We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful three days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful three days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We picked the Point Lonsdale guest house to stay in when my daughter and I went to the Queens Cliff music festival. I'm very glad we did. Peter & Sue "the owners" were very nice and nothing was to much trouble for them. The light globe above the bed was not working, as soon as I mentioned it, a new one was fitted. Likewise I required some extra coat hangers, no sooner said then done. The room and en suite were both adequate to our needs and very clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. We had a full english breakfast every day which was above average as was the service. The variety of food would cater for the most pickiest of eaters, there was something for everyone, it was all very delicious. We have already booked our stay for next years music festival. I would recommend this very charming Guest House to anyone wanting an enjoyable break and value for money. Point Lonsdale is a lovely place to visit and the people I met who live there were exceptionally nice. The place has lovely vibes, and a beach worth looking at and I must not forget to mention the light house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    49
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Samford, QLD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Point Lonsdale Guest House. It is a world away from the cookie-cutter motels and has a charm and character that comes from its fascinating history, decor, architectural style and the warm and welcoming hosts. Peter is hilarious in a Basil Fawlty kind of way and Sue served us the best seafood chowder I had ever tasted. Good value for money and a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

PLG is a great place to stay. It has enormous character. If you prefer the sterile environment of a major hotel chain then PLG may not be for you - but we love it. The management make this place - in fact on our last stay we intended to stay only one night, but when we found out Peter and Sue were way but coming back the next day, we changed our plans and booked in another night. We normally stay in a Family Room in the "motel". The 2 rooms have a lot of charm and character and are separated by a completely modern bathroom, so guests have the best of both worlds - normally the bathroom is a place you don't want so much "character". Definitely recommended and we hope to go back many times in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MindtheGap1996to2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

For us this was a walk down memory lane, as we had been to this establishment many years ago when it was known as The Terminus Guest House. It is wonderful to see that the current owners have not succumbed to the pressure to modernise everything - here you can enjoy original decor and old fashioned service. For nostalgia, we elected to stay in one of the older rooms upstairs, despite the fact that it did not have it's own ensuite bathroom. You have exclusive use of a bathroom across the hallway and bathrobes are provided. Sue and Peter kindly gave us the option to change rooms but we were happy to go with our original choice and were not disappointed. The room was large and airy, with a sitting area and TV. Breakfast was delicious - homely and unpretentious. In the evening you can also opt to eat in and enjoy home made soup and toast for less than $10. The Queenscliff Bowling club has a good reputation and we enjoyed a lovely meal there for a very reasonable price.
Thanks Peter and Sue for being terrific hosts, and good sports with a great sense of humour!
We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisier in summer with passing traffic and people heading to/from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtogo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay here. It was dark, cold and wet when we arrived but got a lovely welcome and a nice room. It is old fashioned but that doesn't take anything away from it as that is its charm. It's clean and we had plenty of room. A lovely breakfast and some chat with the owners and other guess made s sorry we had to dash for the ferry

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honoluu Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon with out a reservation and Sue greeted us with a very friendly welcome and gave us a family room so we could spread out and have a relaxing night, she also directed us to a very homely Italian restaurant, as they don't serve dinner on Thursday night, the meal there was great and not too expensive, Sue and Peter were very kind hosts and went out of their way to make us comfortable. I would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobby0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Was just how it looked in the photos. Peter waited up for us, we were a bit late. Breaky in the morning was a fun affair and tasted just so good. The dining and sitting rooms are furnished to suit the heritage feel, looks to look at. I left my charger behind, they rang to let me know and I was able to pick it up. Would stay again in a heart beat. Room was very clean n comfortable. We ordered choices n champers both were good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lonsdale
3.0 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.9 mi away
Boat Ramp Motel
Boat Ramp Motel
#2 of 2 in Ocean Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Queenscliff Inn
The Queenscliff Inn
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.8 mi away
Seaview House
Seaview House
#2 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel

Property: Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 31 Point Lonsdale Rd, Point Lonsdale, Victoria 3225, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Point Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing