We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly rundown”
Review of Aurora Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Cottages
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fairly rundown”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this for a weekend away at the last minute for a bit of a get away treat. When I called to get instructions for the keys, the owner upgraded us from 3.5 to 5 star cottage. The cottage was nice, but give the price I was expecting more. There were some basic maintenance issues in the cottage, and the scrappy hand written notes on how to use things were hard to follow. The outside areas are very neglected and just a bit sad. Broken outdoor furniture left around the abandoned water feature out the front did not feel '5 star'. The remote location was nice and it could be a great place with a little TLC.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stay at Aurora Cottages (Six Seasons) at least once a year! Secluded 5 star property surrounded by wildlife (including kangaroos and emus). Huge comfy bed, modern kitchen, spa, woodfire... Doesn't get any more relaxing!!! Only a few minutes drive from town but enough space to feel you are a world away. Saku who manages the properties is also always a pleasure to deal with!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Kat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed in the six seasons cottage. It looked just like the pictures. It was quite, confortable and the abundance of wildlife really made our stay. However, we were greatly dissapointed when we arrived to find out that the milk, eggs and bread were all out of date which meant after a very long drive we were unable to have a cup of tea/coffee or breakfast in the morning. Despite this we’ll definitely stay there again as it was perfect in every other way.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Totally Loved the experience at Aurora Cottages
We stayed in the Mountain View House which was more than we expected.
Full kitchen features, complimentary wine, bread & MIlk.
Spa was great. Open shower, fireplace, banana lounge chairs outside, 50inch TV, Blu-ray (also DVDs & Blu-Ray movies were provided),Surround Sound, NIce couch, amazingly comfy King sized bed!!
Wildlife around the property was also quite a delight
The service was great.
We actually found it difficult to participate in all the activities we wanted to do at the Grampians considering how great it was to stay at Aurora!
Thanks Again
Stan

Room Tip: Just relax and take it all in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed recently at Aurora Cottages(The Mountain View). Was exactly as the pictures looked, Very luxurious. I preferred these cottages as opposed to any five star hotel room because I had wanted to cook for her. and it came with almost everything you could possibly think of to use for any such meal.

All the extras you get with this from the widescreen tv for watching movies from either the lounge area, or the sleeping area, when you want to just relax after a day of taking in the sites. To the spa bath surrounded in candles.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the Grampians area, Halls Gap only minutes by car, have quite a few nice scenic walks.

I would also recommend to drive slowly along the dirt road known as Tunnel Road that the property is situated on, for there are around a hundred kangaroos just hopping around!

Would gladly visit again around the same time next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Aurora Cottages(Six Seasons) for three nights. We were after a relaxing, quiet time in close proximity to the Grampians. We were certainly not disappointed, Six Seasons is perfect for a couples retreat. The setting surrounding the cottages is tranquil, peaceful and beautiful. From waking up early and walking through bushland, reading on the hammock or deck to nights in front of the fire, we were very happy with our stay.

The cottage itself had everything you could want, it was spotless on entry and each night we had firewood prepared for us. The open living works nicely in this cottage and the rotating widescreen TV was a winner, being able to watch the Olympics in front of the fire in the evening and at night in bed on the TV was a pleasant surprise.

Despite their being two other cottages on the land it feels very much like your own private getaway, surrounded by nature, kangaroos and silence. The outdoor decking with relaxing deck chairs is the perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon. At night the spa/fire and entertainment system are ideal.

Would recommend Aurora Cottages to anyone seeking a peaceful and stylish time within close proximity to the Grampians.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2012. The property is nice but the cottage (six seasons) is built very poorly with fittings falling off here and there. There is no insulation and despite having the fire and the reverse cycle aircon going it was still extremely cold in the mornings. At the end of a day hiking we returned to have a spa only to find there was NO hot water! It had run out because the hot water is only connected off peak. For the price of this place you should be able to have hot water when ever you want it. In saying this the location is lovely, the place was immaculately clean and the kitchen is great. Just very disappointing they failed in the execution of a property with such potential.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BNic_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomonal
4.0 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
5.4 mi away
Mountain Grand Guest House
Mountain Grand Guest House
#9 of 9 in Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Blaze Rock Retreat
Blaze Rock Retreat
#1 of 1 in Pomonal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Cottages

Property: Aurora Cottages
Address: 300 Tunnel Rd, Pomonal, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap > Pomonal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pomonal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aurora Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aurora Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing