We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Acceptable Motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Healesville Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healesville
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
334 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Perfectly Acceptable Motel.”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Clean, tidy, good sheets, quiet and roomy. All you want from a motel. We only stayed one night and it was fine. When in Healesville make sure you visit the art gallery at Tarra Warra - it is a classy place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    21
    11
    1
    6
See reviews for
11
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here overnight as we were attending a wedding locally. It was a 44 degree day and we were extremely grateful to find the hosts had left the airconditioner on, so we arrived to a very cool room! (just what we needed thank you!) the rooms were extremely clean and well kept. We found the hosts to be extremely helpful right up to recommending a lovely local place for breakfast. Further, they were more than accommodating for our extra cars which was much appreciated! I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaE1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a wedding in the Yarra Valley. Situated on the main highway just out side Healesville, easy reach to the town and the wineries of the area. It was clean, comfortable and well maintained. Ideal for an overnight or two night stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kiwifarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was looking for accomodation for a wedding and google searched, This motel came up with the reviews of trip advisor. Read the bad review posted about a month ago but chose to look past that and so glad I did. Hosts, Baz n Shell could not have been nicer, and although rooms are really quite retro from the seventies complete with green tiles in bathroom it was amazingly clean and very well catered with mini bar, snacks and tea coffee facilities. I had stayed at the "Sofitel" on the 48th Floor the night before, I am not saying it is 5 star but I slept just as well and would have no problem with recomending or in fact returning again in the future. All together we had 6 rooms and did not hear 1 complaint from the other parties.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevHarris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I spent one night at the Healesville Motor Inn and not sure what to expect.
Accommodation was great. Old fashioned but very clean . No restaurant but the club down the road was fantastic. Breakfast was delivered for you to have at your leisure in the morning. Great Linens on the bed.Much better than what I expected due to the reviews I has read.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaznShell, Manager at Healesville Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you Pam for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you decided to stay with us even after reading the recent reviews. Sometimes you just need to read between the lines and find out for yourself. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your night at the Club. We hope to see you again.

Regards

Barry & Shelley
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed at this Motel last week and had a Restful and Peaceful break.I am so glad that I ignored the Negative Reviews as I found them to be completely unfounded.The room was spotlessly clean and very quiet. The Hosts were courteous,polite and helpful and paid attention to every aspect of detail necessary to provide good hospitality.The grounds were neat and tidy and in general the whole atmosphere was of a management waiting to provide a relaxing time for their guests.
Thank You.Muriel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaznShell, Manager at Healesville Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you Muriel for taking the time to write an honest review. We are so glad that the previous reviews didn't deter you from staying with us. We do try our best to make ever guest feel welcome and comfortable. It just goes to show you that you can't believe everything that you read. We hope to see you again when you pass through.

With much appreciation
Barry & Shelley
Healesville Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked 7 rooms here for our bridal party and parents/family for our wedding night ~ feedback from every room was bad and that is very disappointing as we booked it for them we now feel like we got it very wrong!

In general the remarks about the motel were that it was good and clean but run by people who are very rude and not accommodating at all. We spent around $1000 to accommodate our families here on a Thursday night you would think the management would look after you.

The best man went to drop off his car at the hotel the day prior (happy to pay for this and was confirmed at time of booking) drove all the way from Melbourne and was told no way we cant do that meanwhile the car park was completely empty my partner (groom) had to argue with the guy for 10 mins just to be able to leave the car there which was confirmed months earlier.

When guests arrived they were surprised to be spread all over the motor and not kept together being a group (this could be due to the room types booked).

One room found a black spider in the bed
All rooms said dealing with the manager was unpleasant and he was very rude.
My grandmother had a family room and before 10am (checkout) they had all the bags ready out the front to go and everyone was dressed except my grandma and the manager was at the door trying to push her out she said to him that she would be ready by 10am and it was rude for him to already be at the door chasing people out as it wasn't 10am - he replied with "Well your a woman aren't you" implying she would take a long time to get ready! i can not believe a manager would speak to a paying guest like this and that he was chasing people out before checkout.

All in All im very disappointed and embarrassed i selected this place for my family and friends, if the manager wasn't so rude and would be more accommodating it could be a good place.

I myself work at a 4/12 star hotel in Melbourne and understand policies and procedures but if our managers acted and treated guest this way they wouldn't have a job. I couldn't believe this manager is so rude to his guests and word of mouth is the best return business and i have nothing nice to say.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaznShell, Manager at Healesville Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review even though you yourself did not stay here. There was no argument about leaving the car only that we were not aware of any arrangement made to do so.
You are correct when you say your wedding guests were spread around due to the room types.
It is regrettable that someone found a spider and for that we apologise considering 4 weeks prior the rooms and exterior had been professionally sprayed which is done on a regular basis.
Due to your wedding being on a Thursday we did have other guests staying that night as well and it was unfortunate for them that your guests were rude enough to play music from a car and talk outside their rooms. We were woken up at 12.15AM by a phone call from one of these regular guests asking us to please ask them to be quiet so they could get some sleep. Another guest told us the next morning that he was woken at 2AM and they were still making noise.
While we were not "very chirpy" the next morning as one of your guests noted who would be when we have people stay who have a total disregard for others.

Barry & Shelley
Managers
Healesville Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Healesville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
10.4 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
10.6 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
12.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#2 of 3 in Healesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maroondah View Motel
Maroondah View Motel
#3 of 3 in Healesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healesville Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healesville Motor Inn

Property: Healesville Motor Inn
Address: 45 Maroondah Hwy, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Healesville Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Healesville Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healesville Motor Inn Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing