We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olinda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 14 Olinda B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I totally recommend this bed and breakfast if you are looking for a place in Olinda. Margaret and John are lovely hosts who will make sure your stay is peaceful and enjoyable. We took our 7 year old son and our little dog and they both loved this place just as much as my husband and I. My son was so excited about the pull out bed in the couch and he slept so soundly. There was a trampoline for him to jump on in the garden and he was so happy!!!!! Molly, our dog, had her own bed, but she loved looking out the window at the birds and she especially loved the pond and accidentally went for a little swim. I enjoyed the garden spa tub at nighttime.
We stayed here two nights and both mornings were brought a beautiful English breakfast with Orange Juice and yummy fresh bread and jams. They even brought my husband the morning paper.
If you are a little bit uncoordinated and unsteady on your feet, like myself, it's important to go slowly down the rock steps from the driveway to the garden room. It can be a little slippery and hard to see at night time, but they do have lights along the steps as well as on the garage and the house. Other than that...The place is small and cozy, but it big enough for all of us. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The view is incredible!!!! Thank you so much for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum2little1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent two nights at Orchard House Bed & Breakfast. The place was very neat and clean. It has a good garden view with flowers and birds to greet you in the morning. The breakfast served by the hosts was lovely too. The hosts made us felt like home while we stayed there. As we were the only guests during our stay, it seems like the we had the whole place and garden to ourselves. Thank you for giving us an enjoyable stay at the Orchard House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casuarina34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had such a lovely stay. The place was clean, the view spectacular and the breakfast was amazing, we didn't expect a full English breakfast, fresh coffee and local produce. We slept well in a comfortable bed with not a sound! The hosts were lovely, we will be back for sure!!! Thank you to orchard house for such a romantic weekend away.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cammeray
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

I've stayed at some pretty interesting and memorable places in my time both in Oz and overseas, however my experience at Orchard House beats them all. It must be the best kept secret in the Dandenongs which is not far from Melbourne and the Yarra Valley (love those wines). The host and hostess - I've forgotten their names Mr & Mrs Fitz something were perfect hosts. They were not intrusive but professional in manner. The breakfast we had at Orchard house was the best ever. Better than any 5* international hotel has to offer. The scenery and garden settings were spectacular. The art of hospitality still lives on.......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Have just had a wonderful weekend at Orchard House. We arrived just a little over a year since our last visit to find everything as delightful as it was before.
On arrival, we were shown to our room, made our breakfast arrangements, then had the place to ourselves.
It was so warm and cosy, with a freshly baked homemade cake awaiting us – yummy!
Had a great night sleep in the comfy queen size bed, and awoke to the sound of silence (pure bliss!)
The fantastic cooked English style breakfast was absolutely superb, and it being brought to our room really sets Orchard House apart from the rest. Our hosts, John & Margaret, also made us freshly brewed coffee and tea and delivered the morning paper. What more could you ask for?
With a great hot shower, spa or old fashioned deep bath to choose from, we really made ourselves at home.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Orchard House for that special romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyWMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

My partner and I don’t normally get away a lot, so I was hoping that our stay in Olinda would be a nice one. I have stayed in a few B&b’s so i know what to expect. When we first arrived at Orchard House the surrounds were absolutely beautiful the accommodation was spacious. Unfortunately the studio we were staying in was located under the owners house, which meant we didn’t get a lot of privacy. All the noises from upstairs could be heard, footsteps and bangs. Not very private or enjoyable when you are trying to get to sleep.

Normally i wouldn’t cry about a small thing like the absence of soap and shampoo, but i think it is the small things that really make a b&b. We were welcomed with a generous breakfast that although looked nice had pieces of hair in it. After meeting the owners and realising they don’t have black hair I saw a black haired dog run into the B&b, could the pieces of hair I found on my food be from the dog...hmmm. we packed up our belongings and left straight away even without having showers. Not an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam_eVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfitzpat_10, Owner at Orchard House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
If only we had known we could have done something for you. The missing soap was an oversight and we apologise for that. As for a hair in the food that is obviously unacceptable. How that slipped past our usual scrupulous standard of hygiene is a mystery.
Regular guests at Orchard House remark on how well they slept due to the peace and tranquility. Perhaps a possum jumped on the roof while you were sleeping. We cannot do much about that.
Margaret and I enjoy pampering our guests and if something has gone wrong we want to do something about it. We would love a phone call from you to discuss the situation and hopefully put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
0.6 mi away
Gracehill Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Woolrich Historic Garden Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#4 of 14 in Olinda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Como Cottages
Como Cottages
#2 of 6 in Olinda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.2 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 99 Olinda-Monbulk Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Orchard House Bed And Breakfast Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing