We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”

Monroe's Burgers & Beers
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Healesville
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Monroe's Burgers & Beers is the Yarra Valley's home of gourmet burgers. We stock an extensive range of craft beer and cider sourced exclusively from local breweries. Our beef burgers are made from the finest cuts of locally sourced steak and ground fresh every morning.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my partner stopped by for a coffee, before our long drive home after a wonderful time in Healsville. My partner being a lover for anything old-school immediately began taking pictures of the memorabilia and sang along to some James Dean tunes. The service we received was excellent and our coffees came in a timely manner. We indulged with some chips to make our stay there a little longer. The menu seemed quite delicious and homey although the prices where a little on the expensive side. But I say it is well worth the cost for the excellent atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude Owner Kicked Us Out”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had a decent Sunday lunch here. I ordered the creamy carbonara, my partner ordered the steak. Both were good old-fashioned home cooking, nothing overly fancy, which is exactly what we were after. We were the last ones in the restaurant when we were finished, as we'd come in toward the end of the lunch rush. When we went to pay our bill, someone in the kitchen (presumably the owner/manager) called out to our waitress (who was very nice) "They have to go! Those customers, get them to leave, now!" We replied back "don't worry, we're leaving!" Our poor waitress was embarrassed and tried to make a joke about it while she cashed us out, but it was too late, we'd heard the extremely rude tone from the kitchen. Even though it was barely 3pm, the front door was still wide open, and we'd just been offered coffee three minutes earlier, it was clear we had outstayed our welcome. So we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“cool spot”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great lunch spot - food is good value - décor interesting diner with the Monroe influences. Not licensed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank merryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shrine to Marilyn”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The owner sings 'oldie' songs as he works and the walls are covered with Marilyn Monroe memorabilia. Customers vary from bikies to tourists to locals. It serves good honest food which tastes like it should. Good for breakfast or for lunch after you've been to the Healesville markets

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennyw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

great value "diner" restaurant. nothing fancy which i like

the staff were great

meals were good

heaps of 50/60 themed american objects

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monroe's Burgers & Beers also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Monroe's Burgers & Beers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing