We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Milawa Muscat Retreat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milawa Muscat Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Milawa B&B and Inns
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Peter and Denise run an excellent Retreat and the bike trail is conveniently located adjacent to the property. We were delighted by Peter's warm welcome, and even more delighted with the very spacious accommodation. It is modern, very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and in a very pleasant rural setting. Arriving in mid-afternoon, we still had time to pedal our bikes around to Brown Bros for some wine tasting, the Milawa Cheese Factory to taste and buy cheeses, and to a number of other local producers not forgetting the local hotel for a well earned beer. When we returned to our accommodation we were able to sit out on the verandah overlooking the vineyards and enjoyed a pre-dinner drink, before Peter arrived with our delicious dinner - an outstandingly good pork main course, followed by a delightful desert of meringue nest and berries. Great Chef!

We left the Retreat early in the morning to start a 3 day cycling tour and Peter and Denise were only too happy to provide us with a very hearty breakfast prior to us starting our journey to Myrtleford. Peter and Denise we look forward to staying with you again next time we are down your way. Excellent accommodation and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A charming resort, at a low price. Stayed there for one night, and wished i had time to spend another night. The owners were lovely and helpful, service was great, and the rooms were very clean. The complimentary breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dellsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

MIllawa Muscat on the main snow road outside of Millawa looks very exposed from the road and in need of r a few shade trees over the accommodation, but one you are there its all top quality, from the inviting greeting of the owners Peter & Denise who genuinely will accommodate you from a great cooked breakfast of what you design from their menu , to a special dinner if requested. The rooms were good sized with great Kings sized beds and . It is about 20 minutes walk into Milawa and 5 minutes further to Brown Brothers winery, and Peter even offered to drive us.

Room Tip: Units 3 & 5 come with a spa and unit 1 is designed for those with wheel chair needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrett___10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Absolutely lovely self contained units with excellent hosts. Peter and Denise can be as helpful as you require, whilst being completely uninvasive.

The accommodation, though described as a B&B, is a number of simple, clean, self-contained units, with the ability to park right next to your door. You can choose to have a lovely spa bath, or a room without. Plush king size beds make for a wonderful sleep and the seperate sitting room with views of the paddocks and mountains makes for a lovely resting place.

With so much to do in such a close distance, this is a perfect place to stay in a lovely, quiet country town. Brown Brothers vineyard (along with many others) are within a 2 mintue drive, as is the cheese factory, walkthrough apiaries and mustard shop.

Only negative was the expense of breakfast; an extra $50 per night is added to the room charge. Peter is a well known caterer in the area and I'm sure it would be absolutely delectable, but at such a high cost, we couldn't see the value.

Overall a delightful stay, highly recommended and no doubt we will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslexxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We've done this area numerous times and all I can say is shhh. Don't let everyone know that Peter does an amazing breakfast, the rooms are huge and spotlessly clean with parking right beside your door and that you feel welcome and relaxed from the time you arrive.

Nitty Gritty...huge cottage style accom with sitting room and separate bedroom, bathroom and toilet. Verandah with views over vineyards and cow paddocks ideal to watch the sunset or rise. Comfy king bed. Microwave for desperate self catering, small bar fridge and wineries cafes etc no more than 2km away

Negatives...ummmmmm...ahhhhh..maybe you need a bit more benchtop space in the micro stove area.....no not unless its easter and you deicide you should try to selfcater

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milawa
1.1 mi away
Lindenwarrah
Lindenwarrah
#1 of 1 in Milawa
311 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
16.6 mi away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Milawa Motel
Milawa Motel
#3 of 3 in Milawa
66 reviews
15.7 mi away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milawa Muscat Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milawa Muscat Retreat

Property: Milawa Muscat Retreat
Address: 1422 Glenrowan-Myrtleford Rd | (Snow Road), Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Milawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Milawa Muscat Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Milawa Muscat Retreat, providing modern, self contained, bed and breakfast accommodation in the centre of the Milawa Gourmet Region. Located on the bike track between Milawa and Oxley, and only minutes from both towns, our guests are well placed to easily access the Gourmet Region's many fine food and wine attractions. Local transport and bike hire are also available.We are located only 5 minutes from Brown Brothers and overlook their beautiful vineyards. We have a 4 star AAA rating, and are on site 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.Your hosts, Peter and Denise Hoppach, share between them a total of 70 years of hospitality experience, including 28 years of fine dining experience running the highly regarded Peter's Cellar 47 restaurant in nearby Wangaratta.As our guests, you will enjoy modern accommodation and delicious food, along with easy access to all that the Milawa Gourmet Region has to offer.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Milawa Muscat Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing