We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic hideaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valley Ranges Getaways
Ranked #1 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

 We stayed in the Blackwood at Candlelight Cottages (this cottage is located in Sassafrass, Victoria). The cottage is immaculate, spotless, romantic, very private and hidden away. Yet, amazingly, it is only a two minute walk from the quaint shops in the main street.


 The layout is amazing. A living and dining area, bedroom and shower / spa / toilet room. 

They could be isolated from each other or opened up so the audiovisual system was accessible/viewable from any of them. 


  The shower is the best I have ever experienced. It would seem that the available water pressure could easily be used for firefighting. The water temperature was hot and instant and the taps only rotate 90 degrees from off to full on. Made it so easy to adjust the flow and temperature. 


 Building access is a problem. The steps up into the cottage are difficult to climb because of the rise height of the steps and lack of a hand-rail for most of the steps. 


Once in the driveway, backing out onto the gravel roadway (track) with a 2 - 3 metre drop, with no barriers, on the other side of the roadway, is a serious concern. 


  The kitchen is pokey with totally insufficient benchspace, no hotpate and the only option for any hot meals is to order it in at a cost, go to the local cafes, or use the microwave. 


  Teabags and low fat milk should be available as an option to the loose leaf tea and full cream milk. 


  The fire alarm sounded each time we used the toaster because of its proximity and lack of exhaust fan. 


  While the audiovisual system, utilizing an iPad was amazing, people without experience with these devices, could well become frustrated. I twice had to reinstall the app on the iPad because it locked up and wouldn't reset. 


  The bed had a very soft topper and personally, because I suffer from a sore back, it was uncomfortable. I am sure that other would find it divine. 


 Keeping in mind that this cottage is a relatively new addition, I am sure the cottage is still in the process of smoothing out some of the bugs. 


The booking process over the internet worked smoothly and Peta's manner was lovely. Our request for extra time to vacate was happily granted at no extra cost. 


  For us, we would probably not come back to this particular cottage, but will certainly book ourselves back into some of the other Candlelight Cottages that we have stayed in before. 

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlelight4, Manager at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello Ed and Jenny, Thank you for taking time to send through your overview of The Blackwood. You did comment on the steps when checking out and these were already being reviewed with a view to adding in steps to lessen the height and put in a handrail, so addressing your very valid concerns.

I would just like to explain the kitchen a little bit. We are not allowed to supply a kitchen at all, so this is simply a kitchenette for making tea/coffee and toasting the lovely hand made crumpets etc for breakfast. We recognise it is small, but it is the best we can offer given the Shire restrictions.

Your point about options for tea bags was addressed when setting up the property and it was decided that fresh loose tea from the famous Tea Leaves in Sassafras was the most unique offering. Today, by the way, we have set up the pre-stay letters which have been months in the coming. This letter will come out 4 days prior to your next stay and invites guests to let us know of any special requirements (lo fat milk, gluten free breads, soy milk). We often have special requests and are delighted to provide what guests want if we know prior to the stay.

Yes, the bed does get a 'divine' tick from most guests - this is one of those tricky things with everyone having individual tastes. We had hoped the top of the range kingsize King Koil mattress and base will be luscious for most people.

Thank you for letting me know about the fire extinguisher - the owner is an electrician, so we will investigate this - or work out where to suggest guests make the toast.

I hope, knowing you are very experienced with computers that you enjoyed working with the ipad. We do have a hand held remote so the tv, music, apple tv, foxtel and internet can be worked from either. This is in the drawer under the ipad and I usually (!) remember to tell guests as they check in.

We so very much look forward to your next stay with us and I hope that is soon,

Best wishes and thank you for your feedback, Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Candlelight Cottages is one of my favourite romantic places that I have stayed at.Not only because it is situated in magical,leafy Olinda but because it is a superb retreat.We stayed in the Old World 'Candlelight Cottage'.It is cosy,stylish,homely,peaceful,nostalgic,atmospheric & extremely ambient.From the moment I stepped in through the front door I knew it was going to be one very special & memorable stay.There was soft music playing upon arrival,chocolates on the bed,& a complimentary breakfast in the fridge.Excellent presentation & attention to detail.The toiletries supplied were good quality,clean towels provided,fluffy bathrobes available,the linen was fresh,chic & lovely.The kitchen was very cosy & clean with a variety of different flavoured teas available. I loved the dining table & the modern country decor to.The bed was very comfy & the entire cottage was like a cosy cocoon allowing for some much needed time out from the chaos of everyday busy life.My time there is etched into my heart forever.We left there feeling refreshed & rested.The gardens were very pretty & peaceful,complete with little bridge way leading towards the blissful cottage.Great friendly hospitality from the owners to.I consider Candlelight Cottages to be a little slice of heaven & a home away from home.Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceandreamings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management729, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for this beautiful review - I'm so impressed that you remembered so much of the cottage despite it being almost a year since you stayed with us in Olinda.

We very much look forward to your return visit and perhaps you might like to try one of our other cottages - Cottage in the Forest, Twilight Cottage or The Blackwood Sassafras. We are constantly adding and improving, so hope to keep the special feelings and memories live!

Warm wishes, Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was a most fantastic place to stay, we were there for 4 nights and I can honestly say it was the best place I have stayed in.The cottage was peaceful, clean and felt like home with the decor and had everything you would need for a great stay.
The hosts Peta and laurie were very friendly and gave us a lift to the wedding we were attending there and were available if you needed any help.
The extra touches as said by others is true and breakfast left in the fridge was great and all locally sources.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you Maggie - you were charming guests and we loved having you stay for your family wedding.

Thinking of you in snowy UK and wishing you a Merry Christmas and wonderful New Year - we hope you'll travel to Melbourne again in 2014.

Best wishes, Peta and Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we just returned from our 4 night stay at the candlelight cottage and i want to move to olinda. this lovely town has sold me. The cottage was beautiful, the provided breakfast 100% and our whole experience was fantastic. Congratulations Peta and Laurie for making our stay so welcoming and private.Had a wonderful linch at Copperfield restaurant and the jam session at the Mt Dandy pub on sunday arvo was awesome. Planing our next trip already and cant wait AAAAAAAA

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

And we cannot wait to have you return! Thank you for being such charming guests.

Warm wishes, Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We recently stayed at Candlelight cottage for 3 nights and it was everything we could have wished for and more. It was lovely and welcoming, and so pretty. The setting is beautifull and the garden so peacefull and relaxing. The extra touches throughout the cottage such as chocolates by the bed, lovely products in the bathroom, wonderfull breakfast in the fridge with a lovely fresh baked loaf in the kitchen and another in the freezer. There was so much food for breakfast we couldn't possibly eat it all. There was also lots of extra's in the cupboards (teas galore, cereals, biscuits, condiments) port in the lounge. I can't think of a single thing that was missing and our hosts Peta and Laurie were charming.

We would definitely come back here again if we go back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlelight4, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Liz, it was a delight for us to have you here with your family and we are very happy that Candlelight Cottage offered you enough space, time to be together by the fire, and relaxation to enjoy the little baby.

We hope we may have you stay again sometime and look forward to that, With best wishes Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It's about time I reviewed our wonderful stay with Candlelight Cottages.

My boyfriend and I chose the Cottage in the Forest to celebrate our 1st year Anniversary in July of 2013. When we arrived at our cottage we were amazed at how cosy and comforting it was, with lamps lit and soft music playing.The bedroom and bathroom had to be my favourite rooms, with the spectacular views of the forest. I especially loved it at dawn and dusk.

The breakfast provisions were plentiful, delicious and fresh that lasted until our final morning, also we received a complimentary soup for the first night, as we booked in the winter months. The spa and shower was amazing! The towels were clean and the robes very comfy. I felt very pampered (my boyfriend loved the unlimited hot water) and the toiletries provided were great quality, which were happily replaced when asked for. (I've switched to Sukin products thanks to our trip).

The fire was easy to set up, and very romantic to have a glass of wine (graciously provided for us, with chocolates) in front of and some toasted marshmallows.The bed was massive, comfortable with electric blankets which kept me toasty as it was fairly chilly at night. The cottage was exceptionally clean, and we had everything we needed provided for.

We also had a little encounter with two Kookaburra's one morning in the outdoor area.

The only issues we had was a wonky toilet seat and one set of blinds that were fragile and broke when we opened them. But they didn't detract at all from the amazing time we had. Thank you Peta and Laurie for the wonderful service, you were amazing hosts and very friendly, and helpful! We can't wait to come back next year and try out Clare Cottage! We definitely recommend a stay at Candlelight Cottages.

- Elizabeth and Ben.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlelight4, Manager at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback on our Cottage in the Forest. We are always grateful for guests letting us know of any issues and these have long since been fixed! We are pleased you enjoyed all the lovely, peaceful things about this very special little cottage for two and we look forward to your returning to celebrate a lovely occasion with us again.

Warm wishes, Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed in this charming cottage in the Forest during September 2012 as a surprise birthday getaway gift. It was a romantic time sitting in front of the large open fireplace sipping on the finest champagne and sharing this candle lit cottage with someone special. This made it a precious and memorable night for me. The décor was old worldly and quaint but the bedroom incorporating an entire wall of windows facing out with a view of the ferny forest was an amazing vista we consider as one of our "wonders of the world". My senses were awakened by our beautiful surrounds. We also had a family of kookaburras visit us in the courtyard, serenading us with "Merry Merry Kings of the Bush are We" so we felt very welcomed indeed. We loved Candlelight Cottage in the Forest, an experience that we must share. You will enjoy staying within your own private piece of Sherbrook Forest in Olinda, and will truly appreciate this lovely hideaway with someone special. I guarantee that this trip will remain in your fondest memories. We highly recommend this experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management729, Owner at Valley Ranges Getaways, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We love to hear of your stay with us Anastasia - the Kookaburras are a little cheekier than when you stayed, obviously pampered by guests with titbits of sausages and bacon!

We hope you will return to stay with us again before too long.

Warm wishes, Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
0.3 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Ranges Getaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Ranges Getaways

Address: 361 Mt Dandenong Tourist Road | Reception 361-363, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia (Formerly Candlelight Cottages Retreat)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range: £165 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Ranges Getaways 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Quality Accommodation in Olinda, Sassafras, Mt Dandenong, Kalorama and Ferny Creek in the Dandenong Ranges Experience the Yarra Valley & Dandenong Ranges in style by staying in one of the regions most unique private houses and cottages for couples, families & groups. All properties are conveniently located close to a Village with restaurants, attractions, walking trails and of course the beautiful gardens of the Dandenong Ranges. We also have properties that are perfect for intimate weddings and elopements. All available properties are managed by us, a professional team of accommodation specialists. We ensure that our guests enjoy a high level of quality accommodation, cleanliness and amenities across all of our stunning properties. Formally Known as Candlelight Cottages - Valley Ranges Getaways can assist with all your needs. With accommodation to suit every occasion, budget and taste, you’re guaranteed to find the perfect place to stay, steeped in history with fresh modern interiors and all the lifestyle luxuries you have come to expect. With secluded forest and garden settings, you can enjoy a high level of privacy and swap the weight of the world, for the lightness of a feather doona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valley Ranges Getaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ranges Getaways Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing