We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Healesville Motor Inn(Healesville)(Great Value!)
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa(Yarra Glen)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$465
US$379
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oscar's on the Yarra(Warburton)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Yarra Valley Motel(Lilydale)
US$129
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warburton Motel(Warburton)(Great Value!)
US$94
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
45
62
29
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
62
29
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomonsite restauranttiny sinknice quiet locationfoxtel channelsmicrowave and toasterstandard family roomnice roomfree upgradegames roombed was comfortablediscounted ticketsvery friendly servicefour poster bedwater pressurebush settingstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

What can I say this hotel is a hovel but has so much potential to be an amazing hotel there was rubbish all over the property it was all very uninviting.i could go on and on but why waste my time on would not be heading back to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daelc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Planned on one night but decided straight away on extending. Lovely surroundings, although the little wilderness at the back could do with a bit of tidying up (old potplants and even a car, but that could have belonged to the neighbours!). The room was of a good size, and the late model tv allowed us to screen our photographs beautifully. Originally we planned to visit the Sanctuary, but we located the Lyre bird (reason for the trip) near Badger Creek Weir and spent most of our time taking photographs of the bird and the surrounding forest. We had an exceptionally good meal at the Sanctuary House Resort's own restaurant. We certainly will return and stay at the Sanctuary House Resort again; very satisfied!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marijke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Dirty, horrid place. Such a shame, the landscape (Healsvillle) is so beautiful but the surrounding grass areas have been destroyed by their dumping of rubbish. We stayed in a family unit, inside was OK, though we did kill a couple of cockroaches, it was also dark and damp smelling. The light fitting was broken and the table lamp was too. When we were showed our room we were taken through an area of pure rubbish, piled up, he pointed to a tiny table and chairs and said we could sit out here for the view when the kids were asleep, the VIEW was rubbish bins and over grown yards. Disgusting!! We actually got back in the car and looked around in Healsville for another accomodation for us (unfortunately all booked), we were shattered. $130 pre paid, for a dump! We wouldn't use their restaurant as it didn't appeal to us with the rubbish piled up on the outside, the gamesroom was full of mould and damp smelling, couldn't actually be used, the pool that we were looking forward to using was overgrown with weeds and dirty! So disappointing, ruined our family mini break!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ness C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I'm afraid I can't recommend this accommodation for a family stay. I stayed at this hotel a year ago in a room for one which was one side of an adjoining cabin. The room was quite okay (for a 3.5 star), so I booked again for two nights this week with my four children - who are late teens. Whilst the room was clean, it was very 'old' and musty. Our room was off a rear entrance, which seemed to be adjoining the 'residence' & offices. We had no view at all, and it felt a bit like 'the back alley' type of thing.

We left the door open to let in the fresh air and someone from the residence used their entry (only separated from ours by a piece of shade cloth) for their smoking. That was disgusting as it was the only source of air into our room and we had to close the door.

Throughout the evening, again from the adjoining apartments/rooms, we could hear kids running around and foot stomping without any effort. It was 1am when I last looked at the clock. So if you're a light sleeper, take some ear plugs.

The whole place is very old and whilst clean, really needs a refurb. I can't recommend it and I won't be going back. Just too old, makeshift and tired.

PS. I had booked and paid for two nights, but we didn't even stay there the second night, just not pleasant.

Room Tip: Bearable in the cabins for one or two people - don't go as a family or a group in one room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

we had an amazing relaxing time at healsville, in a little place called sanctuary house motel.
The room was comfy and clean. The resturant was amazing, i have celiac disease and they catered to it perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble.
We felt very welcome and will be back, thanks you helen and co you made an amazing weekend even better

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacque J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews