We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Commonwealth shines in our eyes.”
Review of Commonwealth Hotel

Commonwealth Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commonwealth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Orbost B&B and Inns
Bredbo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Commonwealth shines in our eyes.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I booked this without preview and while there were mixed reviews we continued with the booking (for the night of 03 Jan 14). Yes the hotel looks old and tired, so would you if you were 100+ years old. The rooms were clean, smelt fresh and bed was sort of comfortable. Remembering the managers only have the pub as a lease and cannot make any changes. The staff were friendly and very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The locals were also very friendly and helpful. Previous reviews class the accommodation as in poor condition or sadly neglected. It is an old pub but clean, I have stayed in worse accommodation where it smelt bad and where showers were filthy. I think some people expect more from a pub, this is not the Hilton, Sheridan or is it a Rydges it is not a 5 star property - don't be so precious. It is a pub, with pub type accommodation. I have stayed in various accommodations and I have no problems with my stay, in fact I will be recommending it to other bikers who are looking ofr good accommodation, reasonably priced with good service. Congrats and we will stay there again!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west have excellent views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevekeen10, Owner at Commonwealth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Commonwealth Hotel Orbost We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly hope to welcome you back to the hotel for the third time in the very near future. Kind regards Steve and Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed over night on Saturday 20.12.13. We enjoyed a lovely roast for dinner, the women went out of their way to get it for us even though it was just past 8 P.M. Unfortunately that was the highlight of our stay. I collected our room key prior to having dinner, I might add until after dinner the room was unseen. I have never been so disgusted in the way this hotel has been left to decay. The stairway leading upstairs had not seen a vacuum cleaner for at least 6 months and that is being generous. The floors like the stair way would not know what a vac looked like.
The bath rooms were a disgrace, one shower out of two had no hot water, the second shower after waiting for an eternity eventually had hot water, the shower basin was blocked, water ended up running out the door into the hallway. The small plastic rubbish bin in our room had no plastic liner in it. The towels were so thin you could shoot peas through them. The guest bath has had the taps removed and was storing cleaning material in the tub, to bad should a paying guest wish to take a bath.

The so called kitchen was filthy, and a complete health hazard. No self respecting person would contemplate eating in there, let alone attempt to cook toast etc. The T.V room was dirty, couches filthy. The owners need to be ashamed of themselves in asking people to pay to stay at this grotty facility. This hotel was once a regal lady in it's heyday. It needed a paint job throughout. I find it hard that your able to keep staff there, it would be such a depressing place to work, yet we found the staff to be friendly and polite. I hate to think what the main kitchen looks like in hygiene standards after we saw the rest of the place, the thought is to horrifying to imagine. We were informed the owners were overseas, it's about time they attended to their investment and spend money in the place. We stayed there about 6 - 7 years ago, the hotel was not elegant back then, as it would have been in it's heyday, however, it was spotlessly clean and inviting, that was the reason we came back again for a little nostalgia. Sadly some things are not meant to have a follow up. Whom ever owns the hotel are not business people, as word of mouth gets around as to what a disgusting place it is for all of the above reasons. This hotel could once again with money been made into a show piece, Orbost needs to attract tourists to come into the township, what better way to start that than to restore the hotel back into a grand old lady that she once would have been.

Heather & Ralph travelling through to NSW

Room Tip: save your money, don't stay there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G, Manager at Commonwealth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2016
Hi Heather and Ralph,
Im sorry to read about you previous experiences at the Commonwealth Hotel. The hotel has changed management in the last 8 months and is currently undergoing works to bring the Commonwealth back to what it once was. We appreciate your thoughts and hope to see you back next time you are passing through so we can show you what we have been up to and what the future holds for this beautiful hotel.

Warm Regards,
The team at the Commonwealth Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orbost hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

While the room itself was clean, the rest of the facilities ranged from disappointing to awful.
The bathrooms were dirty, the lounge area was disgusting, (couches were filthy, lights didn't work), and the kitchen facilities were a health hazard. No meals were available in the hotel. It was really a really dingy dirty hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G, Manager at Commonwealth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2016
Hi Michelle,
Thanks for your review.
You'll be pleased to hear that the hotel is now under new management and has been undergoing some major works to bring the hotel back to being the hidden gem of the snowy region.
Meals are once again available and upstairs is seeing a full refresh. We hope to see you next time you are passing through so we can show you how busy we have been and what the future holds for this beautifully magnificent building.
All the best and safe travels.

Warm regards,
The commonwealth hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orbost
0.9 mi away
Orbost Motel
Orbost Motel
#1 of 2 in Orbost
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Roads Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Countryman Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Orbost
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Snowy River Lodge Motel
Snowy River Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Newmerella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Commonwealth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Hotel

Property: Commonwealth Hotel
Address: 159-161 Nicholson St, Orbost, Victoria 3888, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Orbost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Orbost
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on new years day 1901 with 16 rooms & stabling out the back, the original 'commonwealth was a popular addition to Orbost. The licensee was James drew. Following the arrival of the rail way in 1916 & the end of world war 1, this district boomed. A new, larger, architect-designed hotel took shape, built for owner-licensee, Mrs. Agnes marshall. Competed in 1927 & further enlarged in 1933, this building still retains many destinctive features of the 1920s-30s including some beautiful art deco styling. It also boasted hot & cold water & electric lights. Orbost has only been a two pub town & the 'commonwealth' is called the 'top pub' by locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Commonwealth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing