We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Healesville Sanctuary

Healesville Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.14*
and up
Healesville Sanctuary General Entry Ticket
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Healesville Sanctuary, in the heart of the Yarra Valley, is world-renowned as the best place to see Australian wildlife in their natural habitat. Set in a beautiful natural environment, the Sanctuary offers a place for people and animals to reconnect with nature from creek to canopy, and plays a critical role in saving some of the world's most endangered animals. Explore the 70 acre bushland haven to experience close-up encounters with some of Australia's unique and endearing wildlife, including koalas, kangaroos, wombats, emus, dingoes, birds of prey and platypus. Visitors are also free to explore the Australian Wildlife Health Centre, a working vetinary hospital treating over 1500 orphaned, ill or injured wildlife every year. The expert team shares the journey of animal rescue, rehabilitation and release with the Sanctuary's visitors. Don't miss: Spirits of the Sky: A free flight presentation featuring Australian raptors such as the Wedge Tailed Eagle, and colourful parrot species. Tales from Platypus Creek: Come face-to-face with Healesville Sanctuary's most iconic species in a world-first interactive Platypus show. Observe Platypus as they interact with keepers, play in the water and even enjoy having their tummies tickled! Wade with the Platypus: In this world-first, hands-on experience it will be your turn to be the Platypus keeper. You will have the opportunity to step into the shallow water of the 'Platypus play pool' where it's normally the keeper's job to play, frolic, tickle and feed our little furry friends.
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had an absolutely brilliant day out and highly recommend the Spirits of the Sky Show. This was an amazing and informative show. I went on a magic moment with a koala. That was also informative and was really nice to be able to get up close.
We didn't purchase any food as we packed a picnic. Really excellent facilities for a picnic.
The shop was really good however a few items were very over priced but the staff were friendly and I didn't mind paying the prices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne-Zoo, Marketing at Healesville Sanctuary, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Jess. Thanks for the lovely review. We hope to see you at the Sanctuary again, remember that every visit helps us fight wildlife extinction. Many thanks, Zoos Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    357
    104
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“healsville sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The best place to take visitors from overseas and show Australia,s native fauna and flora.Have visited many times but am always surprised by the continual upgrade going on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NandelMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne-Zoo, Marketing at Healesville Sanctuary, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi. Thanks for visiting Healesville Sanctuary, and taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful to hear you had a great time. Many thanks for the review, every visit is helping us fight wildlife extinction. Regards, Zoos Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Australian animals experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Well laid out for a pleasant walk, with animals along the way. Recommend the Spirits of the Sky bird show for close experiences - really get to see how huge some of these birds are, as they fly past your head! Also, meet the keeper is well worthwhile, we attended the Tasmanian Devil talk, and got to see 4 devils playing tug of war with their prey which was fascinating and made the visit worth it in itself. Parrot aviary also offered a good close up experience. Dingos and platypus, koalas and echidnas also on display, so good to see your Australian animals. Included in Zoo pass, so can be " free" to visit if you purchase this to visit Melbourne Zoo and Werribee, worth looking into.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rem868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely zoo great Australian feel about it definitely worth a day trip!!! And cheek out the bird show amazing

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Giorgioooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet another great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I come here often as I am a student of Conservation and an animal lover. I also make it a point to watch the bird and platypus show because each time around there is always something new. I visited recently with my partner who has never been to the sanctuary.
I think I literally dragged him away from the parrots because he enjoyed the close encounters and feeding them haha. The animals all looked very happy and healthy, my partner named the Tasmania Devils his 'buddies' as they all seemed very interested in him and were little show offs. Being behind the scenes as a 'Keeper For a Day', I know what goes into caring for these animals and the hard work shows. The breeding programs and conservation research this wildlife park does is incredible.
I got upset seeing visitors get angry because the animals were 'sleeping'. This is not a circus were animals are told what they can and cant do. They are living happily and happy animals need sleep.
Well worth the price of entry and an excellent outing for children. People who are worried about cost should consider bringing there own lunch to save money. Becoming a Zoo Member will also give you free access to the zoos in Victoria for a whole year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne-Zoo, Marketing at Healesville Sanctuary, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Katelyn. Thanks for the lovely review! It is great to hear your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Zoos Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Healesville Sanctuary also viewed

 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Healesville Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing