We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rustic cottage by Gippsland Lakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildwood Cottages

Wildwood Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Metung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildwood Cottages
A TripAdvisor Member
“A rustic cottage by Gippsland Lakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2006

We wanted a place a million miles from the hassles of life in the city and we found it in this wonderful original rustic homestead on a farm in Gippsland Lakes in rural Victoria. It was self-contained which was no problem as there are couple of major supermarkets in nearby Lakes Entrance (we brought our food anyway) and some lovely little restaurants in the Village of Metung about 20 minutes away. The views across the lake from the farm were breathtaking, especially in the early am when the water was glassy and teaming with wildlife (especially Swans and Pelicans). There is also a jetty available for fishing or I assume to tie up a boat? I have never slept so well (must have been the sea air!). We brought our bikes with us to utilise the tracks which have been created throughout the bush in the area after they lifted the old railway tracks. We started our ride near Bairnsdale about a 25-30 minute drive from the farm, although there are probably places closer where you can join the track. A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing couple of days on a farm!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2005

What a disappointment. The advertising and web site made Appletree Cottage at Wildwood sound like a lovely little homely place on a huge farm near the beach with a private jetty. What you actually get is a run down manky 3 roomed place with no hotwater for a shower, other peoples leftovers for breakfast and a heap of old furniture that looked like it had been found on the street during hard rubbish collection week. We arrived in the dark after having problems finding the place and had to carry a small child, a cot, a pram and all our luggage from the top of a small hill over wet grass to the cottage as there was nowhere to park near the door. The place looked as though it hadnt been cleaned properly for some time with spider webs and dust everywhere. Breakfast provisions were a couple of vita brits and some sort of puffed wheat stored in old dirty coffee jars. The vegemite was a half used jar and the jam was put into an old jar with a rusty lid that was dated 1996. Stale bread and milk in a dirty jug with floaties topped of this breakfast offering. The bed was extremely hard and the wooden toilet seat had a huge crack at the front...so a guy would have to be extremely careful when sitting down. A heap of magazines from the early 90s and some dirty old toys were provided to entertain you and the kids during your stay. As for the beach and the jetty, well, I can't tell you about that as we left early the next morning forfeiting the monies we had paid for the second night.


Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baangyarnda, owner/mamager at Wildwood Cottages, responded to this review, 4 August 2006
Wildwood Cottages Metung, vic

Dear Sirs, Nearely 12 months has passed since our holiday cottage was adversely described by a disgruntled client which I notice is still there although subsequently several of our happy customers have sent in good reviews. I would like to explain to you what happened when these people arrived on that fateful afternoon and which was not mentioned. We had had a mini typhoon here earlier in the day and the occupiers of the cottage were visiting friends on Raymond Island, Paynesville about 25 miles away but had said they would be back by 11 prior to departure back to their home in Melbourne. About 9.30 we had this terrific storm which raced across the lake and gave us a direct hit with a wind up to about 95 mph. lashings of rain and trees and objects flying everywhere. At 11 there was no sign of our cottage occupants and at 12 the cleaner arrived but of course couldn't get in as they had the key and we did not have a spare. At 2 they arrived back --the ferry from the island was unable to cross initially because of the storm-- and rushed to finish their packing etc at the same time the cleaner returned and was able only to change the bed when the new clients arrived. As it was too wet for them to park right outside the cottage and become bogged on the slope they were extremely annoyed, refused any help offered from us -got into the cottage and slammed the door in our faces. When they left they immediately contacted Travel Auctions and demanded (and got) their money back.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Metung hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metung hotels
0.0 mi away
The Moorings at Metung
0.0 mi away
Metung Waters
Metung Waters
#2 of 4 in Metung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
McMillans of Metung Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Metung Holiday Villas
0.0 mi away
5 Knots
5 Knots
#4 of 9 in Metung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edgewater Terraces at Metung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Cottages

Property: Wildwood Cottages
Address: PO Box 115 | Gippsland Lakes, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Metung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Metung
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing