We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, clean and friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Craigieburn, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing, clean and friendly service!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I went away for a relaxing long weekend recently and chose to stay at Mariners Cove. We had a wonderful relaxing weekend with lovely views of the Paynesville canals, in a spotlessly clean and stylish room! The service was impeccable and we will certainly return! We will recommend it to our friends and family and have already begun to do so! Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
49
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Went to Paynesville for a midday family birthday and thought we would stay somewhere relaxing of rhte weekend. We booked a Spa suite hoping to enjoy the spa and the beautiful surroundings of Paynesville and the Canals around this place.
We did not mind the room which we thought was set out ok and nicely fitted out. Our problem came when we went to have a Spa. It was 4.30 in the afternoon, hardly peak hour, and we could only run the Hot water tap to try and fill it as the water was luke warm at best. When we contacted reception he said it was probably due to everyone using it getting ready to go out. (where at 4.30?) anyway, Spa filled with warm water, time for a relax, only to find you have to close your blinds as all of the balconies are shared with the other units and we were hopping into the spa only to have the kids from the next unit, on scooters riding in front of our lovely canal water views looking into our unit. Not happy. time to close the curtains, shut off our view, hop into our warmish spa and relax. Oh, Black hairs all over the top of the Spa, yuck! Time again in the morning to get ready, jump in the shower, hot tap on, warm is it. no cold at all added and it was just ok. time to book out and never again.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask if there are any rooms at all with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I suppose a lot depends on expectattion but for $165 I think one on is entitled to expect better than this. The previos night we stayed at Sliverwater at San Remo which was beautiful, in a more 'touristed' area, and about the same price.

The motel room was a gloomy box with dark sticky carpet. Mezzanine sleeping area a joke- windowless and not even a bedside light.

Bathroom clean.

Paynesville is a day trip at best. The koalas on Raymond Island were fantastic but the island itself was creepy with dilapidated homes and a feeling of being lost in time.

We saw the koalas, packed up and scarpered up the coast.

Room Tip: Set your expectations in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DenbyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We have now become regulars at Marinas Cove, Kevin and Pam have made us feel very welcome, they also go out of their way to look after my partners elderly parents when they go down for a holiday.
We have now purchased a boat, being able to have the boat in the water outside your room is fantastic.
We can walk into town for dinner and a few wines then return to the Mariners for a coffee overlooking the water.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank need-a-break2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allanala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

As far as options for a place to stay, I think this is pretty much it. We were really looking forward to staying here, having a relaxing night and getting some laundry done. First off, the washing machine was disgusting. The amount of mold growing in it was unbearable and it needed a big clean. When we went to ask for cleaner, we were given attitude by the woman who worked there. At least she could have offered to take a look. So we personally cleaned it out and moved on to getting our laundry done. Well the machine was a total bust and never rinsed the soap out and then the dryer didn't work. We spent all night trying to get the soap out. When we finally took a walk that night we discovered that the other apartments had a balcony off the bedroom, which ours didn't. Instead we were trapped in this little box of a room and it was evident the other apartments were not occupied. The location of the rooms is better on the motel side where you are viewing the marina rather than the round-about. All in all, if you need to stay, stay in motel side otherwise, make it a day trip and find another town to stay the night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Older style room - but very clean and well presented. Great location - very close to everything Paynesville has to offer. Beautiful verandah area. Don't know why - but I expected a pool and was disappointed there wasn't one there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellBelleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roaming around
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We were down at Paynesville for a long weekend that included 40 degree weather. The staff were amazingly proactive and offered to move us to a room with aircon as we were travelling with a 3 month old baby. They also gave us the use of a travel cot at no cost - a lot of other places in the area charge. The apartments include washing and drying machines, which is convenient with the baby but they also lent us a clothes dryer at no cost too. Overall, we were very happy with the service they provided.

The setting is very nice, right on the corner of an inlet, they have their own jetty's and depending on your room you get a view of the boats coming and going.

If you've never been to Paynesville, keep in mind it's a very small town with about 20 shops in total. We tried to get takeaway on a Friday night at 8.30 but everything had already shut up.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank random_dingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynesville
0.2 mi away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Riversleigh
The Riversleigh
#1 of 13 in Bairnsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mitchell River Tavern
Mitchell River Tavern
#2 of 13 in Bairnsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Moorings at Metung
13.8 mi away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments

Property: Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
Address: The Esplanade, Paynesville, Victoria 3880, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Paynesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Paynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, relaxing accommodation in the heart of The Gippsland Lakes, Paynesville the boating capital of Victoria. Walk to Raymond Island to see Koalas and other Australian native animals in their natural environment. Walking, biking, swimming, kayaking, water-skiing or just plain relaxing. Well situated for day trips to other attractions in East Gippsland as well as wineries and boutique breweries. In Winter we are just a few hours from the snow fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments Paynesville, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing