We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious”

Cloudehill Nursery and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Olinda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was so excited to see this garden. From the entry right to the bottom of the garden we found gorgeous colours, surprises and never a disappointed. The many different garden rooms along the upper path were spectacular. The Autumn colours added to the experience and the damp, bushy, forest areas enhanced this mountainside beauty.
You need to think about booking in the restaurant which offered a great menu and although the house was of no distinctive character offered a warm, inviting feel. We had coffee and cake on the terrace which was breezy but there was the convenient and timely offer of cosy lap rugs.
The digger's shop always pleases and you can purchase a myriad of great seeds, plants and other garden goodies.
The staff were very helpful and I was not disappointed with our visit....thank- you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    45
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gem in the hills”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Embarrassed to say I have never visited Cloudehill before and I am a local. Took my parents for an early Mother's Day treat and it certainly was a treat. From the moment we were greeted by the charming hostess to when we left it was a delight. Hostess was perfect, great personality, worked the room beautifully, all our meals very tasty and lovely presentation. Quite reasonably priced. Quite an intimate room which was good as not too noisy and the views even though cloudy and rainy were beautiful. It had been raining consistently and the path from the car park to the restaurant was a bit tricky as large puddles had formed so don't were your good shoes if it's raining! Didn't go into to the gardens or nursery due to the rain but look forward to that on a clear day. We didn't book for the restaurant but if it's a weekend, nice day or special occasion definitely book well ahead and request a table with a view. Can't wait to go back on a clear day.
There is a fee for the garden entry. Not sure of amount though but would be worth it looking at the brochures as they look stunning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank roseangel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Came here to look around the gardens for potential wedding photography. Cottage staff were lovely, have me free brochures, books and free garden entry. The gardens themselves were beautiful and very well maintained. Have also been to the cafe before too and the food was fresh and tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Surfiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Attractive Gardens”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have been to the Cloudehill Nursery in the Dandenongs several times, and enjoyed a coffee in the restaurant, but on this visit we went a step further to visit the Gardens. Why on earth did we wait so long, these gardens were a delight. The gardens are broken up into compartments, with very pleasant vistas along straight paths. One warning, the gardens are planted on the side of a hill, and as the gardens are quite large, exploring Cloudehill (and adjoining Rangeview Gardens which can be entered for a gold coin donation) I found very exhausting. In hindsight I would have just viewed Cloudehill, as I found the adjoining Rangeview Gradens disappointing in comparison.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Wonderful gardens! What delight to wander in and the cafe is excellent - delicious food, great service, wonderful views and good value for money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloudehill Nursery and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Cloudehill Nursery and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing