesville - minus the taxi "service" - was excellent. The train trip, the Sanctuary, the shops etc.

The Club itself is a copy of the other RACV clubs. Slightly "olde-worlde", but well worth the effort. Rooms excellent and good parking. Rooms extremely comfortable - as were beds. Desk and cleaning staff excellent. Snooker and billiards room was excellent.

We did have a few issues. Relating to dining.

First day we had drinks in the lounge. Beers ok but my wife - who ordered a margarita - got a cosmopolitan - a drink she has NEVER had before. When we told the "waitress" of this she told us we were wrong and that we had ordered the Cosmo ! While she exchanged the drink she made sure we knew "who" was in the wrong. As we left we were told there would be no "extra" charge for the drinks ... ! The Margie finally came as a slushie ... !

The folowing night we went in for dinner. Turkey was on special - with a free glass of white wine - so we decided to have it. We ordered pre-dinner drinks and told the waitress we DID NOT want our meals until after our drinks. You know what happened of course. Before my wife's margarita was even delivered our meals were on the table and we had beers, white wine, food - but no margarita - which we were told was on the way - to late to stop.

Finally delivered, it was a shocka !!! Tasted like half lemon juice. She just left it. $17 - for a lemon twist. Such a simple drink - why can't they make it. Mind you we did state that we did not want a slushie ... ! We'd now ordered three of these drinks - all attrocious or wrong. Tip - DO NOT ORDER MARGARITA'S AT THE CLUB !

I'm not sure why the food was delivered within 5 minutes - but the person who brought it in smiled as if she'd won the chook raffle and said - "wasn't that quick !!!" When I said it was exactly what we'd said we didn't want, she just left. No response or smile.

The waitress who took the meal appeared to write our request on the form she was filling in.

I don't know what to make of this - perhaps poor training ?

Surely a basic in food service is to allow people to settle in - have their pre-dinner drinks - AND listen to the customer. The turkey may have been ready - BUT - we were not.

I know this was possibly a one-off - as we love Inverloch and the City Club - who have Ziggy of course. But - surely a good training session could be introduced. The staff appear good, happy and keen - but they appear not to listen.

Would we go back ? Maybe - but we'd make the staff repeat what we said to them before they left our table.

A final comment - breakfast was excellent. But, it is self service ! And - the room was lovely.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Never assume anything. Book a taxi 40 minutes in advance - or walk. DO NOT order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MichaelandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed lady night as I was going ballooning this morning. Check in was, as usual, easy and a drink at the bar included a chat with staff, thanks Lynn.
Harumi was amazing as usual during dinner and thanks to the chefs for re- organising Andrews dinner. If you get the chance to eat the kangaroo, it is an outstanding dish.
Beds and rooms are fabulous, just ask for a room looking onto the dam, just don't ask for 1313 if we are there!!!
Looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night with a big conference being in house we had nothing to do with that but the team in the bar really good the Blue tree food fantastic.
The rooms are really well done but I have said that before i will not single out people as it is a real team effort.
We had to go back for breakfast as the breakfast at a local winery after a ballon trip horrible.
The place is quiet even with a big group in the quality of the food is simply very good.The fellow singing in the lounge are just adds to the whole thing plus its one of the few places that you can ask for and get a BLUE steak.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obancas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and modern. Unfortunately our first impression was not a good one, as Donna at reception was quite rude and arrogant. Not the level of service you would expect at such a distinguished establishment.
However the staff at OneSpa were very friendly, which made up for the rude reception we got.

Stayed: March 2014
6  Thank tweetypie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a enjoyable stay at the racv country club. The facilities are first class. Room was excellent, clean, spacious and modern. Reception staff very friendly and helpful and made checkin a breeze. Only disappointment for our small group was dinner at blue tree grill. Food was average but it was probably a one off as buffet breakfast was excellent. Overall great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank radcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just spent five very enjoyable nights at this excellent club. Quality facilities, attentive staff and good value - particularly the restaurant. The location is perfect for a relaxing rest which is what we needed - we hardly moved out of the place, making the most of the great facilities.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms overlooking the Dividing Ranges rather than the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_and_Gayle_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014


1. The staff were so rude and arrogant.
2. You make a booking to play golf and at the turn on the 10th hole, the club professional places two groups of 4 people to commence there round as they need to reserve the right for members to play if they wish on the front nine (no-one was on the front nine). We wait up to 20 min in scorching heat.
3. No air-conditioning in the room as it wasn't working. The staff couldn't understand why we wanted to be moved rather giving the option of putting two air fans in the room. It was over 30 degrees.

Lets say if you were going for a golfing experience you are wasting your time with the likes of Heritage around the corner.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
16.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,301 reviews
12.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
580 reviews
6.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Healesville Motor Inn
Healesville Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Healesville
5 reviews
5.7 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#2 of 3 in Healesville
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV Healesville Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV Healesville Country Club

Address: Racv Club Members Only | 122 Healesville-Kinglake Road, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Healesville
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RACV Healesville Country Club is one of two outstanding RACV Club properties and is located in the heart of one of Victoria's premier wine and fresh produce regions. There are 80 well-appointed accommodation rooms offering glorious views from the balcony or patio. Interconnecting rooms and disability friendly rooms are also available. A full buffet breakfast, free internet and 18 holes of golf are included in room rates. RACV Healesville Country Club has a range of leisure, dining, accommodation and conference options, and is the perfect destination for a short break, weekend visit, special occasion or business event. Membership of the private RACV Club is separate to other types of RACV membership, which can include RACV Emergency Roadside Assistance and RACV Insurance. Only members of the private RACV Club can book accommodation at the RACV City or Healesville properties. RACV Club members pay an annual membership fee which enables members to book accommodation for themselves, their family, friends and guests at both RACV Club locations and to access a range of other Club dining, lifestyle and recreation facilities. RACV Club membership is available to anyone through a nomination process and full details about how to become an RACV Club member are available on the RACV website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your RACV Healesville Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RACV Healesville Country Club Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing