We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healesville
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Good value, clean and comfortable never heard a sound from other guests. Room was small and a bit dated but was still suitable. It is a little way out of town which can be awkward when the restaurant is shut, but we found a nice meal in town. Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FalconerIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

A large group of us went to Healesville for the weekend. As soon as we arrived Helen and Sam couldn't to enough to help. Sam dropped us all off at the races which was 20 minutes away then picked us up. We then went back to the hotel for a beautiful meal. We then asked if there was anywhere we could watch the soccer live in TV. 10 minutes later the outside bar was set up along with a roaring fire. The beers were flowing and it topped off a great weekend. Thanks so much for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

When my husband and I arrived, we were greeted with smiling faces and we're immediately made to feel at home, with a complimentary bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon. The room was gorgeous, with a beautiful large 4 poster bed which was extremely comfortable, twin basins in the bathroom a decent sized shower and a spacious spa. The service was impeccable, the restaurant was absolutely beautiful inside, although we enjoyed room service instead. Initially we thought the food was slightly over priced but when we received it, the portion sizes were more than generous and the quality and flavour were infallible. All in all it was a magical honeymoon thanks to Sam and his wife. Never been more impressed with any other place I have stayed. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPatterson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are quite dated not very good value for money small room, bin in bathroom was not emptied also dodgy PowerPoint in bathroom the shower changes temp if someone uses taps in next room. Close to sanctuary but quite a distance from town. Noisy at night. No bottle opener provided either which was kind of annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I found the rooms dated, daggy and cold. They are in much need of a refurbishment. No atmosphere in the motel. We were also charged a fee for forgetting to return the key when we left the hotel which I found to be absolutely ridiculous.
No value in payiing extra for the "deluxe" spa room as we were convinced to do by the manager.
Very disapointing.

Room Tip: Dont bother with the deluxe spa room. Dont forget to return the room key....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogotomgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galah2, Owner at Sanctuary House Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

To gogotomgo I would like to say this: you know why you were charged a fee for not returning the key, but I will state it here for the benefit of our customers. The usual procedure when a key has not been returned is to contact the customer to establish where they might have left the key, and if they are still in the area and the key is on their person, if they would kindly drop it in for the benefit of the next customer. Several attempts were made on this occasion to contact gogotomgo, on the mobile number provided. Despite the urgency of the matter our calls went unanswered. For reasons that we cannot elaborate here due to Tripadvisor policy, we had other concerns relating to this particular customer and considered that an unreturned key might compromise the security of the room for the next customer. Therefore we took the steps for a locksmith to attend the premises to change the lock, which incurred a fee. This was passed on to the customer and debited to the nominated credit card in accordance with the disclaimer stated on the customer registration form, which was signed off by the customer at check-in.
It is disappointing to say the least that gogotomgo has resorted to posting this review. He knows very well that this matter was settled amicably to his satisfaction, and that this resulted in Sanctuary House carrying half the cost and foregoing other issues, as a goodwill gesture, for which he was most grateful at the time.
I am at a loss to understand what sort of refurbishments he has in mind. The super deluxe room he stayed in had just been re-awarded its four star rating after an assessment by AAA Tourism.
I also question why he states he stayed in May, when my records indicate that he stayed in June.
With this in mind, I would ask Tripadvisor customers to completely disregard this review.
Sanctuary House Resort Motel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked two rooms and thought the price was fairly reasonable. Fairly small rooms but clean and comfortable, free internet was a plus , tiny sink in the bathroom was a minus, showers ran a bit hot and cold but o.k. overall.No shampoo was a bit of a surprise . Friendly staff and in a good location for access to the sanctuary just up the road. Did not try the restaurant so can't comment on the food. A nice quiet location and reasonable value for money

Room Tip: b.y.o. shampoo and conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This place is a hidden gem and we'll definitely return. Due to the poor reports on Trip Adviser, we were unsure what to expect but the rooms were clean and comfortable, the hosts were charming and the food delicious (especially the desserts). We've stayed at several places in Healesville over the past 3 years and Sanctuary House is now the favourite.
Charming, comfortable, relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
1.3 mi away
Healesville Motor Inn
Healesville Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Healesville
58 reviews
13 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
563 reviews
9 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
341 reviews
11 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
139 reviews
8.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary House Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary House Resort Motel

Address: 326 Badger Creek Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healesville
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary House Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STOP PRESS! NOW WITH FREE HIGH SPEED WIRELESS IN ALL ROOMS!Sanctuary House Resort Motel is the only motel accommodation in Healesville which enjoys a quiet 10 acre setting, off the main highway.Choose from deluxe suites(some with four poster beds and spas) or traditional accommodation, ideal for families.On site facilities include an inground swimming pool, games room and playground for the kids, plus a purpose built fully licensed restaurant/reception centre seating up to 120 people, both for a la carte dining and private functions.Walk to the sanctuary, and don't forget to ask about our discounted admission tickets for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Sanctuary House Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel Healesville
Sanctuary Motel Healesville
Sanctuary House Resort Motel Healesville, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing