We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flooded camp site and poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Flooded camp site and poor facilities”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We arrived to find our campsite flooded by the creek and were told by cabin dwellers the water had been even higher the day before. When we approached the office they said they didnt know it was flooded and there was nothing else available except a cabin. We had no option but to book the cabin for 3 nights which was not in our holiday budget. Even if the campsite was not flooded it would have been a small and cramped camp area. The whole park was very small and crowded and run down. The jumping pillow was small. The games room was dirty, unwelcoming and bare and the one lounge chair was very old and grotty. The kitchen was open on 2 sides allowing rain and wind to blow in and it was very cold and damp. We would never go back.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thankyou for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are extremely disappointed and apologise that you experienced such extreme inconvenience during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    68
    29
    9
    12
See reviews for
100
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morwell, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa for 5 nights and found it to be a very well equipped holiday unit. We were very close to the beach & just a walk over the bridge you were in San Remo where you had cafés,bakeries & a supermarket for all your needs. The park is very family orientated even though there were lots of kids riding bikes around and playing they were all having fun and not disturbing anyone. The park was very quiet at night with a curfew of no noise between 10pm & 7 am which made it good for sleeping. Great place to stay with kids. We will definitely be staying there again. ( we were there with my daughter & her family)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks Margaret for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. We definitely have a great location close to shops, the beach and cafes and eateries and we are pleased you enjoyed it. We are pleased to hear the kids enjoyed the great facilities the Park has to offer and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights with my family at this caravan park. A very well presented caravan park, clean and close to all the main attractions with only a minute walk to the beach. Recommend staying in the self contained on site cabins. They consist of 2 rooms great for a family with up to 4 children. Will be back for sure. My only concern is the leaking taps in the cabins bathroom and, mattress old and worn and pathways to beach is messy and needs some clearing and a tidying up.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussieguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the Parks facilities and great location but apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your concerns regarding the leaking taps, mattress and overgrown pathway to the beach have all been noted and passed onto our Grounds Staff to attend to. We're committed to providing the best experience to all our guests so we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I've just enjoyed to nights at this park and my family had a great time. Room and facilities very clean and staff helpful. We stayed in a room with no ensuite right next to the jumping pillow so were able to sit on our huge deck and watch the kids play. A huge bonus to this park is its proximity to the beach. It's a two minute walk through scrub.
The only disappointments I found was the tiny creaky double bed and the overgrown path to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophieastrid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thankyou for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are very proud of the facilities we provide including the jumping pillow and feedback from our guests is greatly valued and enjoyed. We have noted your concerns regarding the bed and overgrown vegetation along the path to the beach and will ensure our maintenance staff improve this for the future. Thankyou again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this park for one night in a campervan (powered site), paying $35.

The staff were friendly and easy/quick when checking in and out. In fact, we were late checking out and they didn't say anything.

The location was good, easy to find but a little out of the way for something to eat and the penguin parade.

The facilities were quite dirty (showers and toilets) and could do with more maintenance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thankyou for your comments on your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that our staff were helpful to you but apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We are always looking to improve so your concerns regarding the amenities have been passed onto Management and as such, we will look at improving our maintenance schedule so this does not occur in the future. Thankyou again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin which was pleasant enough.
Positives - well maintained park, nice central location, very friendly staff, jumping pillow very popular with all the kids, good roads for kids to ride on, electric blankets.
Negatives - we couldn't get the oven to work, layout of the kitchen not child friendly at all with the microwave and oven both very low and easy to open, no pool, could not provide portacot or high chair, expensive to hire linen, and found an empty condom packet under one of the beds!! Another negative was confusion over what linen to bring as blankets were provided for all the beds but we brought everything all the way from Sydney which was inconvenient and annoying when we got there and saw the blankets. With the high rates they charge why don't they just provide linen for free?? It could just be me but I am always amazed at the high price of caravan parks.
I have never stayed in a Big 4 caravan park before and the other members of my family I was travelling with seemed to think that perhaps this park was not up to quite the same standard of other Big 4s they have stayed in. In fact it's been a long time since I stayed in a caravan park at all and I thought it was fine. Perhaps though if I were to have this holiday again I would have looked into hiring a holiday house instead as that seemed to be a popular option on Phillip Island. The caravan park worked for us though as we had 3 families in 3 cabins.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_and_r_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location, and your feedback regarding our friendly staff and well maintained Park facilities is much appreciated. We also appreciate your comments regarding your concerns about the hire of linen. We apologise for the confusion and have taken on board your comments so we can improve our operations for the future. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to visit us again. Thankyou again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This park is in a good location with just a short walk to the beach and it has all the Big 4 type kids entertainment, peddle cars, jumping pillow, games room etc. The park is well off the main road, quiet and safe. We saw wallaby's grazing next to our cabin and lots of birds. The beach is clean and safe with no surf.

The standard of the park is not as good as some other big 4 parks that we have visited but is still OK. The cabin we had was a 2 bedroom, which are made by a caravan manufacturer and are very compact. The bathroom and toilet are tiny but you can use the shared camper facilities for a bit more room. The shared facilities are below Big 4 standard and in need of a renovation. The bunk room could not be any smaller with the bunks touching all 4 walls. The main bedroom has just enough room to squeeze down each side of the bed.

The reception was friendly and helpful, although we did not get a fair deal on our stay. We initially planned to stay just Saturday night but when we tried to book, the website would only allow a 2 night minimum. So I tried to book Friday and Saturday night but all the cabins were booked out on the Friday night. We could not stay Sunday night because of work and school and Friday night was not even available. I contacted the park via email and was told that the 2 night minimum was not flexible.

I thought the park must be very busy so I booked and paid for the 2 night minimum of $284.06 for Saturday & Sunday nights even though we could only stay 1 night. On Sunday morning the park had a mass exodus and was almost deserted by lunch time. At check out I queried the receptionist why we were forced to pay for the extra unused night when the park was empty. I was simply told it was park policy with no further explanation.

As with many things on Phillip Island the Big 4 overcharges simply because its a popular destination and it can get away with it.

Room Tip: If you have a family try the 3 bedroom cabin as the 2 bedroom cabins are to small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thankyou for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the Parks facilities and wildlife along with the beach which is close by. I apologise we didn't meet your expectations. We aim to make everyone's stay at Big4 Phillip Island Caravan Park a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We're committed to providing the best accommodation and service so we've taken your review on board to help us improve our operations. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
0.2 mi away
The Island Accommodation
7.6 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
8.3 mi away
Cowes Caravan Park
Cowes Caravan Park
#5 of 19 in Cowes
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
7.8 mi away
Amaroo Park
Amaroo Park
#1 of 19 in Cowes
189 reviews
7.6 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park

Property: BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
Address: 24 Old Bridge Dr, Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Newhaven
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park is nestled amongst the sand dunes of the Newhaven Beach in a natural landscape setting of trees and gardens, and is conveniently located within 500m of restaurants, cafes and shops. Our wide variety of accommodation, ranging from shady camping sites to our 3 bedroom Deluxe Villas, clean amenities and great family facilities will ensure an enjoyable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park Newhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing