We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Way Out For Bad Manners” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansfield Zoo

Mansfield Zoo
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Mansfield
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long Way Out For Bad Manners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

When we started our journey out of Melbourne we didn't realise how far out of the way this zoo is but had a day to kill and kids were excited about the lion feeding. We arrived to find no one around although open, the kids then came running saying they had been told off by a "horrid old woman", my husband went in search of the person to see what the problem was only to find it was the owner, she was really abrasive, later spoke to a lovely young man who worked there who said they were no problem at all and gave them some feed for the deers. Kids loved the animals but it kind of spoilt the whole experience and felt her eyes were on us the whole time. I realise it is her zoo and home, but if you are going to invite tourists on to your property and charge them for it some good manners wouldn't go amiss. Apart from the lions you can get this experience - with a smile - just about anywhere in Australia.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank chloentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    55
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must for young families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We enjoyed our visit to the zoo. We had 5 kids all between 11-15yrs old and even they enjoyed themselves. It was a beautiful day and the kids just loved all the animals in there. The highlight was the Lion and petting the dingoes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Roaming animal zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

First off, if your fuzzy, bring an extra sock. When they tell you to wear the loan gum boots even if the ground is bone dry, wear the gumboots. Before you know it, your shoe could be sinking on mud.

The things you could experience here could cost you a fortune if you go to Melbourne Zoo.

Bring the family or visiting friends and buy the big bucket of feed.

Don't forget the camera and the sunscreen as well.

Ask about the lion feeding time as well before you get there and you'll have the experience of a lifetime.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A lovely, small, family-oriented zoo. We spent a glorious afternoon enjoying the animals at this zoo. It is well priced and looks after the smaller details - such as providing gumboots. The kids (all 6 of them aged 6 to 18) loved feeding the deer, kangaroos, emus and llamas. Another highlight was patting the dingoes. The staff are engaging and their various animal feeding and talks are interesting and informative. It really is enjoyable to visit a small scale operation such at this and get up close to the animals and their carers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank newt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Zoo experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you love to be up close to nature and feed & pat the animals you will love it here. Lots of fun - purchasing a feed bucket is a must - you will then be very popular with the animals. Gumboots are supplied - and needed, as it is quite wet and boggy.
$44 for a family with 2 children was great value for the laughs you get from the cheeky animals. Lovely to see so many joeys in the mother Kangaroo's pouches - just gorgeous.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JP3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mansfield Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Mansfield Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing