We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend”

Steeples Mornington
Ranked #60 of 140 Restaurants in Mornington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was a regular visitor here several years ago and wanted to see the changes made. I was part of a group of 10 for a mid week lunch and it was very busy. Meals were ordered but the wait was unbelievably long, plus some choices were not available and substitutions were offered. The food was disappointing to say the least. Even the roast of the day was a machine cut slice of meat with dried up vegetables underneath. Could be so much better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“dont bother!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Visited this restaurant last Friday night as has recently been refurnished, the last time we went we said we would never go again! Well nothing much has changed apart from the decor-the staff are still increadably rude. We arrived to a a half full restaurant to be told there wre not seats available and there where not reservation signs on any of the tables,not even offered to sit at the bar to order a drink and wait. The head female manager just wanted us out and there was only myself and my husband.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigajina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bistro meal”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Steeples is next to Mornington Racecourse, and in addition to the restaurant it has a sports bar with TAB. We had a pleasant lunch in the patio area. Staff were welcoming and attentive. I found the food plain, which may suit their mainly older customer base, but I found rather bland.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food prep”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Turkish bread with cheese and garlic.The bread was cold as if it was just taken out of the fridge. The Carrots, Cauliflower and Brocolli that were served with the roast were still raw. The service was good the atmosphere is good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family orientated”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

There is good service here. Good atmosphere. Discount for seniors. The food is quite substantial. You won't be hungry when you leave and it's not expensive. Good value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steeples Mornington also viewed

Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mt Martha, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Steeples Mornington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing