We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome lunch !!”

The Epicurean Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Milawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here on Saturday , 28th June and...we come back here for lunch again on Monday, July 1st !!
Entree is good. Cured venison in red wine is the winner. The eye fillet cooked to perfection . Very good choice of menu. Good selections of wine to pair with entree and mains.
Would visit again !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    14
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Any excuse for a lazy lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Visited the Epicurean today with a group of Mansfieldians who love good food and wine and we were absolutely blown away with the quality and taste of the food not to mention the presentation. Congratulations to chef Doug Elder and his team. Also enjoyed the tasting session and of course came home with some interesting wines.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownBrothersWinery, Owner at The Epicurean Centre, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Milawa.
Caroline Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level Contributor
175 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in a LONG time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Looking for somewhere nice to eat for our mother's birthday and being away from home we started asking the locals (of Beechworth) where they would recommend for lunch. Everyone we spoke to from local shop owners to the lovely ladies at the tourist information centre all recommended Brown Brothers. So it was a no brainer. They were right. The food was divine and given we were a very diverse family group of 5 with very different taste buds it was even more impressive that each and every one of us left very happy with even more happy tummies. I had the gnocchi and I can honestly say it was the best I've ever eaten. Soft and silky with a beautiful combination of mushroom and nuts. YUM. I am salivating just thinking of it. Others had the pork, fish and chicken. All delectable and quite generous serves considering how reasonable the price and quality. The other thing I loved was they matched the food to the wine so you did not even have to think about it. You could of course chose something else if you like, which one of us did however the matching worked well and inclusive of the meal price unless of course you wanted more than a tasting. However for only an extra $4 I think this is a bargain. Overall the food was amazing. It is a rather large venue and with a few people in there can be noisy but I suspect we were probably just as loud and merry by the time we left. Outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownBrothersWinery, Public Relations Manager at The Epicurean Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your great review and we're so glad you had an enjoyable time on your Mum's birthday. I tried the gnocchi last week and agree with you that they are simply the best.
Caroline Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“only one problem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

That is , I dont get to come here enough and when I do, it's that lightbulb moment of: why dont we, as locals, come here more often?!! Plenty of people keep coming back and for good reason.
I have been out here friends many times and it's always always lovely. The setting is pretty - send the kids outside if they are rowdy or restless - there's room for them to play and you can see them whilst relaxing. The food is teamed with wines and I am happy to go along with this - someone else has done the study and the hard work so sit back and enjoy. Plenty of parking. You could ride from Wangaratta - it's a good established track now - pack some water and deodorant and you wont regret it. Otherwise drive or sleep nearby in one of the lovely B&Bs. best to plan and book ahead especially on a weekend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coburg, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is why we came to Milawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Well matched wines to our meals. Was all we had been told of it. Shame they didnt also have some of thge local beers we like.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank angie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownBrothersWinery, Public Relations Manager at The Epicurean Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our food and wine matching. We do have local beer available and are sorry if this wasn't communicated to you. We hope that on your next visit you will enjoy some Bridge Road beer as well as our fine wines.
Katherine Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Epicurean Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Epicurean Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing