We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Satisfied” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yarra Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yarra Valley Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lilydale
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong
2 reviews
“Very Satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

After a three night stay my wife and I could not have been any more pleased with our decision to book into this motel. We felt we received value for money with our accommodation. We were also provided with an added bonus in the form of very considerate and helpful hosts who were prepared give that little extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
46
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

stayed overnight for a wedding in the area, we are from melbourne but live on the peninsula so to avoid the long drive home we stayed there, the rooms are clean and tidy a little outdated for the price, but the room has everything you need and the twin is spacious with a big bathroom.
The best thing about the hotel is the very friendly staff they made it a joy and when we asked for advise on where to eat breakfast he sent us to the nicest cafe (paperbark cafe), would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlajane42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We booked the motel for a 1 night stay. Unfortunately during the booking process online I did make a mistake and the booking date was wrong. I received a call if we were still showing up, to discover the mistake. It was very courteous of them to call, instead of charging a "no show" immediately. They didn't have a standard room, but they offered us the spa room for a 180A$. We only had to pay the difference (70A$). The roomrate is quite high for a motel, but we were happy they offered this service.
Upon arrival we found out the reverse cycle heater/airco wasn't working. Therefore it was difficult to heat the room. There was nothing else we could do about, since reception was closed and they left our key in the room (we arrived after 2100 hours). We weren't able to heat up the room, since the only thing present was a little portable heater.
The room was quite big, with a whopping LCD screen. However the room really looked outdated and need some LTC. We thought the price for this room is far too much. We considered taking a hot bath (since we now had the spa room) however the spa wasn't very attractive, looked really hot and there was still some water in it. It just is a very old, unattractive spa, and the bathroom looks run down too.
The room and the sheets etc. were clean, the bathroom wasn't attractive, heating didn't work and we haven't been the first to mention it, while the heater was on 33 when we arrived and it was still cold in the room. The fan of the reverse cycle was also broken. We mentioned it in the morning, but they didn't really seem to be doing anything about or acknowledged our discomfort.
Location is good, the service was good, if I would have stayed in a standard room for 110A$ it would have been okay. Now I think I was overcharged and I would say the spa room isn't worth that money and you might be disappointed if you think you will have a bit of luxury.
Having said that, they were kind to not charge us the room for the unintentional "no show". So I guess they have good service, I just hope they refurbish the rooms and update the spa - since this was not up to scratch.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 year old son to visit Puffing Billy, Healesville Sanctuary and some wineries on our 10 day vacation to Melbourne. We had stayed for a few nights in a big city hotel where the service was "cold" and very slow.
When I arrived at this hotel, the owner was happy to chat and share his knowledge about the area. When we realised that it will be a tight squeeze to fit 2 adults and a toddler on a queen sized bed, the owner was quick (he actually ran over) to provide us with a portable cot at no extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

This motel has large, modern, well-equipped rooms, and spacious bathroom. The rooms are spotlessly clean and being there in winter the heating was both effective and quiet. Being of brick construction the rooms are very quiet. So much so we ended up extending our stay to a couple of nights. Parking is at the door. The motel is central to the main Lilydale shopping centre and within walking distance to the best pub meal at the Crown Hotel. It's also a good base for visiting Olinda and the Dandenongs. We highly recommend the Yarra Valley Motel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughingKookaburra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilydale
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
6.1 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.7 mi away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
9.0 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Motel

Property: Yarra Valley Motel
Address: 420 Main St, Lilydale, Victoria 3140, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Lilydale
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lilydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yarra Valley Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yarra Valley Motel is situated at the gateway to the Yarra Valley.A perfect location to visit the many wineries, or other attractions the region has to offer.The motel has a variety of rooms from standard queen rooms, twin rooms and family rooms to deluxe spa rooms, ideal for both the corporate and leisure traveler.All of our rooms offer affordable comfort and cleanliness.We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Yarra Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing