We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time and enjoy the quiet.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Queenscliff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Queenscliff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Totally relax at this beautiful hotel. You truly step back in time. From the elegant reception hall to the gracefully appointed rooms, the sense of tranquility will envelop you. Sitting rooms downstairs are fully stocked with the current newspapers and a vast array of books to read. There is no tv, phone or wifi in the rooms, so to completely escape from the rat race, this is the destination for you. Fine dining or a casual lunch? The restaurant caters for all tastes. A generous buffet breakfast sets you up for a day exploring this historic town. The only drawback us that there is no kettle in the rooms, so for a late night cuppa you have to go down the hall and take it back to your room. Would suggest a travel kettle and your own cups to make it the perfect stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twosiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I were married at the Queenscliff Hotel 20 years ago, and recently returned there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed 2 nights in room 27, the best in the hotel, which has a balcony that overlooks the park out front.

I was very glad that the hotel still retains the old world ambience that it had 20 years ago. In the past there were no showers in rooms, and guests used communal bathrooms. Now there are en-suite facilities in the rooms. So things are more convenient without going to the extent of installing flat panel TV screens all over the place.

We were made to feel welcome by the staff, and had some excellent meals.

Basically the Queenscliff Hotel is our kind of place. We'll definitely be going back again, especially now that our children are old enough to do without us for a couple of nights.

Thank you Johann(I hope I've spelled that right) and the rest of the staff for making us feel very much at home.

Room Tip: Room 27 is the best in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A group of girlfriends took our friend to Queenscliff for a ladies day out to celebrate her 50th birthday. Eight of us travelled from Sorrento on the ferry, enjoyed coffee at Gusto, wandered through some of the shops before landing at the Queenscliff Hotel for a long, lavish, ladies lunch!! All of this was a surprise for our friend - she had no idea where we were going and the Queenscliff Hotel was an ideal choice for food, service, surroundings and location. It is simply a beautiful building, full of nostalgia and charm, a delightful spot for a bunch of ladies to lap up some luxury. Curtis, our man of the day could not do enough to make our experience wonderful - he served our drinks with flair (including whipping up cocktails and gracefully arranging champagne in lovely ice buckets) brought our meals in perfect time (which were all very enjoyable and well priced) and bought out the birthday cake made by the chef (which we had ordered previously) with flourish and flair, took photos for us and generally made our day memorable. Thank you very much Curtis!!! To Johann, thank you too for being so accommodating with changing the date a couple of times and numbers for lunch and then arranging the 50th birthday cake with no fuss at all. It was a truly great day out and the Queenscliff Hotel made it perfect!! Highly recommended - we'll be back again.....Mary, Joy & friends Friday 16 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Beautiful building in perfect location with incredible detailing and atmosphere. Step back in time as you enter world of Victorian Grandeur. Parlour rooms downstairs complete with open fires, Morris wallpapers and lovely chinoiserie details. The dining room and conservatory are also sumptuous interior spaces. We had a beautiful bedroom with a balcony overlooking the sea and an open fire burning on a cold, windy evening. Some of the bedrooms are a little chilly in winter so opt for the $30 extra open fire if possible. Underwealmimg breakfast included. Overall a very otherworldly experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fushiatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

On a spur of the moment trip to Queenscliff we had not done any research on this hotel but from outside it looked very impressive and inside did not disappoint, beautiful rooms with open fires downstairs perfect for drinks before dinner! Our room upstairs was cean and furnished in keeping with the rest of the rooms(this place is full of antiques). On the downside there was no tea or coffee making facilities, no phone, no Internet, and no clock in the room! One of the blinds in our room refused to stay down and no electric blanket on the bed. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely as was the buffet breakfast. Staff were all friendly and attentive. If you don't mind doing without some mod cons this is a lovely place for a relaxing stay a real step back in time!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in room number 3 over the Queens birthday weekend with a roaring fireplace lit by the hotel staff in our bedroom. It was a fantastic period room with a sparkling modern ensuite. The hotel is a step backwards in time and elegance with a host of areas to explore. The staff are gracious from the moment you arrive to when you leave and the dining experience was fantastic and memorable. Open fireplaces, charm and warmth and the best words to describe the Queenscliff Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace in the bedroom. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you are looking for a charming weekend away in a beautiful old hotel, look no further!! This is one of the best and most interesting places we have stayed in. The food was exquisite, the service was excellent and the hotel was delightful with antiques in every corner and old world charm in abundance. No tv or phone, which just adds to its appeal. Not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janiepockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
0.1 mi away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
308 reviews
3.1 mi away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
121 reviews
11.4 mi away
Barwon Heads Resort at 13th Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Athelstane House
Athelstane House
#1 of 9 in Queenscliff
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queenscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queenscliff Hotel

Address: 16 Gellibrand St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range: £78 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queenscliff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Queenscliff Hotel Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing