We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyrebird cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lyrebird cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended. 2 lovely cottages in cleared garden, set in beautiful bush. The lyrebirds are magnificent! Great calling, and display. Stools for kitchen bench at just the right height now! We'd love to come back and we'll be telling friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tjlinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for one night in early Jan 2014 in the Mountain Ash Cottage (the lower of the two).

The cottage was beautiful and well equipped. The location was scenic and peaceful. Highly recommended.

To get there, it's a 15-20 minute drive from Healesville.

The cottage retains an old fashioned charm, but is built with modern conveniences like a spa bath and a quality kitchen. There's a fireplace with wood provided, and a balcony amidst a beautiful garden. The view is partly obscured by the treeline (from the Mountain Ash Cottage at least) but it is nonetheless very scenic.

They left a small home made cake, with an accompanying note wishing us a happy anniversary. We felt this was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed three nights in Mountain Ash Cottage (the lower of the two units) in mid-October. Amongst the best, if not the best, cottage style accommodation we have stayed in worldwide. The location is beautiful in a clearing in the woods and the cottage was fantastically well-appointed.

Owners Stewart and Tessa really seem to have thought about things from the guests point of view and, whilst the weather was not kind to us, we always looked forward to returning to the property and a nice log fire at the end of the day. So many small touches really impressed from the electric blankets and hot water bottle to a kitchen which seemed to have everything needed (when so often you find yourself having to compromise if you want to cook dinner in self catering accommodation).

We expect to be back, hopefully in drier weather so we can explore the forest and use the BBQ.

Room Tip: Mountain Ash cottage seems as though it probably has the better view but it really does seem to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi666Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandenong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Omg it was an amazing place
All the small things that they put made the world of difference
Cozzy comfy and breath taking views
I will be coming back there again
And recommend it to ally friends and family
Thank you again x
Turks ...,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The most relaxing time I have had in a long, long time. Only problem was we only stayed one night. We'll be back, next time for two or three nights. My husband and I stayed in Silver Wattle Cottage and it was just perfect. Views across to Melbourne's skyline in the distance; beautiful maple and liquidamber trees outside our bedroom window. So private and quiet. I thought Lyrebird Cottages was just a romantic name, but we saw 2 lyrebirds in the evening and 3 the following morning. Hosts Tessa and Stewart couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming, but are not at all intrusive. They have provided everything you could possibly want for your stay. The CDs and books are a great touch. It was so good to curl up on the very comfy couch in front of a cosy fire reading one of the many books available (and which I brought home after leaving the $5 required in the honesty box) And the spa bath was divine! I can't recommend it highly enough. And just a word about the road........someone commented that it was rather scary......My husband and I were on motorcycles and although Nyora Road is gravel it is is good condition and virtually no traffic. Moora Road itself is only very short. This was a bit corrugated, but we were fine and if you were in a car I can't see that it would be any problem at all. I could go on and on about this place, but you really need to find out for yourself how wonderful it is.

Room Tip: I really don't think either cottage would be better than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was the most relaxing week my wife and myself have had for a long time.If you are looking to chill out, Lyrebird Cottages rates among the best around.With friendly hosts, well appointed accommodation and some of the best views of the Yarra valley and Melbourne skyline you won't find better. All the little extras like the beautiful breakfast to the great book shelf and CD collection as well as the drawing paper with the set of great pencils made our week perfect. Thanks Stewart & Tessa.

Room Tip: Top Cottage if you can get it has the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brilyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

What an amazing place to stay! It was so peaceful and relaxing, the perfect place for a weekend escape. The owners were fantastic, we were greeted by them on arrival and left to enjoy the place by ourselves but very helpful when it come to places to eat in Healesville. As there are only 2 cottages on the property we were unaware anyone else on the property. The breakfast provisions were great and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was the perfect compliment to our Hot Air Ballooning experience as we got to enjoy a spectacular afternoon and evening on the balcony looking back towards Melbourne and as night fell a spectacular vision of lights appeared. Should we get the opportunity to venture back to the Yarra Valley I'd stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healesville
14.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
10.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
7.8 mi away
Myers Creek Cascades
Myers Creek Cascades
#2 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#1 of 3 in Healesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
11.1 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
Tuck Inn Yarra Valley
#1 of 21 in Healesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrebird cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrebird cottages

Property: Lyrebird cottages
Address: 140 Moora Rd, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Healesville
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two cottages on 10 acres of gardens and forest. Each cottage is private and separate and each has a great view across the valley and down to Melbourne city over 50 km's away.The cottages are built to the same design and high standard. Recycled Australian timber and mudbrick internal walls combine in a modern light filled space to create a peaceful and warm retreat ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lyrebird Cottages Healesville, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing