We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and lovely cottage but highly priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice location and lovely cottage but highly priced”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you think you have paid $395 a night and expect something luxurious, then get ready for a surprise.The tree cottage (cottage # 1) we stayed at is overall very nice and spacious but it doesn't make you leave with a feeling that you got what you paid for. Here's some pros and cons:

Pros
- beautiful view from the bedroom and living area
- barely an hour drive from Melbourne
- spacious and construction felt new
- $30 breakfast was worth it and the cafe served good breakfast

Cons
- the layout somehow doesn't work. It feels like most things are in place just to check the box. Example - TV is located in weird alignment with the couch, you can neither watch the TV from the couch nor can you see the rainforest view, the light switch above the bed was covered by the headboard, salt provided for the SPA was so little it may as well have not been provided, getting in and out of the SPA is hard and a step could have helped, microwave is placed too close to the gas stove making it risky
- poor quality of furniture in the living room and its not oriented well to sit back and enjoy the view
- window next to the SPA faces another cottage and blinds cannot be left open. Defeats the purpose of a window next to the SPA
- fireplace was not setup properly to let the log burn slowly. ended up wasting 5 logs of wood that burned out in 2 hrs and hence turned on the central heater to survive the night
- could hear the traffic due to close proximity to the road making it feel like we were staying at a motel

Overall, the stay was a birthday gift to my wife and thought a $400 would give her a boutique experience. But it was just a lovely overpriced cottage.

Room Tip: check if the SPA in the cottage faces another property and choose that cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahaloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    18
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just spent the night at Lochiel with my gorgeous girlfriend (hello darling) in the tri-level one bedroom cabin. Cannot recommend highly enough. The setting is, for want of a better expression, incredible. If you're looking for a quick getaway that's an only an hour from the city but may as well be in another world, look here.

The cabin we stayed in (i think it was treetops #1) was superbly designed, a pleasure to be in, and is fitted out with everything you could desire for a romantic getaway.

A big shout-out to the lovely chap from Lochiel, who made sure we were comfortable and helped us out with some excellent hand-drawn maps for little-known local spots of interest and lookouts the morning after.

A word for Michelle G - if you're getting away to watch current release DVD's on a wall-sized plasma TV in a surgical grade sterile environment surrounded by 'brand name' products, you'd be better off equipping yourself with the fruits of a quick trip to JB and a fresh bottle of Dettol and staying at home.

Really enjoyed it, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I'm just going to qualify this review by saying I paid $395 for the night and so was expecting something special. Also they mentioned 'luxury' quite a lot, so I had high expectations. Unfortunately it is neither.
It's not very clean, no brand name products, they don't include cleaning of the kitchen in the room rate ( pretty outrageous ), the linen on the bed is very 3 star, as is the cushions on the couch.
The bathroom has dirt marks in the shower corners and the blinds are filthy, cobwebs on the outside window. The tv is 'hotel size' with 2 DVDs provided ( gee thanks!), the fridge is also bare.
They did include a voucher for breakfast worth $30 and a packet of Lollies but honestly I would have preferred more cleaning and better products and linen. Plus, $395 is frankly outrageous for the small size and fit out of the 3 level 1 bedroom cottage.
I wouldn't recommend this place unless they do some serious rethink of fixtures and price point.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochielOwner, General Manager at Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We were disappointed to read your comments in light of the many positive comments we have been left on Trip Advisor.

We are a small boutique accommodation and do not advertise as being a 5 star hotel.

Our cottages are stand-alone and are fully equipped and we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness and facilities we offer; we are contemporary and modern however given our rainforest setting, dust can and does settle quickly on a daily basis.

We do not leave provisions in our fridges, aside from milk, as each guest will have different needs and we do our best to cater for this by offering an extensive range of teas and coffee for your enjoyment. We prefer to provide breakfast vouchers for the local Café so you can enjoy the lovely ambience and hustle and bustle of the Olinda Township while you enjoy your individual breakfast choices.

Thank you for the feedback regarding our linen, however we do use a 5 star laundry company and I will be pleased to feed your comments back to them!

Our pricing is in line with other accommodation providers in the area, single Saturday pricing is generally a little higher as the cost of labour penalty rates sadly must be met.

Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations this time and thank you once again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the original for one nite for a friends birthday and really wished we had booked the whole weekend. It was a beautiful escape in a spacious house. It was clean and welcoming. The vouchers for
Dinner and breakfast were a good idea to promote the restaurant . We had a very restful sleep on those beds . Highly recommend it for groups or families. Had four bedrooms and a single bed. The view from deck was refreshing . Easy walk to shops and restaurants :)

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zeddypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on my honeymoon and absolutely loved it.

The location is great - only a couple minutes walk from Olinda shops.
The accommodation is hidden away and has a great layout - particularly liked the fireplace with plenty of wood available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller182186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We decided to go back to where we had our short honeymoon 5 years ago, and found everything just as beautiful as the first time around.

Easy arrangements, welcoming surrounds, beautiful setting. Spa for a bit of luxury, and good food and easy going in walking distance. 'Cabin' clean, neat, well set out, and very comfortable.

Short drives to a couple of other beautiful little towns, plenty of walking, either for shopping, exercise, or just to spend some time together.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing escape with all the mod cons in the Dandenong's then look no further. No ye old in sight...always a bonus. There was a lot at stake as we were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. As we opened the front door my first word was wow! The sparkling wine and treats on arrival were a lovely touch, as were the vouchers for breakfast each morning of our stay. There's no skimping on towels or toiletries either. Cross the road and you are in the beautiful village of Olinda, a 5 minute drive and you're in Sasafrass. Emerald in also worth the drive...make sure you check out The General Food store whilst there. We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights of bliss at Treetops 1 and didn't want to leave. We look forward to returning and would highly recommend this luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
1.3 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Como Cottages
Como Cottages
#2 of 6 in Olinda
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#2 of 13 in Olinda
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochiel Luxury Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochiel Luxury Accommodation

Property: Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Address: 1590 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochiel Luxury Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCHIEL LUXURY ACCOMMODATIONBeautiful, boutique style contemporary accommodation in a rainforest surrounding in the heart of the Dandenong Ranges, located on the edge on the unique village of Olinda, the property is also in close proximity to the neighbouring townships of Sassafras and Mount Dandenong.All cottages are private, boutique and contemporary in style and fully equipped for your romantic, intimate escape! Relax in your own oversized spa and marvel at the wildlife through your private bathroom window or just stay in bed and let your eyes drift through the windows in the vaulted ceiling.You could even have your very own private interlude on one of the private treetop balconies or just opt to stroll into Olinda Village and enjoy the hustle and bustle – it’s all up to you!Lochiel Luxury Accommodation provides beautifully designed cottage accommodation situated on two hectares of natural rainforest and fern gullies in the heart of Olinda. Lochiel Luxury Accommodation’s stylish contemporary stone and timber cottages are masterpieces of modern design creating the perfect environment for an intimate and romantic getaway in the Dandenong Ranges.Beautifully appointed bathrooms, separate shower and vanities, a large outdoor spa and beautiful contemporary appointed interior are just a few of the pleasures that await you at Lochiel Accommodation. Why not try Ranges or Credo Restaurants which are both in walking distance of the cottages? A short walk on out of Olinda will lead you to the world famous Cuckoo Restaurant!Great location and only 10 minutes drive from the famous Puffing Billy Railway and in close proximity to the neighbouring villages of Sassafras and Mount Dandenong.Lochiel Original Cottage(Accommodates up to 8) The cottage has a lovely treetop balcony stretching the length of the cottage and a private courtyard with a four-person private spa pool set amongst the fern-filled courtyard. Treetops Tri-Level Cottages and One Level Treetops Guesthouse Cottages(Accommodate 2 Persons or 1 Couple)The three Tri-Level Treetop Cottages are all one bedroom cottages and feature spa baths, log fires and contemporary style throughout as well as balconies that look onto the forest canopy. In Addition, we have a beautifully appointed One Level Treetops Cottage, Treetops Guesthouse Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lochiel Luxury Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing