We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - still wonderful”
Review of Karbeethong Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karbeethong Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It was just perfect to go back to Karbeethong lodge for a second time. Once again we experienced what is a very special place. Beautiful views, a verandah that you could sit on all day and enjoy the peace as well as a lounge area that has been decorated with a great deal of thought. Breakfast is provided and the kitchen has everything you need if you want to prepare your own meals. We will certainly go again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jedda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Karbeethong lodge is such a unique, beautiful place to stay. We spent 5 nights there.and loved the rooms and the location, the beautiful communal kitchen with individual fridges and adjoining dining room. The main sitting room with fireplace was the ideal place to finish a day with a glass of wine and a book and the front verandah looking over the blissful lake was the best way to begin the next. Don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view at the front of the lodge or even better - the studio apartment with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainCatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

everything about our stay here was wonderful , the beaches and the countryside are pristine and the view from the lodge over the lad is sublime , we really felt looked after by the staff and were completely comfotable , can't wait to come and stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexcraigphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The view from here is great, and you can bring your own food and cook for yourself if you want to. The rooms are small and cold. The managers supplied electric space heaters that helped a lot, but it simply was not cozy. The big dining room was also cold and damp feeling, and the fire really did not heat the large sitting room. Internet service was erratic. One might say this place has character, but it just felt tired to us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redstart3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I found our trip to Karbeethong one of the most relaxing and peaceful holidays we've had for such a long time. The environment is outstanding, the Lodge is perfect and the managers of Karbeethong were so considered in their approach. They created a particularly seamless and sophisticated experience where we really felt at home. Can't wait to back there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our quilting group (9 ladies) enjoyed a weekend stay here. Even thought the weather was cold, the open fire kept us warm in the lounge, and the heater in the dining/kitchen area was efficient.
All the rooms were attractively decorated, bathrooms are basic but adequate. Our room was very cold, but asked the owners for a heater and an apology was made that one wasn't already in the room and a heater was delivered quickly.
Breakfast was lovely. Home made stewed pears and stewed prunes, a selection of cereal, yoghurt , toast, and juice. The kitchen is amazing with everything you would need to cook up a storm.
Beautiful views, lovely walking track from lodge into town. I would thoroughly recommend this place for any group stay.

Room Tip: The front rooms all have lovely views, rooms further away from the living areas would be quieter, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leightonfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here in November and had a great time. The hotel was located with excellent views across the inlet, the hotel owners were very warm and welcoming and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The rooms are fairly basic and there was no tv in the bedroom which was great, because it helped us appreciate the natural beauty of the area. There was also a lovely big lounge with large recliners, an open wood fire and lots of books and board games. A very relaxing retreat and I would proactively recommend to friends.

To add to the enjoyment of our stay, Eden which is a short 60 minute drive away offers fantastic whale watching opportunities in October and November and we had some excellent experiences with calves learning to breach and tail slap.

Back at Mallacoota, there were some incredible beaches and a good selection of eateries.

I would thoroughly recommend this location to someone looking for a relaxing break away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W2AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallacoota
1.2 mi away
Shady Gully Caravan Park
Shady Gully Caravan Park
#3 of 13 in Mallacoota
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Wave Oasis
The Wave Oasis
#1 of 1 in Mallacoota
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Waters Cottages
Blue Waters Cottages
#4 of 13 in Mallacoota
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Gipsy Point Lodge
Gipsy Point Lodge
#2 of 2 in Gipsy Point
50 reviews
5.2 mi away
Gipsy Point Lakeside
Gipsy Point Lakeside
#1 of 2 in Gipsy Point
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
A'Wangralea Mallacoota
A'Wangralea Mallacoota
#5 of 13 in Mallacoota
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbeethong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbeethong Lodge

Address: 16 Schnapper Point Dr, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Karbeethong Hotel Mallacoota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing