We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Dinner”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallacoota Hotel Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

There is a lounge in front of the open fire in the middle of the bistro was a good spot for pre dinner drinks. Lots of menu options for entree and mains. We had the salmon and a large seafood platter for one. Sadly the bar only takes cash but meals can be put on credit cards - obviously this means a tab system for meals and drinks (which is convenient for customers) cannot be run. Service staff were friendly and worked well under a reasonably high customer workload.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llewellyn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
16
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
geelong
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a number of meals here while holidaying in Mallacoota. Found meals here very hit and miss. If you dined at the hotel on their theme nights meals were great. They obviously had planned well in advance for crowds and lots of people turned up so they were well prepared for a big night and the meals were great. If you dined on another night or at a lunch time though the meals were a bit average. Over all it was good though, this is a holiday spot so it probably depends a lot on what time of year you are there. Meal serves are generous and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanKel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We ducked into the MHM for a quick lunch on a week day. We ordered the schnitzel sandwich and the vegie lasagne off the lunch menu.
Both were very well sized with chips on the side, so provided pretty good value given the remoteness of Mallacoota.
Meals came out in no time at all which was great. Schnitzel sanga was a winner and very filling (didn't eat the chips) but unfortunately the vegie lasagne was cold in the middle which disappointed my partner somewhat and she left part of her meal
Overall a good experience and would recommend others to pop in. Good little beer garden out the back

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hailsfromHighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Checked in asking for a room for four was quoted a price of $135 for a three star or $145 for four star.
When almost registered the price went up to $180 as there were four of us, then reduced to $170 when queried. We were told this was for 4 star room. Room very tired definitely not 4 star.
Plumbing problems ensued and when sorting these out told room only 3 star. Owner told us to sort it with reception, not his problem. Make sure you get all details and view room before checking in.

Room Tip: Look before you leap into a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed one night on our way north. The hotel staff were pleasant and friendly, the room was clean, the water hot, the price reasonable. The bistro was busy but the food came quickly and a good portion for this hungry traveller. The early morning walk down by the water and then through the caravan park was interesting: birdsong, people fishing, pelicans on show.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bistro end on weekends I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjm286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2013 when Mallacoota is at its busiest. This small town expands from something like 800 people to more than 10 times that many people. So it's hardly surprising that the hotel was a little hectic. We had two 3* rooms. They were fine albeit basic. We ate in the 'bistro' - the food was good and the wine was great value. If you want luxury then look elsewhere, but for value for money we were very satisfied.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LuanshyaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived a little early for check in and told that our room would be ready a 2pm, when we went to check in at 2.30pm room was still not ready. Thankfully another staff member overheard and offered us a different room. The room was standard and oldish, the pool area which is right off all the rooms was clean and was welled used by us and other guests during our stay. If you are after somewhere to sleep this motel is fine, if you are after a nice room, then maybe choose something else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallacoota
0.9 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#2 of 13 in Mallacoota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gipsy Point Lodge
Gipsy Point Lodge
#2 of 2 in Gipsy Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Waters Cottages
Blue Waters Cottages
#3 of 13 in Mallacoota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gipsy Point Lakeside
Gipsy Point Lakeside
#1 of 2 in Gipsy Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallacoota Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallacoota Hotel Motel

Property: Mallacoota Hotel Motel
Address: 51-55 Maurice Ave, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing