We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Degustation experience”

The Epicurean Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Milawa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Degustation experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

A pleasant destination to enjoy more than just lunch. The menu is well conceived and delightfully matched to a selection of Brown Brothers wines. Service is polite and attentive. If you are into fine food and wine tasting, then this is the place to visit. Take your time and satisfy the palate.

Helpful?
Thank RvO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    14
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best dining we've had in ages”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a menu that has been well thoughout and is executed in such a way that very little, if anything is left to question. The wine matching is spot on and the atmosphere and service is excellent. Highly recomment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For a long lunch”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Very good food matched with very nice local wines. The staff were very helpful and informative

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank happydaze462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a special experience”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Quite expensive, and you will possibly still be hungry when you leave, but your taste buds will think they are in heaven. The portions are mostly tiny but the food is exquisite and perfectly matched with the wines that are included in the price. My entree of Spiced cauliflower and cashew, quinoa, pomegranate & labneh - $22 was nothing more than a spoonful of cauliflower puree with a crumbly topping, a smear of pomegranate sauce and 2 tiny dollops of labneh but I am still dreaming of it and wishing the serving had been bigger (much bigger). In contrast, my 3 companions (2 of them had dined there twice before and knew their way around the menu) shared appetisers of a selection of Milawa Cheese with accompaniments 50g - $12, 100g - $19, 150g - $25, Warm marinated olives - $9 and a side of Hand cut chips - $9 which as well as all being superb were all served in such generous portions that I was able to sample them too.
Main courses are around $38 and were all small but delicious portions, just 2 large prawns being the main component of mine. Deserts were $16 and far too small and far too good to share even for someone like me who seldom eats desert.
Our lunch at the Epicurean Centre was a very special dining experience in lovely surroundings without being pretentious or stuffy. The staff were friendly, efficient and obliging even when coping with last minute changes to our order and special requests.Watching the little blue, splendid wrens hop about the garden while we ate added to our enjoyment and the whole experience is one I will long remember.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandylionlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

What I am really impressed with, other than the fabulous food, is that Brown Brothers would match wines with the food and it's included in the price.

If you are not that hungry, I would recommend ordering 2 entrees and one dessert as everyone else who ordered an entree and a main plus shared desserts were rolling out the door- the main is THAT BIG!

Overall we had a great time at The Epicurean Centre, the staff were friendly although the service in general is a bit slow.

If you wanted a break down of all the food we tried (and we pretty much tried the whole menu!), please visit my blog at pigouttravels.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/the-epicurean-centre-brown-brothers/

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigout_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Epicurean Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Epicurean Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing