We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Koroit B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Charming home away from home”
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in August with friends whilst touring the Great Ocean Road.

This lovely guest house was once a convent which has been tastefully converted into a guest house. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated with items collected from the owner's travels around the world and items belonging to her family, and even beautiful paintings by the owner Vivienne herself. Each room in the house has a theme- there was the China Room, the Peacock Room, the Dog Room...

Our room was large and very comfortable. It had a large comfy bed, air conditioning, a lounge area and a big bathroom with a big tub and a double shower.

The entire house is so beautiful and cosy you could easily spend all your time in there relaxing in one of the rooms reading, watching the many DVDs available or just simply chilling out n listening to music with your loved ones.

Breakfast was served in 2 different rooms while we were there, each one gorgeously decorated like the rest of the house. Breakfast was delicious! The eggs were done in any style you choose from eggs from the chickens in the backyard. Vivienne came to chat with us each morning and offer advice on what to do and where to dine the rest of the day. If you're a dog lover, you can ask to meet the resident dogs- a beautiful black standard poodle and an equally gorgeous black labradoodle, both extremely affable, just like their owners. They are usually kept in the family's private quarters in consideration of guests who may be pet-shy.

We were all sad to leave at the end of our trip and would return in a flash if we're ever in that neck of the woods again. We wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who wants a stay in a place which is rich in character and who enjoys the warm, cosy hospitality of home. We can't imagine that anyone would have anything to complain about this place at all. Thanks a million, Vivienne!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    7
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This former nunnery has been fastidiously restored and yet also converted and furnished to a very high standard. The furnishings are very individual, reflecting eclectric and refined personal tastes and collections, including items from India and other areas and eras. This B&B is well ahead of most 5 star hotels (without the big hotels' unwanted glitzy foyers, expensive, uninteresting breakfasts and room service), yet retains the personal B&B touch provided by Dawn and Bill. We did not meet Vivienne, the owner, but her interests are evident for all to see in the furnishings and collected items around the property. Facilities include high quality beds and bed linen, ultra modern and generous bathrooms, large baths, double shower facilities (in our room at least), lounge settings within rooms, wi-fi and TV . We stayed in room 5. Only one room appeared to be more the size of a conventional B&B - smallish. The others are more appropriately to be seen as suites. The breakfasts are excellent, with real cooking taking place and local produce being featured. The property has superlative lounges, dining rooms, the restored chapel and many other features. It is well placed for Koroit and Tower Hill, Warrnambool, Killarney and Port Fairy. The much loved Mickey Bourke's pub is a stroll away. The pricing competes with major resorts and needs to be considered in that light. But this may be a limiting factor for many.

Room Tip: If indulging yourself, which is what this property is ideal for, avoid the smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaapcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

While that building is interesting and the décor flamboyant, the service is timid, at times amateurish and not at the level of luxury establishment but more the type of B&B where you rent a room in a someone’s house for the night. The place has potential but more emphasis on service is needed to make it a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed one night in this luxury B&B while on a driving tour of the Grampians and the Great Ocean Road in October. The house is a very well restored convent with huge rooms and a lovely garden. Our hostess was very welcoming, and was clearly very proud of their work in creating a truly luxurious B&B. The decor, while true to the luxurious theme, was just a little too much for our taste - a bit over the top, if you will. But it was certainly very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. The eggs bendict with salmon, and also the stewed pears were real highlights. The environment around the B&B was extraordinarily peaceful and quiet - almost to the point of being unnerving. Perhaps it was the time of year, but we hardly saw another soul on our evening walk to the one nearby restaurant. One great advantage, though, is the nearness to the Tower Hill Wildlife Refuge, which is a really interesting volcanic crater with wetlands and a mini-mountain inside. Overall, a nice place to stay, and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet get-away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethesdaTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We booked 2 enchanting rooms at this historical converted convent & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There are only 5 bedrooms varying in size but all equally beautiful with stunning bathrooms, the finest linen & best of all, 'blackout' drapes on the windows for a great sleep-in & heated towel rails! Although more luxury b&b than boutique hotel, the owner & her parents could not have done more for us. Fabulous fresh eggs from their free range chooks produced a delicious Benedict!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddlers0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Beautiful old building that has been renovated very well with lovely bedrooms, comfy beds and well appointed bathrooms. Dawn who I think manages the place looked after us very well and cooks a stellar breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shooshoo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My husband and I were given a weekend gift voucher which we used recently. We thought the venue was great and the hosts accommodating and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble and the home cooked breakfasts were delicious. We had a very relaxing weekend and found the host couple very friendly and happy to give out information about businesses in Koroit and Port Fairy when asked.. Would definately recommend to all our friends looking to stay in that area

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcj29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koroit
8.8 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#7 of 28 in Warrnambool
740 reviews
3.9 mi away
High View Family Cottages
0.8 mi away
Birch House & Studio
Birch House & Studio
#1 of 3 in Koroit
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: 55 Anzac Ave, Koroit, Victoria 3282, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Koroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Koroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saint Patrick's Luxury Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patrick's is a beautifully restored convent located in the historic town of Koroit at the end of the Great Ocean Road, in between the towns of Port Fairy and Warrnambool. More like a boutique hotel than a b & b. It is has five guestrooms all individually decorated with ensuites. There is a guest lounge, formal dining room, billiard room with full size table, library, breakfast room and courtyard with summer house. It is located in 2 acres of park like gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Saint Patrick's Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing