We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, only a few little faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moorings at Metung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here in late January. We stayed in one of the double storey apartments at the back of the property. While they don't have the views of the marina, they still have nice views of the beach and water. They are also much quieter than the front facing marina apartments.

The apartment was well furnished, with lots of nice paintings, maps, etc to look at, which added a nice feel. The beds were comfortable enough, the kitchen was well stocked and there was plenty of seating throughout the kitchen/diner/outdoor areas.

While the upstairs has a air conditioner, the downstairs (where the bedroom are) doesn't. While this wasn't an issue for us as it wasn't that hot, it would be an issue if you are staying here on hot days. There are fans in the cupboards, but they really need air conditioning downstairs to make it comfortable on hot nights.

The pool was nice, with a spa, indoor heated pool and outdoor pool. The only issue with the pool area was the lack of policing of the rules. While the rules stated no children by themselves and no running/jumping, there was no policing of this.

We did not use the tennis courts, but they were very popular. The BBQ areas were extremely clean and easy to use, highly recommended.

We ate at the Metung Hotel twice, which was very nice and recommended.

Overall our stay was enjoyable, but with a few little faults.

Room Tip: The double storey apartments at the back of the property are nice, quiet and similar to the marina f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for The Moorings at Metung
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a great welcome and were offered two rooms to consider. We chose an upstairs one with great views across the inlets towards Raymond Island. The room was spotless with beautiful linen and a large bathroom and an immediately used shower. We enjoyed strolling about the little peninsular looking at the boats and identifying the birds. We both slept well but next time would probably opted for breakfast in the bakery down the street rather than the offering that was brought to our room. There are a number of restaurants nearby and we really enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mzungu_tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Moorings apartments are a great place to stay in Meetung. They are right on the water front overlooking the marina. The rooms are spotless, and very well appointed. it was delightful to sit on the verandah with a glass of wine as the sun set. Staff were most helpful and very welcoming. Very close to restaurants and the Meetung pub, where we ate one evening

Room Tip: We preferred a ground floor, as the verandah was shaded
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the first floor. It was very spacious and well appointed with a lovely view and spotless clean.
Owners very pleasant and helpful.
Metung is a small village with a few shops and restaurants, the Hotel is near the end of the road and beautifully located on the shores of the water.

We only stayed one night on our way to Melbourne but would have happily stayed for longer. Highly recommended very good value for the money we have payed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Only here for one night. Very nice welcome at check in and a very helpful member of staff who gave us good retaurant recommendations and at check out good onward travel advice. Room self catering and although motel style well appointed and comfortable and you can pre order breakfast which is delivered to your door if you do not fancy getting provisions and cooking. Swimming pool and tennis courts all on complex so all in all a very good place to stay. Very good nights sleep and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for 5 days over the Christmas period at The Moorings in Metung. The unit was exactly as described. Light, modern and really well stocked. The unit was spotlessly clean. The staff were warm, welcoming and totally professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. Just a stones throw from the restaurants and shops yet remarkably peaceful. Was well air conditioned for the heat and a pleasant drive to Lakes Entrance and other amenities. A really wonderful spot and we would definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water at the front don't get the afternoon sun. The motel units, altho...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwitraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Recently stayed 4 nights with family in a 2 bed town house. Whilst at the back of the property so therefore not looking over the bay but lake king instead we preferred this as we got the afternoon sun bathing our balcony with great sunsets. The unit itself very clean with everything you need,except for one thing...no air conditioning downstairs,including the bedrooms. It is advertised has having reverse cycle air conditioning on the website but fails to mention this is only in the upstairs living area. I would expect for the price they charge they need to rectify this as the bedrooms would be stifling in the hot weather. All other amenities nice including the 2 pools and spa.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank diannefmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metung
7.2 mi away
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
7.2 mi away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
5 Knots
5 Knots
#4 of 9 in Metung
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
McMillans of Metung Resort
0.6 mi away
Metung Holiday Villas
0.1 mi away
Metung Waters
Metung Waters
#2 of 4 in Metung
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings at Metung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings at Metung

Address: 44 Metung Rd | Bancroft Bay, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Metung
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Metung
Price Range: £96 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings at Metung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your The Moorings at Metung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings At Metung Hotel Metung
The Moorings Hotel Metung
The Moorings Resort Metung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing