We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and needs a renovation”
Review of Highton Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mansfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highton Manor
Ranked #9 of 9 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in stables motel. Rooms very basic and dark. Dirty cups and dishes left in small kitchenette which made making a cup of coffee undesirable. Sheets and towels were clean, but rooms could definitely be renovated. Friends stayed in the house, but were given a double bed for their two adult sons when they had booked two single beds. No discount offered to any of us for the inconveniences.

Room Tip: Check all dishes clean and if you need to put on make up for an event, you can barely see anything i...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Highton Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We held a special dinner here for close family and friends and stayed in the beautiful upstairs rooms and the stables motel rooms. It was all perfect. Joe, the host, epitomises welcoming enthusiasm and helpfulness. He and his wife think carefully about the menu for their excellent meals and they have a great wine cellar, including their own home made wines ( so good that the groom ended up sleeping on the couch!!!)
The bedrooms are all different , with distinctive characteristics and lovely views - some of Mt Buller in the distance. The younger guests were pretty happy out the back in the motel rooms. The grounds are very pretty. You could walk into Mansfield, but it's easier to drive. There are cheaper places to stay in Mansfield, but Highton Manor is more historical - well, in Aussie terms, anyway - 19 th century. The Prime Minister, Julia Gillard, and her partner, Tim Matheson, have eaten here - there's a photo somewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We discovered Highton Manor a couple of months ago and are back for our second visit. Beautiful old house and lovely gardens you can spend all day relaxing in. We stayed in the motel rooms in the converted stable and they were basic but clean and comfortable. Dinner in the dining room is a must! 4 courses of delicious Italian food for $48! We are vegetarian and they made up special courses for us. The hosts are lovely and welcoming. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nriv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We decided to visit Mansfield and the high country on a whim one afternoon and before we knew it we were jetting off to explore the beautiful area. We arrived at Mansfield in the middle of a tropical thunderstorm and needed a place to stay. We had read about Highton Manor in our Lonely Planet and after arriving and meeting our host we were set on staying.

We decided to stay in the stables which is more like a motel rather than the grand rooms inside as we were just really looking for a bed more than anything. Our host was very friendly and lovely and we instantly felt at home. The highlight of the stay was the amazing breakfast the next morning. We had the full works, eggs, toast, lovely fresh spinach from the garden, beautiful home made preserves and all of the tea we could muster.

Highton Manor is a lovely place with lovely people, definitely stop by if you are in Mansfield!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
13.7 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
1.6 mi away
Delatite Hotel
Delatite Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mansfield
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Country Holiday Park
High Country Holiday Park
#1 of 14 in Mansfield
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alzburg Resort
Alzburg Resort
#2 of 3 in Mansfield
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mansfield Motel
Mansfield Motel
#1 of 3 in Mansfield
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banjo's All Seasons Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highton Manor

Address: 140 Highton Lane, Mansfield, Victoria 3722, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range: £1 - £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highton Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing