We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild weekend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
Blackburn, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wild weekend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I visited my family here over the last weekend and while the park itself looks pretty, from the moment I reported in to the office on the saturday and was met by barking dogs (not good for a 'no pet' park) the feel of the park went downhill from there. There were a lot of young people very drunk and swearing loudly & profusely - obviously this is tolerated at this park. I felt awful leaving my elderly parents there amidst it all. Such a shame, the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and and experience and it is always great to hear how we are doing. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and setting but we are very sorry to read that you experienced discomfort during your visit with us. The feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    66
    28
    9
    12
See reviews for
95
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here on 6th-9th March 2014 the long weekend. Check in was handled by a very nice lady who said she had been there for only 1 week.( The only pleasantness we experienced there!) We rented a two bedroom cabin. When we opened the door the smell of sewage hit us like a brick, the floors were not clean looking and the couch was disgusting. We complained about the smell and were offered another cabin, however the smell of sewage was all around the Park. Our friend arrived later that night (staff were notified of this before we checked in as it was a last minute decision) The following day our friend was spoken to very rudely by a male staff member because she left her car inside the park to relay her baby's gear in and out of the car.(Her car was not in any ones way as there was an empty cabin next door) We enquired about staying an extra night but were meet with a flat NO , with no explanation given as to why.
We have stayed in many Big 4 parks and have never experienced anything like this before, staff have always been friendly and courteous and parks well kept and clean. We were going to make future booking here for business trips but wouldn't recommend here to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinevth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience during your stay .We apologise we did not meet your expectations. As it was the long weekend, we were booked out and unable to meet your friends request for an extra night which we explained at the time. Unfortunately we experienced an issue with the swamp at the rear of the Park as the water recedes, sometimes an odour can occur. We have never had an issue with the smell in the Cabin before so were very happy to move you right away. Again, please accept our apologies that these issues impacted on your stay with us. We're committed to providing the best accommodation and service so we've taken your review on board to help us improve our operations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked ahead for the end of February and asked for a quiet deluxe cabin. Well it certainly wasn't quiet as the sites are not well spaced out (blame the council regs) and it seems that as many sites, cabins and powered bays have been crammed in as possible to pick up the seasonal trade. Two families in tents arrived after we had checked in and with their combined 5 kids next door ensured our peace was broken at regular intervals.

We couldn't even park our car outside our cabin as it would have blocked the road. The cabin was rather tired and hadn't had any TLC for a long while - probably due to the end of the summer season, but basically conformed to the minimal Big 4 requirements and layout.

The facilities e.g. laundry were ok and the amenities kept fairly tidy.

The beach was a big disappointment. You walk over the sand dune/path to this lovely bay and have a paddle only to find loads of jellyfish washed up and a couple of dead and bloated roos being pecked at by the crows. Not very pleasant and kids would have nightmares.

Fortunately we only had to put up with it for a couple of nights while we 'did the local attractions'.
If we return to Phillip Island we will try and find a better 'cabin park' to stay at.
Peter

Room Tip: There are not any quiet or spacious areas on this site, but if you love to chat to your next door ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased your enjoyed the facilities and cleaniness of the Park. We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Summer is always a busy time at the Park so noise levels do increase but our friendly Staff are only to happy to assist with any issues you may have if brought to their attention. Unfortunately we are unable to control nature with the jelly fish and unfortunate dead kangaroo so we are sorry this impacted your stay. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in January 2014. During our time at the park we met some really lovely people, I found people to be very friendly and more then happy for a chat. Which was nice.
However with the exception of the rather impressive camp kitchen, we found this park to be in desperate need of some upgrading to its amenities blocks. Not once did we go into the showers and find them at all clean, there was alwyas sand and dirt all over the floors and seats... and hair blocking the shower drain. There was spider webs galore all over the roofs of the amenity block. One day there was so many big spiders hanging down from the roof that my daughter refused to go inside to use the toilet. The toilet cubicles are so small that the average to small sized person can barely get inside the cubicle and get the door to shut past them. I think there must be plans to make this park alot nicer, but for the cost (which was more expensive then any of the other 4 caravan parks we stayed at on our summer holiday) it really needs upgrading and fast.

For the cost per night it is not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kizzle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that our Staff were pleasant and helpful to you, but I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Our maintenance schedule has been adjusted to ensure your concerns regarding the Amenities block are fixed as soon as possible. We're committed to providing the best accommodation and service so we've taken your review on board to help us improve our operations. We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience if you choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We arrived to find our campsite flooded by the creek and were told by cabin dwellers the water had been even higher the day before. When we approached the office they said they didnt know it was flooded and there was nothing else available except a cabin. We had no option but to book the cabin for 3 nights which was not in our holiday budget. Even if the campsite was not flooded it would have been a small and cramped camp area. The whole park was very small and crowded and run down. The jumping pillow was small. The games room was dirty, unwelcoming and bare and the one lounge chair was very old and grotty. The kitchen was open on 2 sides allowing rain and wind to blow in and it was very cold and damp. We would never go back.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thankyou for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are extremely disappointed and apologise that you experienced such extreme inconvenience during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa for 5 nights and found it to be a very well equipped holiday unit. We were very close to the beach & just a walk over the bridge you were in San Remo where you had cafés,bakeries & a supermarket for all your needs. The park is very family orientated even though there were lots of kids riding bikes around and playing they were all having fun and not disturbing anyone. The park was very quiet at night with a curfew of no noise between 10pm & 7 am which made it good for sleeping. Great place to stay with kids. We will definitely be staying there again. ( we were there with my daughter & her family)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks Margaret for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. We definitely have a great location close to shops, the beach and cafes and eateries and we are pleased you enjoyed it. We are pleased to hear the kids enjoyed the great facilities the Park has to offer and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights with my family at this caravan park. A very well presented caravan park, clean and close to all the main attractions with only a minute walk to the beach. Recommend staying in the self contained on site cabins. They consist of 2 rooms great for a family with up to 4 children. Will be back for sure. My only concern is the leaking taps in the cabins bathroom and, mattress old and worn and pathways to beach is messy and needs some clearing and a tidying up.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussieguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay06, Owner at BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the Parks facilities and great location but apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your concerns regarding the leaking taps, mattress and overgrown pathway to the beach have all been noted and passed onto our Grounds Staff to attend to. We're committed to providing the best experience to all our guests so we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
0.1 mi away
The Island Accommodation
7.8 mi away
Amaroo Park
Amaroo Park
#1 of 19 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
BIG4 Inverloch Holiday Park
2.0 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#1 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
7.6 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park

Property: BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park
Address: 24 Old Bridge Dr, Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Newhaven
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park is nestled amongst the sand dunes of the Newhaven Beach in a natural landscape setting of trees and gardens, and is conveniently located within 500m of restaurants, cafes and shops. Our wide variety of accommodation, ranging from shady camping sites to our 3 bedroom Deluxe Villas, clean amenities and great family facilities will ensure an enjoyable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Phillip Island Caravan Park Newhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing